We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pine River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine River Lodge
14443 CR 501, Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
oklahoma city, oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Could be so good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

One word entered our vocabulary during our stay here... 'Janky'.

This place could be amazing. The location is very nice, overlooking a beautiful lake. The problem is, there's junk laying all over the place. When you go in the 'game room', junk. When you go in the laundry room, junk. There just seems to be stuff laying around everywhere. The outside of the cabins need a serious coat of paint and some repair. The pool was not circulating water, swimming in it would be asking for a nice case of meningitis.

The cabins on the inside are exactly what they should be, simple. All cookware is provided and a grill and fire pit. We really had no problems with the cabin itself, other than the beds being worn and of low quality, there is no way we could have spent another night there.

I really wish for this place to be great, it needs an infusion of money and elbow grease to bring it up to par with the nightly rate currently being charged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a 4 day weekend. The cabins are nice, but in need of some maintenance. The bathroom was tiny--I could brush my teeth while sitting in there or while showering. The bathroom flooring needed to be torn out and replaced--the toilet leaked onto the floor from the seal plate and coupled with the shower spray that the tiny shower curtain couldn't curtail; it made for a gross floor. The shower towels were small and threadbare besides the fact that there weren't enough of them. They do not supply you with any soap in the shower so make sure you bring your own. The kitchen is equipped with all the pots and pans you could ever use and the fireplace is wonderful! The bed was comfortable and I loved having the fireplace right there. If the bathroom got an overhaul this would be a really nice cabin! The owners are really sweet--an older lady and her daughters--they just need a handyman and a really good maid! This area is really nice, but it is remote and there isn't really much for a family to do here--vey few restaurants, no shops, no entertainment, no wireless phone service--it's suited more for a secluded weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at one of the cabins right on the lake - quiet, secluded, glorious!! Not the best choice for families with younger children (there are other cabins up near the pool and play area, and this cabin is very remote from those), but wonderful for adults. Owners were extremely friendly. Be aware, however, that the entire lake and area were ravaged by a fire (caused by a car backfire) a decade ago, and the skeletons of the pines are all around the lake. It's SO much better than it was 5 years ago, tho - aspens are growing up where the pines were, so there are signs of new life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in the The Hamilton cabin and it was perfect. It has the most amazing and comfortable wrap around porch. The views were great. The cabin accomodated all 7 of us without feeling crowded. We viewed the property online and the pictures looked nice but they are nothing compared to the reality of the cabin and lake area. This cabin exceeded all expectations. The family that owns the properties are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The perfect place for a true vacation, peaceful, beautiful and the most wonderful hosts you will ever find ! The 1 bedroom cabin we stayed in was exactly as advertised and the views of the lake and surrounding forest were amazing. Will go back again and again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our family, 4 generations, has been staying at Pine River lodge since long before I was born 43 years ago. I have stayed in almost every cabin and many of them 3 or 4 times over the years. The cabins are true cabins not Vacation Homes. They are built into the mountains overlooking one of the most beautifull lakes in the United States.

The Atkinson Family that owns and runs Pine River Lodge have always treated us as family and works hard to make thier guests happy. Over the years they have added a park/playground, a pool and some new cabins.

Our most recent stay was in June of last year with the 7 members of my imediate family. We stayed in cabin #26 for the 1st time. It is set in the Pine Trees with a great view of the lake from the deck. The bedrooms are big and comfortable.

We did not fish this trip but we did horseback, ride the Durango to Silverton Train, rafted the Animas River, enjoyed the Bar D Chuckwagon and hiked 6 miles into the Weminuche Wilderness. All highly recomended

We will be back again this July with 4 generations of family. This year we plan to fish the lake, go to Mesa Verde and have a great family vacation.

This is a Gods country and everyone should go at least once.

Room Tip: Call them and let them know what you are looking for. The Atkinson's will get you in the best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

There are three words to describe this lodge: "dirty", "rundown" and "overpriced". Please be aware of the bugs/ants in the cabins also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine River Lodge

Address: 14443 CR 501, Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty lodging in Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pine River Lodge to your Saves list