We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Cafe

Pura Vida Cafe
14810 C.R. 501, Bayfield, CO 81122
+1 970-884-2766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, International, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Funky Jimmy Buffet atmosphere breakfast, lunch and dinner cafe on the edge of a mountain lake at 8000ft. Owned and operated by a Certified Executive Chef and his wonderful staff. Something for everyone with wide variety menu. Fri- Sun only from October to May. 7 Days May to October 1.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ate there twice - food was good both nights - great music the first night, but so crowded that we had to sit on the patio area outside, which led to really awful service. It was marked "self service," and was pretty much designed for people to buy a drink in the bar and bring it outside, so it was complicated when we wanted food, since we couldn't self-serve the food. But the next night we got a seat on the serviced area of the bar - a wonderful outside patio - and the service was fine there. Interesting menu, fabulous location - right on the lake!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Try the fish tacos or the pacific rim Waho (sp?) and get to know the staff! The view of the lake just adds to the great atmosphere!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fun menu! Great drinks! Fabulous service! All good!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We tried this restaurant due to a handful of good trip advisor reviews and it was near the cabin we were staying at. The photos on trip advisor make it look like an upscale location with a great view. It has a great view of the lake, but hardly upscale. If you are looking for a basic cafe to eat this will probably work for you in this this remote area, but at least for us it was noisey, crowded, and hot. We had the pulled pork tacos and a salmon salad. The pulled pork tacos were just that, pulled pork in a shell. The salsa bar did have the makings to improve on them, but they were just ok. The $5 price was good. The salmon salad my wife had was better, but not outstanding, and the prices for such a 'rustic' location were on the high side. The service was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A nice little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Ate dinner there during a stay near there in "Tween Lakes" with another couple and had the street tacos with salsa bar. My wife and a salad with a grilled filet of Mahi-Mahi.

The street tacos were just pulled pork on two slightly fried (softened) corn tortillas. Just pork and tortillas. Well... it looked sad but with a lot of stuff added from the "salsa bar", it was okay at best. The oil in which the tortillas were freshened appeared a bit dark, but didn't taste old. But for $5.00 I guess we got what we paid for.

My wife's Mahi-Mahi filet was blackened and very good. Basic salad greens but the salad dressing was unique and good. As I recall, the dinner my wife got was suppossed to have salmon but there was no problem in substituting anything.

Service was good and the waitress was helpful and friendly.

I did think that the music they had playing was too loud and the atmosphere is rustic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pura Vida Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.