We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Trails Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Trails Ranch
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Trails Ranch to your Saves list
23486 Country Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently returned from fourth year visiting the ranch. It is truly a spectacular place for a family vacation. My grandson age 11 was gone from 7 am until 10 pm in constant motion with fishing, riding, tubing and just hanging out with his new friends. My disabled adult daughter loved the riding and playing pool. I was alone but met some wonderful people to share drinks and conversation. The food by Sky is incredible and all the wranglers like Doc, Dallas are terrific. Working with the cows is more fun than you can imagine. Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

From the moment we drove in to the Wilderness Trails Ranch, we knew we were in for a treat! Nestled in a mountain valley, the setting of the ranch house and surrounding log cabins is breathtaking. The highlight of our trip was the daily horseback riding on the mountain trails and even helping the wranglers move cattle. Novice and experienced riders are helped by the friendly and professional wranglers Doc, Dallas, Ray, and Wendy. They are the "real deal" and make the experience authentic and memorable.

Other activities included a hayride, live music, country dance instruction, campfire sing-along, hiking, yoga, fishing, tubing and a children's rodeo. All of the staff are welcoming and accommodating, from the owners Jan and Gene to the excellent chef Sky and the bartender Eleanor. The food was excellent and exceeded our expectations, from made-to-order breakfasts to dinners of elk and scallops to prime rib and salmon. The Watering Hole offered Colorado wines, beers, and liquors.

The ranch is small enough to be comfortable and inviting and is perfect for family reunions, small groups, and corporate retreats.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 kids ages 6 & 8) just returned from WTR. The good reviews on TripAdvisor are true! We had a wonderful week. The first night home our son cried himself to sleep because he missed "his" horse. The staff really set WTR apart-- they were all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests and our kids loved playing with the other kids. If you go, don't miss the cattle driving or yoga on the porch. We loved the formal dinner on Thursday night as well. Our kids loved the Kids Rodeo on Friday and the hike they took one afternoon to a creek (maybe a river) where they learned to light a fire and roast hot dogs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is my third time at this ranch I like it so much I keep bringing other family members! The Trail rides are half day or full scenic rides I have never had a bad horse yet. Somedays they offer cow work that is a blast so if you have never tried it IT IS a must! everything e I come there is someone who has not done it and they have always said man am I glad I got to try that ;0) Some evenings they have BBQ around the chuck wagon with bond fires and sing alongside. one night a week they have dance lessons and one night TONIGHT they have. Big dinner and dance. it's a blast! This year I tried fishing with a guide on his boat we caught bass,pike and of course Rainbow Trount which you can bring back and they will cook it up for you. the ranch also has a stream running threw it with fishing poles or stocked ponds to fish on. I have staiyed in two different cabins and they are both very nice. Yes they have Internet and a full bar. very family friendly with a full kids program and a kids rodeo on Friday... I am coming back again this time with more grand kids! I have been to more the this one Guest Ranch and this one is a diamond...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I took a kids-free trip to Wilderness Trails Ranch to celebrate our anniversary, and we couldn't have picked a better place. We worried a bit at first about being the only ones there without kids but it wasn't an issue at all. You won't find a friendlier family than the Roberts Family. They truly make you feel at home and will go out of their way to make your trip what you want it to be. Because we weren't part of a family reunion that was there at the same time, we sometimes wanted to do a different activity than the rest of the group. It wasn't a problem- they found us a guide and made it happen. The guides and wranglers are really great and you get to know them as the week goes on. They all sit and have meals with you so it has a real family feel. You can do as much or as little as you want. We were surprised with a cake at dinner time for our anniversary, and champagne and choc covered strawberries were waiting for us when we got back to our cabin that night. A true testament that they listen to their guests and care about making their trip special. The chefs were fantastic too, serving wonderful food at each meal. And super accomodating too- if there's something on the menu you don't like, no worries, they'll fix something else just for you! We really liked the happy hour each evening, and it was fun getting to know all the other guests. The area is breathtaking. I can't say enough about this family and their service. We will definitely go back someday and take the kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with our family ranging in age from 5 to 72.
We had a great time riding horses (first time for most), hiking and just being with each
other. The staff was great. The kids activities keep them busy and having fun. Watching
our grandchildren ride for the first time and dancing was so much fun. A wonderful time
had by all and the grandchildren ask when they can go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My in-laws wanted to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary somewhere special, and they picked the right place for us all to celebrate together! We ranged in ages 4 to 74 and EVERYONE had fun! There were many activities to choose from each day - we rode horses, went on a hayride, hiked many times, went fishing on the property, and mountain biked. The Vallecito Creek hike was one of the prettiest I have ever done in CO. The planned evening activities were especially great to bring everyone back together again for some family memories (we all got branded!).

The staff was very friendly and were especially great with the younger kids. The chefs (Sky & Vincent) were amazing, providing a delicious variety of meals each day and even kept our picky little ones satisfied!

It was an AMAZING family vacation that we will all cherish for many years! Thanks WTR!

Room Tip: There are many cabins, our group stayed in 3 different ones and we all enjoyed it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Trails Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Trails Ranch

Address: 23486 Country Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ride, Relax, Recharge! Experience the freedom of the West at our stunning, secluded, family-operated dude ranch. Wilderness Trails is nestled in a true mountain valley surrounded by wilderness. All-inclusive 3-6 day packages include exceptional dining, cozy cabins, tailored horseback riding and cattle work, youth programs, water skiing, fishing, excursions, and evening entertainment. Serving western hospitality and lasting memories since 1970, join WTR for the best week of your year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Trails Ranch Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Trails Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.