We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One great time Yahoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Trails Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Trails Ranch
Save
You added Wilderness Trails Ranch to your Saves list
23486 Country Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122   |  
Hotel amenities
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One great time Yahoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I haev been to this racnh before with a friend and that was great but this time i brought my grand daughters and they did not want to leave. The days were orginized by the kids wraglers they meet in the sand box and went off to learn to shoot a bow and arrow nad fish for Trout and rope a steer head on straw and ride the horses.There is so much for the kids to do plus YOU also get to choose what you will be doing from an all day ride to a half a day ride and maybe a spa day or a cattle ride in the am and a senic ride in the pm. Or did you want to fish well they have a river and the poles to get you started right near the ranch. The cabins are very nice I rented one cabin and one side had a queen side and its on bathroom and the other side had its own bathroom and a double bed and a twin. The girls and I had a full day each day and then it was Shirley Temple time and a glass of wine for Nana :0). One day a week they teach you how to dance from a line dance to a two step and some others i cant name that was a blast then of Thursday we had a dance "wow" that was fun. The wanglers love the ranch and thier kids that they meet and the Kids loved them it was a great time. I would say go go go... you wont regret it I promise ... A Nebraska Cow Girl i'll be back and I have 13 grandkids !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
8
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have been all around the world and I will put this as the best vacation ever. I proposed to my girlfriend when we were there. Wrangler Connie and Gary heard and offered a place to take me but I wanted to do it privately. The staff were helpful and accommodating. Once my fiancee didn't make it to breakfast and once I returned to the cabin, one of the wait staff came to see if she was ok and offered to bring her something. My fiancee also suffered some pollen allergies and they bought her medicine from town. Wrangler Jennifer paired us up with excellent horses. Josh took me to an off-trail ride. I would like to add more but there is a 50 character minimum. If you would like to know more feel free to email me @ [------] Sandy was more than helpful in putting the vacation together. I would like to extend my thank you to Jean and Jan Roberts for an excellent vacation. We will definitely see you next year!

Room Tip: We had 10R. Very quiet and away from main cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon,vt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We came to celebrate my friend's birthday by riding in the Rockies and had a great time! The office staff of Sandy and Victoria and all the Wranglers (Katherine, Joe and all) made us feel welcome right from the get-go. Our cabin was very clean and wonderfully western with a lovely soaking shower/tub. Loved all the little extra touches like the hand lotion. The horses were perfect for us. We have our own horses at home and believe it or not, we were matched with horses that were very similar to ours! The week's stay really was not long enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilderness trails ranch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Dear WTR,

Thank you for a truly magnificent and adventurous vacation this summer. We arrived with the expectation of experiencing great horseback rides, amazing scenery and lots of fun. We got all this and in addition we also experienced sublime service by your ranch crew who only after a few days on the ranch seemed more like close friends to us than crew. All of our expectations were exceeded and it has the vacation of a lifetime. We hope to visit you soon again. Kind regards Jette, Pernille and Caroline

Med venlig hilsen/Best regards

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildernesstrails, Manager at Wilderness Trails Ranch, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you Girls! Every time we hear the Bonanza song we think of you! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I just came back from Cowgirl Camp. What a great week. Lots of good riding plus interesting evening activites for the 15 ladies. I have visited and enjoyed thr ranch on family vacations 4 times, but wanted a true get away. This week was just that. Lots of riding, with gentle instrustion and beautiful weather and scenery. My favarite riding is herding cattle and I had 3 different opportunities to work with the cattle. Over half the group owned horse but the varied level of teh group was handled well. Everyone seemd to have a good time no matter what their level was
Everyone had thier own room and bath in an upscale 2 room cabin.
The staff was great and friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Good
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The ranch's small size (only 9 cabins) helps in this regard. The scenery is, on the whole, beautiful. The food is very good and evening entertainment was very good. Accomodations are average - think Holiday Inn in the woods.

The Bad
The ranch is surrounded on three sides by its neighbor's property. This significantly limits the riding opportunities. Fortunately the ranch does back up to National Forest - which offers a lot of variety on longer rides. For shorter rides, however, you are basically limited to a 1.5 hour loop. Our kids unfortunately had to ride this same loop repeatedly. The adults rode it more than we would have liked.

Trotting and cantering is possible but limited to a few smalli/medium-sized fields. You essentially get to trot or canter for 15 seconds then it is back to nose and tail riding. This is primarily due to the restricted property boundaries. It is also a function of Colorado's large groundhog population. Riders must stay on the trail while cantering lest they injure themselves stepping into a gopher hole.

The Ugly
A large wildfire scarred the landcscape around the ranch in 2002. The 1.5 hour loop referenced earlier travels through several burned areas and some of the hills across from the ranch were badly damaged (90%+ trees destroyed). Overall the secenery is beautiful - just not unblemished.

Summary
This ranch gets a "B-." For the price I expected nicer accomodations and a greater variety of riding options. Dude ranches are mostly about riding and this one fell short on this account. The only area in which the ranch exceeded expectations was the quality of its staff. The were friendly, helpful and responsive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildernesstrails, Owner at Wilderness Trails Ranch, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Wilderness Trails Ranch strives to be certain that our guests experience an outstanding all -inclusive vacation. We were sorry to hear we did not meet these folks’ expectations.

Our ranch borders wilderness of 555,000 square miles and is where we ride. The landowner bordering our ranch, does not affect our riding and we have a great variety.. We are uncertain why these guests rode on the same trail, which is highly unusual, but possibly a safety issue, because of rain. Normally rides go to a different wilderness area every day.

Terrain will dictate where we are able to canter/lope; however, we have approximately 12 areas where we are able to ride at a faster pace. Safety is our main concern. Rider’s skills need to be appropriate for the ride and difficulty of the trails. Because of uneven, rocky terrain, faster riding is limited to trails that are safe for horse & rider. We do not have groundhogs, but do have other burrowing rodents in some areas. Independent riding off trails is offered in areas that are safe and accessible.

A fire did occur in 2002 which consumed some trees on and near our property. The resurrection of trees has been dramatic with young conifers and aspens everywhere. There are still some dead trees in a small area. Our guests however constantly comment on the beauty. Many say we are the most beautiful mountain area they have ever been.

We’ve never been labeled “Holiday Inn in the woods”! Our log cabins are classy, extremely clean, and truly comfortable, decorated “Western style”& get numerous “rave” reviews. Amenities included in the cabin are often referred to, “on guests survey” as going “above and beyond” what was expected. Every deck has a pristine view in the beautiful Pine River Valley.

We invite everyone to come to us with suggestions, comments or improvements. As they noted, our staff was “friendly and accommodating.” We cannot correct the fact that we had a fire, but are always willing to correct any thing that is within our power to change.

The ranch, is our passion and has been for over forty years. Again we are so sorry we did not meet these guests’ expectations and wished we would have known about this when the guests were at the ranch. We care about our guests more than you can imagine. “Our guests are, our friends".

The Roberts Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We recently returned from a stay at Wilderness Trails with our three children and our parents. What a perfect place for an extended family vacation. The children were delighted with riding with their own age group and counselors, and we adults were free to ride with our own group or hike, relax, or explore the other activities offered. We really enjoyed coming together for dinner to swap stories and participate in the nightly entertainment. The staff is incredible---everyone knew our names by dinner, and they were extremely flexible and accommodating with our group's desires. Lodging is rustic, but comfortable and clean. The food was delicious, you can hardly take your eyes off the beautiful scenery, and the Natural Horsemanship clinic absolutely changed the way I feel about horses and riding. In short, a great vacation! We would recommend this to anyone looking to fulfill their Western dreams or to reconnect with nature.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Trails Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Trails Ranch

Address: 23486 Country Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ride, Relax, Recharge! Experience the freedom of the West at our stunning, secluded, family-operated dude ranch. Wilderness Trails is nestled in a true mountain valley surrounded by wilderness. All-inclusive 3-6 day packages include exceptional dining, cozy cabins, tailored horseback riding and cattle work, youth programs, water skiing, fishing, excursions, and evening entertainment. Serving western hospitality and lasting memories since 1970, join WTR for the best week of your year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Trails Ranch Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Trails Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.