We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spago

Spago
130 Daybreak Ridge, Ritz-Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
+1 970-343-1555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 75 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bachelor Gulch Blvd
Transit: Village to Village Transportation is available to and from Beaver Creek upon request.
Description: Master Chef Wolfgang Puck teamed up with the award-winning Ritz-Carlton to open a Colorado outpost of his legendary Spago at The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch. Spago continues to set the standard for cuisine, service and style. Chef Jared Montarbo creates imaginative, California cuisine with regional, European and Asian influences in a sophisticated, warm environment crafted by esteemed New York-based hospitality designer Tony Chi. The menu features Spago's classics from over the years and Wolfgang's childhood favorites - Organic Salmon Steamed "Hong Kong" Style and Veal "Wiener Schnitzel"- as well as new signature dishes locally inspired by the surrounding environment with as many ingredients from the area as possible. The 4,400 square foot restaurant features a hip and sophisticated 34-seat bar and lounge which is the ideal place to see and be seen. Spago closes for the 2015 Winter Season on March 31st, 2015 and reopens for the 2015 Summer Season on July 1st, 2015. WINTER SEASON HOURS Open Daily: - Lunch: 11am-2:30pm Daily (Last Reservation 2pm) - Dinner: First Seating 5:30pm Daily SUMMER SEASON HOURS: Open Wednesday - Sunday: - Dinner: First Seating 5:30pm Daily
portland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spago at Beaver Creek is in the Ritz Carlton hotel with a great view of the slopes. The food was good and the service was excellent. The atmosphere was very noisy and casual, what you would expect for a restraurant at a ski resort. My husband and son started with the tuna and hamachi sashimi, pricey but excellent. I had the beet salad which was divine. The lamb was perfectly cooked. The only dish we ordered that we didn't like was apple cobbler. It is not cobbler at all, it consisted of some undercooked apples with a sugary lemon sauce and vanilla gelato. The decor is getting a little tired, be prepared to spend a small fortune, but the food is among the best in Beaver Creek.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    17
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having heard great things of Wolfgang Puck's restaurants we were expecting great things but we were left disappointed on arriving and the disappointment continued into the meal. We came for dinner and were told we had to wait twenty five minutes despite having a reservation. After waiting in the bar we (myself and three friends) were shown to our seats and we had to wait at times for the waiter to come over who was rushing about the place dealing with other tables and taking out food. Where were the rest of the staff? On a busy night like this you would expect more support to the waiters.

One of my friends noticed the prices were quite different to what they had been on his last visit and the waiter was aplogetic and said the prices had changed due to the season. So if it is a busier season the prices are increased despite no change in quality? Ridicilous. And to make it worse the food was not of an outstanding quality; it was average and not something we should have paid so much for.

I understand brands think they can get away with a lot but Spago really did disappoint. I hope Ritz Carlton, whos hotel staff provided much better service, gets a new restaurant in there in the future.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spago on the slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch there yesterday while we took a break from skiing. The dining room is filled with skiers in their boots and gear which was different and fun. The food was good: mushroom soup, ceaser salad and striped bass. The striped bass was really good, however it wasn't cooked all the way so I could only eat half of it. The waitress ultimately took the fish off the bill with no questions asked.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had the last lunch of our 2 week ski holiday here. what a wonderful experience. Got the ski boots off and got comfortable in free slippers. Plenty of hooks to hang ski jackets up so that we could sit comfortably at our table. We had a party of 8. all agreed that this was the best lunch of the trip. The burger was incredible. The fries were the best I have had in Vail. Service is professional, friendly and efficient. Servings are very generously sized. Would have loved to try dessert but was too full. Complimentary chic-chip cookies with our coffees were a nice touch. Do yourself a favour and spoil yourself to lunch here. It comes to about $35 per person for lunch and a coffee (we didn't have alcohol as we were heading back out to ski). The decor is fresh and welcoming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our reservation had requested a window table, but they brought us to a table along the wall, even though there were at least two window tables open. We asked the hostess for a window table and they did move us, however, not honoring reservation requests when they are available is unacceptable. The decor is forgettable, and nothing very impressive! It is not a romantic setting, so don't expect it. Despite these drawbacks, the food and service were very good. It is expensive, as expected for a Ritz restaurant, but the food makes it worth returning for a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago also viewed

 

Been to Spago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.