We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have never had a bad experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Branches Camper Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Five Branches Camper Park
Save
You added Five Branches Camper Park to your Saves list
4677 County Road 501A, Vallecito Lake, Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Have never had a bad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have stayed at 5 Branches every year for the last 10 years. We meet wonderful people and have a wonderful time. This is the best place to wind down and relax if your life is out of control. The town has 2 really cute resturants. Jan and her crew are welcoming and friendly.The only negative is the other campers who feel that they can come into your camp and fish.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville TX USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

First time visit. Cannot say enough nice things about the park.Beautifully maintained with very friendly staff.Did day trips in and around Durango and it was great to come back to a nice peaceful park to get a good nights sleep and get ready for the nex day.Stayed 5 nights If we are in the area again we will be back. On a scale of 1-10 park is a 15.Sparkling clean restrooms Sites well spaced andoverall a very clean park. No trash anywhere The Lackeys Pflugerville TX

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

All this place needs are token operated toilets then they could literally get you coming and "Going". On a more serious note they do not take their bear problem seroius enough. We were told by guests and workers that two bears, a big one and a little one, have been in the camp every night for two weeks. Our second night at about 2AM the big one walked underneath the bed of our tent camper and went through our neighbors trash. Other than warining you when you check in and firing live rounds in the air at 5:30AM I don't think they have done much to resolve the problem. I have to beleive that most places would have had the bears humanely relocated in a more timely fashion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We camped here in the summer of 2010 and really loved the campground. The grounds are beautiful and the lakefront RV camping spots are amazing. Met some great people and overall, enjoyed the experience here. The Columbinesand garden areas are so pretty.

I've read other reviews with complaints about the volunteers in the golf carts and we only ever found them to be helpful and pleasant. The guys at the landing for boat rentals were also great. Yes, we did have to pay for the showers via tokens IF we chose to use the public facilities, but we have an RV - so didn't think it was a big deal. I have no complaints with the campground. Great experience!

Only complaint we had was that we had other campers come over to our lakefront spot and set up their chairs (in our camping area) so they could fish. Found this to be odd, so asked about the rules and the campground staff confirmed that the lake front spots were paid for by the residents and that NO other campers can't just plant themselves and take over. They took care of it. (It was weird! I would never think to go to someone else's camping spot and establish "turf" in their area.) That was the only thing that made our trip less than 100%.

We are coming back in June 2011 and can't wait! Never tried the pancake breakfast or ice cream socials, but they weren't offered during our last stay. This place is gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The only way this could get a good review is if the owner had the staff make great reviews to keep their jobs. This place is run by an angry sour old women. The staff make the rounds every 15 min in there golf carts run like a prison. Sits down in a hole with one lane road in and out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at the Landing, this was our second trip there. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
First time we just happened on this wonderful place and we were lucky enough to get into one of the mini's We loved every minute of it, we found the staff to be exceptional, the sunsets were beautiful and very peaceful, it was truly a wonderful time.
Hoping to be able to stay again in July 2011. Maybe should not say all this because then every one will go there!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 10 days, unfortunately I wish we would have only reserved for a couple of days. The several people running it were VERY rude. We asked if we could trade in our towels for new ones, we were told no, there was laundry services that we could pay for. They charged you for everything!!! I did want to check my email once while we were there, charged for that too. You can not get cell service as they will tell you on the phone that you can. It was very unkept, the grass needed to be mowed. It was secluded and the cabin that we stayed at had a beautiful view, but we could have stayed at many other places for that. Lastly, the little 'workers' ran their golf carts around all day (including early in the morning, nice to wake up to) and thats about it, we saw them being rude to other people and tinkering in a little shop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
22.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
21.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Branches Camper Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Branches Camper Park

Address: 4677 County Road 501A, Vallecito Lake, Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
5 Branches Camper Park
Five Branches Camper Park Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Branches Camper Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.