We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagles's Nest vallecitolake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes
Save Saved
You added Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes to your Saves list
48 W. Vallecito Creek Rd., Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eagles's Nest vallecitolake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

“Outstanding Accommodation”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
I stayed in the Talon cabin for two weeks. I arrived in early May and spring had not yet sprung- cold and rainy. However, these cabins are so incredibly well maintained- very clean, modern,everything and I mean everything you could possibly need in the kitchen- that I had a magnificent time simply hangin' at the cabin. You want rustic comfort -these are the ticket. Can't say enough about how nice this facility is. Andre owners Doug and Connie are some of these nicest people you could ever meet. Go into town (2 minutes away) and hit the Mexican restaurant for huevos for breakfast, then hit the lake for great fishing (even from shore). Five +stars in my book- can't wait to go back!

More Problem with this review?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My family and I just returned from a week at Eagles Nest. We stayed in the delightful Aerie cabin. It was fantastic. We slept like babies every night, awoke each day to cool breezes and drop-dead-gorgeous scenery. Vallecito Lake is the perfect place to get away from it all. We had considered staying in Durango, but the first day we ventured into Durango, we knew instantly we'd made the right decision to stay at Vallecito.

I should say a word about our hosts as well. Doug and Connie Allen were unfailingly kind and gracious hosts, helpful with tourist information, and going above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay enjoyable. They are great people, and by the end of the week, they felt to us more like dear friends than hosts.

I've posted a few pictures of our stay in southwest Colorado, both on my Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.4186622182276.2175210.1186170529&type=1) and on my photography website (http://ronlongwell.photoshelter.com/gallery/New-Mexico-Colorado/G0000ElYRQAQB6aw/).

You won't regret staying at Eagles Nest. The cabins are clean, quiet, well-maintained, and very comfortable. And if that weren't enough, it's worth it just to meet Doug and Connie! Thanks, Friends, for a fantastic week!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Connie and Doug were perfect hosts in the most beauttiful place. My granddaughters loved every minute we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver area
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have stayed at cabins at Eagles Nest two times and each time in a different cabin. These cabins are in the Vallecito Lake area, a minimum of a 5 minute drive to the lake itself. Both of the cabins were very comfortable, nicely done, filled with nice thoughtful touches where you can tell they think about their guests. One thing we especially liked about the cabin this visit is hearing the river from our bedroom window. And, although it's plenty hot upstairs in the evening, that box fan for the window cooled things down very quickly before bed. The bed was very comfortable, too! I'm sure it had a Tempurpedic topper on the mattress. Doug and Connie know how to put a lot of thoughtful touches in the cabins. We had fun playing board games from the cabin with our daughter and grandkids. We really enjoyed the campfire after dark, including roasting marshmallows. And, again, the river sound was so wonderful to hear while we enjoyed the fire. These cabins feel like rustic cabins, but they are what I'd call an upgraded type of cabin experience. I recommend them. Oh, yes, this cabin had wireless included in the cabin rental price. It worked great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Connie and Doug provide southern charm and hospitality in a Colorado setting. . Eagles Nest cabins are our favorite place to stay, we are looking forward for our third visit in the fall.

Mike and Sue
Oakland, Tn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was a great way to spend time with our 3 teenagers. We were happy to see them try different outdoor adventures that were all close to our Eagles Nest Cabin. This made a great home base for use to explore the area. I am an avid backpacker and have never been able to get to such beautiful vistas with such little effort. We will be repeating this trip soon!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at Eagle's Nest since 1999...it truly is our special place to take our boys and enjoy family time! We have had the opportunity to stay at Eagle's Nest prior to having children and now that we have our two boys we have continued to return. Each trip brings new adventures and memories that our family can cherish. We look forward to our Colorado trip each year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes

Address: 48 W. Vallecito Creek Rd., Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.