We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy & Nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Basalt Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Basalt Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Basalt Mountain Inn
220 Midland Ave, Basalt, CO 81621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Basalt B&B and Inns
Wildwood, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moldy & Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Four of us stayed 2 nights at the GD. We are fishermen, and do not require luxury hotels. However, this was totally unacceptable. The bathroom had mold on virtually every surface. There were dead bugs in several places. There is no A/C -- not the end of the world in the mountains -- but the windows didn't work (and looked like they hadn't been washed since the place was built) & the screens were falling out. The only ventilation was provided by an old box fan. There is no ventilation in the bathroom. A couple of our guys decided not to take a shower on the 2nd day because of the condition of the shower. Several of the outlets did not work. We were going to cook breakfast, but the place was so filthy that we didn't dare use the pots and pans. The TV remote was not functional -- needless to say the TV was an old tube model. Just a nasty place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachFischer, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We apologize for the unpleasant stay. We are currently addressing these issues and look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Do not book rooms here using the internet. They will send you a "confirmation number" but it is meaningless since their computer system cannot identify you by that number. We made a reservation there four months ago and arrived, confirmation number in hand, to find there were no rooms and no record of our reservation. The confirmation number was irrelevant. If you must stay here call for reservations and call again once or twice to confirm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachFischer, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are sorry that about the confusion when you arrived. We strive to make everyone who chooses to stay with us as happy as we can. Once again I apologize and I hope that you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Basalt hotels

Grand Junction, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

There is a reason there aren't more pictures of this place on line! We checked in (the owner was very nice and accomodating) and one look at our room and we were out of there. Tiny spaces, few windows, shabby furnishings and bedroom so small you couldn't even walk around the bed - the kind of place you wouldn't want to walk around barefoot. This place needs an overhaul and in the worst way.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachFischer, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate the compliment about the staff, we all work very hard to make you feel comfortable. I am sorry about the room condition and we are currently trying to fix and address all of the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We slept one night, the service was super! We could not work out how the shower worked, and there was nobody to ask. Nice bed, clean towels and nice aircondition. And we met a bear! A real bear, outside our room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachFischer, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The area and the local wildlife are amazing in this area and we are very happy that you were able to experience part of it. There is so much more to see so come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Super friendly front desk. Kristin was very helpful with a restaurant recommendation. Go to the Brick Pony, it was fabulous! Clean and quirky little motel. Beds could have used a mattress topper or other sort of padding.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachFischer, General Manager at Basalt Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are currently in the process of updating all of our bedding in order to make everyone more comfortable. The local restaurants are fantastic and you can walk to most of them in the area from here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

With only two options in Basalt, we looked at location and the Green Drake seemed to be the better of the two in that regard. The other hotel shares the parking lot with the grocery store. The woman at the front desk was polite and pleasant. No, this is not a plush hotel but for us it was a quiet place to sleep between long hiking days (Electric Pass, etc.). My only complaint is that our second floor room was pretty warm and the small back room a/c unit was no match for afternoon sunlight beaming directly into the front windows and entrance door (drapes and door closed).

Cleanliness: We didn't see any problems.
Service: Polite and we had no issues.
Location: Right where things are happening in Basalt.
Value: Ehhh, perhaps a bit pricey for what the hotel is but the market is limited.
Rooms: A bit long in the tooth but functional for our needs.
Sleep Quality: Quiet second floor room. Might be a little warm on the hottest of days.

We enjoyed our visit to Basalt and thanks to our stay at the Green Drake, we got a lot out our time there. It's a great little town to walk around on a nice day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

My wife and I recently returned from a wonderful holiday in the Roaring Fork Valley of Colorado. Wonderful except for our stay at the poorly managed Green Drake Hotel. Despite its charming setting in the town of Basalt, this hotel is clearly a place to avoid.
At 5:00 am, my wife and I woke to the sound s of construction workers whipping up Huevos Rancheros and preparing for a day on the job. In the room next to us, there were at least 6 construction workers crammed into a two bedroom guest suite. We wanted to call and complain about the noise but the sign at check in pointed out that the hotel office is closed until 8 am. When we discussed the situation with the management, we were told that the crew had been based in the hotel for the past eight months and were "one of the best crews they had ever hosted at the Green Drake". If we would have known that this hotel served as extended stay lodging for construction crews, we would have never paid the $175 per night room rate to stay in one of their guest "suites". The decor of the hotel rooms was plain and boring and our complaints were not met with compassion but with deaf ears. If you want a quiet and relaxing spot to rest after a long day of fishing, this is definetely not the
place to go. The staff was rude and the decor of the rooms is worse than what you would find a t a Motel 6 near an interstate truck stop. Basalt is one of the most charming towns in Colorado and we hope someone will take over the management of this hotel and make it into the type of charming boutique hotels that Basalt so desperately needs.

  • Liked — The setting in the midle of the charming town of Basalt, Colorado
  • Disliked — The rude staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basalt Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basalt Mountain Inn

Address: 220 Midland Ave, Basalt, CO 81621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Basalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Basalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Basalt Mountain Inn is a completely remodeled hotel in the heart of downtown Basalt. Everything is brand new in the entire hotel. This is a very comfortable property located within walking distance to everything Basalt has to offer. The Frying Pan and Roaring Fork Rivers run through downtown very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Basalt Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basalt Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.