We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Five Branches Camper Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Five Branches Camper Park
Save Saved
You added Five Branches Camper Park to your Saves list
4677 County Road 501A, Vallecito Lake, Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

BEWARE! This campground staff needs a lesson in respect and customer service....hookups were on the opposite side of your trailer hookups and YOU get to pay $60 for the extensions...YOU also get to pay to use the showers, and hot tub....camp host told my father a US naval veteran who lost part of his hearing while serving our great country.... To turn up his hearing aids... You also cannot use your air conditioner and it's been HOT! Horrible roads into the campground as well.....Save your family a horrible experience, there are other beautiful campgrounds with kind and caring hosts in the area!!!! Oh by the way they don't have to advertise because " they have word of mouth" well ladies and gentlemen at 5 branches, here is my two cents.... You need to retire from this job too....because if you are volunteering to do this job, you're getting paid too much....

Room Tip: Go anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just returned from 5 Branches and as usual were not disappointed. We were treated like family and never felt like anyone was rude. This is our 11th year and we have booked for next year. The fishing was great. The grounds are relaxing. It was unfortunate that we were not able to have our nightly campfires but totally understandable because of the fires in the areas. Thank you Jan and all the crew, you provide a great place to unwind!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful time. All were friendly and accommodating to our needs/requests. Cabin was clean, nice linens, fair sized fire pit. Great daily breakfast at the Pavilion. Adequate play area for the kids. Parking safe and close to the cabin. Only request would be to have non-stick cooking pans in the cabins. Otherwise, we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We came here over Memorial Day weekend only to find out how unprofessional and rude the entire staff in the office/store were to us. They were like the campground Nazi's in the way they treated everyone, including our young children. They charge tokens just to use the shower at the campground and are the most unfriendly campground we've ever been to in our entire lives.
We would never stay there even if someone were to pay us money.

This campground is really bad. But... the scenery and location is nice. However, I recommend you stay at Elk Point Lodge instead for cabin rentals and a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We reserved numerous RV sites and a cabin last summer (July 2011) for a family reunion, but due to a family member's health issues, the planned reunion at 5 Branches had to be postponed.

We called 5B 8 weeks before our scheduled July vacation, and yet they refused to refund ANY (much less all!) of the down payment we'd provided. They kept over $400, giving us an excuse that since they hadn't filled "every site" for "every day" that we would have to forfeit the entire amount. I can find no mention of a forfeit requirement on the website, but even so... they refunded NOTHING... none of it... even though we notified them in May that we'd have to cancel for a July reservation!

I've never had to cancel a vacation reservation before, but still -- I have never heard of a place keeping over $400 of reservation money (the full deposit!) after they'd been notified 8 weeks in advance of a cancellation. 5 star hotels don't even do that!

So: Just know, if you make reservations here and for some reason they don't pan out, do not expect a PENNY of it to be refunded to you, because these kind folks make up the rules as they go along, and keep your dough. My advice to you? Find another place to recreate!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We go to Vallecito Lake every year for a week. Only complaints we have are people walking through your site, especially if you have a lake site because of cell service. The breakfasts on the weekends are good food at a good price. DO NOT go during the hot time of the season, they do not allow you to use your AC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Beautiful spots, reasonable price, but obviously the host/police either did not take Customer Service 101 or they failed it miserably. Granted this was close to the end of the season, so hopefully everyone is not as grumpy and cranky throughout the season. Beautiful place to camp, but remember you are there to serve the staff, because the staff cannot be bothered to be helpful. It appears there sole purpose is to enforce and nit-pick all the rules and regulations, forgetting that without the campers, they would have no superior position.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Branches Camper Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Branches Camper Park

Address: 4677 County Road 501A, Vallecito Lake, Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Five Branches Camper Park Hotel Bayfield
5 Branches Camper Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Branches Camper Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.