We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain top oasis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Saddle

Spruce Saddle
Beaver Creek Resort, Top of Centennial Lift, Beaver Creek, CO
970.845.5520
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 72 restaurants in Beaver Creek
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mountain top oasis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location while skiing on top of the mountain. Like most places, try to eat early or after lunch rush - layout is a bit weird and hard to get around. Great selection of food items to satisfy everyone. Avoid salad bar!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your Review.

We have a Great Variety of High Quality of Food Items, Ranging from Lobster Tacos to Fresh Hand Rolled Sushi. The Salad Bar has received wonderful feedback this year for both Variety and Quality. We are sorry that you were Disappointed with the Salad Bar. We would like to hear your Feedback, Please Stop in and Find Myself or another Manager and we would be happy to discuss how we can improve that Station.

Thank you for taking the time to Post a Review and we look forward to you dining with us again.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    14
    12
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Watering Hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Go to Johnny @ the watering hole for amazing drinks (try the "big kids hot cocoa") and entertaining stories!! Best bartender in Beaver Creek!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Charlotte,

Thanks for your Great Review of the Watering Hole Staff! Our Bar-tending Crew Strives to give Great Guest Service and Make Everyone feel Welcome. Please Come back and visit us again soon.

Nice Job John!

Sincerely,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not exactly the best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Overall, the Spruce Saddle was mediocre at best. Although the decor was fine, and the service was great, it was hard to find anything special with the food. 5 pieces of dry chicken bathed in cheap rice and coupled with a bag of chips will set you back 20 dollars (drink not included). The food was cold, and I had to wait quite a long time to access a microwave (there was only one in sight). I find this very unsettling, especially since restaurants nearby offered much better food for half the price.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your Review of Spruce Saddle Lodge.

We are sorry that you did not find the Food up to our High Standards. We would be like to give you a Refund or the Opportunity to try it again. Please make sure to ask one of the Cashiers for a Manager, we are always willing to make everyone happy.

We are pleased that you found that the Service Was Great Please come back and Try us again.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ate here twice in one week. First time, was just bad timing, not in the lines but upstairs trying to find a place to sit, all the ski school kids and their instructors were there, but surprisingly all those kids were excellent. The food, the turkey and white bean green chili with awesome served with two rolls, my son got the burger, didnt' disappoint, my daughter the 1/2 pizza and my husband the normal pizza, all were happy with their meals. The 2nd time i had the Chicken and dumpling soup, so hardy and fresh, my son the broccoli potato soup in a bread bowl, my daughter the chicken fingers and fries and my husband the turkey chilli. At the exit of the registers, they hand out hershey kisses, so it's nice to have a hearty meal after skiing all morning then finish it off with a small piece of candy. Great food. Huge salad bar, they had panini's and they had pasta and chinese noodles too. Tons to choose from, it was a good choice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank You!

We appreciate the feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your Meals on both visits. Please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Unbeatable engagement (Thank you Meghan)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My nerves were a wreck... I was about to propose to my significant other outside of the Spruce Saddle Lodge at Beaver Creek. While my girlfriend was in the bathroom I informed our bartender, Meghan, of my plans. From that moment on she took phenomenal care to make sure everything went smoothly for me! She kept my secret and offered incredible service before the proposal.... and afterwords it was even better! Her and her manager provided a bottle of champagne (on the house), she had a crowd cheering as we came back inside after the proposal, AND she had created a heart shaped arrangement of Hershey's kisses for us in front of our seats. It literally could not have been better. I have dined in hundreds of restaurants and I know, for a fact, that most servers and bartenders would have NEVER gone to these lengths to ensure that we had such a memorable experience. This was unbeatable, incredible, and unforgettable. We will be back, every year, for the rest of our lives. Thank you so much to Meghan, to Beaver Creek, to the Beaver Creek photographer that caught the whole engagement on camera... thank you, thank you, thank you.

B. Miles Tharp & Leigh (soon to be) Tharp

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your Special Day with us on Beaver Creek Mountain.

Congratulations on behalf of all the Staff at Spruce Saddle Lodge, we wish you all the best with your Engagement.

Please Check out Beaver Creek for your Wedding Plans, we have a Great Wedding Deck and provide exceptional Reception Options on top of Beaver Creek Mountain.

Come back and See us every Year!

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Saddle also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
Beaver Creek, CO
 

Been to Spruce Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Saddle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.