We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summary of visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basalt Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Basalt Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Basalt Mountain Inn
220 Midland Ave, Basalt, CO 81621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Basalt B&B and Inns
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Summary of visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was comfortable, clean. It is just got renovated, so it looks nice. The workers are friendly. The breakfast, which is included in the hotel rate, is average. The location is at the center of the city and within walking distance to stores, restaurant and church. It is near the Frying Pan river, so it is convenient for who want to fish.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a wonderful escape situated next to the canyon and the river. We've been here several times and will continue coming back. The refurbished rooms and new management are doing an incredible job. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The suites only have televisions in the sitting room, not in the bedroom. Beware of rooms on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisco, co
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time staying here and we were pleasantly surprised with a large 1 bedroom suite with a living room, dining table and kitchen. Newly renovated...contemporary and simple. Our room was over the office and had a nice personal deck which we plan to come back and enjoy in the summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms should be quiet. They are all off the street and go back into the property [except the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our rooms are quiet because of our great location. We're not on the highway but rather tucked back in historic Basalt. I am glad that you liked your room because the Midland Suite is my absolute favorite room that we offer. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basalt Mountain Inn is an amazing hidden gem! I haven't been so pleasantly surprised by an accommodation in ages. We stumbled across this place when looking for a last-minute place to stay in the Aspen area that wouldn't break the bank, and this place completely made our vacation! Here's why this place is so great:

-Recently gut-renovated so inside of rooms look like a boutique hotel (minus some fancy amenities)
-Affordable prices--priced like a motel
-Fantastic location--on the main street in Basalt (a cute little town with several good restaurants to choose from), and a 15min drive to Snowmass (and 20-25min to Aspen)
-Incredible ski & stay packages, which make skiing at Aspen a bargain
-Solid continental breakfast--nothing fancy but lots of options, great before a day of ski
-Wonderful staff

We just got back from our three-night stay at Basalt Mountain Inn and I've already been recommending it to friends. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the excellent review. We're very proud of the way that the renovations turned out and the great feedback that we have received so far. Basalt itself is a wonderful hidden gem and we're very excited to be a part of it. We cannot wait to take care of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a three day weekend stay at the Basalt Mountain Inn. It was one of the friendliest lodging places we have ever stayed at when skiing the Aspen area! Each employee we interacted with was friendly, helpful and just made us feel sincerely welcomed. The Inn has recently been updated and the rooms are affordable, modern, and very clean. We stayed in a deluxe standard double and liked the separate sleeping area. For our next visit we will try to get a room that has a refrigerator. After a tiring day on the slopes it was nice to be able to walk to several different dining options as well. Unfortunately they don’t have a hot tub, (which at our age is often appreciated after a full day of skiing), but honestly the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of our stay far outweighed not having a hot tub! The Basalt Mountain Inn is a great option when the lodging up in the Aspen area is at high season! Looking forward to our next stay with them!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Debby,

Thank you for your kind review. As a small operation we love to interact with each and every one of our guest's. Basalt has a great small mountain town vibe and the small town charm to go along with it. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the staff and your accommodations. We look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Basalt Mountain Inn and I was enjoying my time until I noticed that my iPad, which I had left out on the counter, had a shattered screen and was no longer turning on. My iPad was always left in the room and I was only checking it in the morning for email. When I brought this to the attention of the manager he quickly dismissed it as "housekeeping is trained not to touch things." How can you properly clean a room without making contact with guest possessions. Absolutely unnacceptable, do not let housekeeping in your room. Police report pending!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a room mix up on the first night - thought we had ordered two bedroom suite. Ended up with one bedroom with two double beds and a pull out bed in the livingroom. Second and third nights they arranged for a bigger unit. Price increase was reasonable.

Accommodations were very clean. Breakfast was very "carby" and donuts not fresh. However, it was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room. It was very nice and clean and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Rick,
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the room confusion that first night but am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Our breakfast is just a pretty basic continental in order to keep with the low rates that we charge and because the health department would require us to have a complete kitchen and install a range if we served hot food. I'm glad that you took advantage of our ski passes though. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basalt Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basalt Mountain Inn

Address: 220 Midland Ave, Basalt, CO 81621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Basalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Basalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Basalt Mountain Inn is a completely remodeled hotel in the heart of downtown Basalt. Everything is brand new in the entire hotel. This is a very comfortable property located within walking distance to everything Basalt has to offer. The Frying Pan and Roaring Fork Rivers run through downtown very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Basalt Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basalt Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.