We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice upscale cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes to your Saves list
Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes
48 W. Vallecito Creek Rd., Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice upscale cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have stayed at cabins at Eagles Nest two times and each time in a different cabin. These cabins are in the Vallecito Lake area, a minimum of a 5 minute drive to the lake itself. Both of the cabins were very comfortable, nicely done, filled with nice thoughtful touches where you can tell they think about their guests. One thing we especially liked about the cabin this visit is hearing the river from our bedroom window. And, although it's plenty hot upstairs in the evening, that box fan for the window cooled things down very quickly before bed. The bed was very comfortable, too! I'm sure it had a Tempurpedic topper on the mattress. Doug and Connie know how to put a lot of thoughtful touches in the cabins. We had fun playing board games from the cabin with our daughter and grandkids. We really enjoyed the campfire after dark, including roasting marshmallows. And, again, the river sound was so wonderful to hear while we enjoyed the fire. These cabins feel like rustic cabins, but they are what I'd call an upgraded type of cabin experience. I recommend them. Oh, yes, this cabin had wireless included in the cabin rental price. It worked great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Connie and Doug provide southern charm and hospitality in a Colorado setting. . Eagles Nest cabins are our favorite place to stay, we are looking forward for our third visit in the fall.

Mike and Sue
Oakland, Tn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was a great way to spend time with our 3 teenagers. We were happy to see them try different outdoor adventures that were all close to our Eagles Nest Cabin. This made a great home base for use to explore the area. I am an avid backpacker and have never been able to get to such beautiful vistas with such little effort. We will be repeating this trip soon!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at Eagle's Nest since 1999...it truly is our special place to take our boys and enjoy family time! We have had the opportunity to stay at Eagle's Nest prior to having children and now that we have our two boys we have continued to return. Each trip brings new adventures and memories that our family can cherish. We look forward to our Colorado trip each year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro north carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Our stay in the cabin was perfect. Our trip was planned to allow us to do day trips, which we did. Coming home to Aerie each night was very pleasant. It was cozy, private and very comfortable. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to spend time in the Durango area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We have stayed at Eagles Nest Cabins and Homes for the last 10 years. It is a quiet relaxing place for the whole family. The property is gorgeous and the Allens are wonderful hosts. What else can I say? The Allens have watched our children grow up and we couldn't imagine not spending part of our year with them. We wouldn't return every year if it wasn't wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Service and accommodations provided by Doug and Connie Allen is top notch. Clean, comfortable cabins at a good price that are perfect for a family or a couple looking to get away for a week. You will not go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes

Address: 48 W. Vallecito Creek Rd., Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.