We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spago on the slopes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spago

Spago
130 Daybreak Ridge, Ritz-Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
970-748-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 72 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bachelor Gulch Blvd
Transit: Village to Village Transportation is available to and from Beaver Creek upon request.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spago on the slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had lunch there yesterday while we took a break from skiing. The dining room is filled with skiers in their boots and gear which was different and fun. The food was good: mushroom soup, ceaser salad and striped bass. The striped bass was really good, however it wasn't cooked all the way so I could only eat half of it. The waitress ultimately took the fish off the bill with no questions asked.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    46
    29
    13
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had the last lunch of our 2 week ski holiday here. what a wonderful experience. Got the ski boots off and got comfortable in free slippers. Plenty of hooks to hang ski jackets up so that we could sit comfortably at our table. We had a party of 8. all agreed that this was the best lunch of the trip. The burger was incredible. The fries were the best I have had in Vail. Service is professional, friendly and efficient. Servings are very generously sized. Would have loved to try dessert but was too full. Complimentary chic-chip cookies with our coffees were a nice touch. Do yourself a favour and spoil yourself to lunch here. It comes to about $35 per person for lunch and a coffee (we didn't have alcohol as we were heading back out to ski). The decor is fresh and welcoming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our reservation had requested a window table, but they brought us to a table along the wall, even though there were at least two window tables open. We asked the hostess for a window table and they did move us, however, not honoring reservation requests when they are available is unacceptable. The decor is forgettable, and nothing very impressive! It is not a romantic setting, so don't expect it. Despite these drawbacks, the food and service were very good. It is expensive, as expected for a Ritz restaurant, but the food makes it worth returning for a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stay at the Ritz and typically eat here at least 3 times for dinner during our stay- either in the bar or dining room. The food is always fantastic and service is wonderful. The signature dishes are great - for you tuna cone fans, they are off the menu but feel free to place an order - they are still available nightly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

With such great fine dining alternatives in the Beaver Creek / Vail area this is a restaurant to skip. Although their risotto and gnocchi appetizers were 5 stars the rest of the meal was not memorable. No one in our party of 5 was impressed with their entree. Prices are expected to be high in this restaurant and the decor, ambiance delivers, unfortunately, the food did not. It was not bad, but at these prices you expect amazing food and it just wasn't. In addition to that, it took at least 25 minutes for our entree to arrive after we were done with the appetizers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago also viewed

 

Been to Spago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.