We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and unsanitary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Heaven Pit Barbecue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hog Heaven Pit Barbecue
63658 US Hwy 285, Bailey, CO 80421
(303) 838-8814
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Bailey
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Morrison, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible and unsanitary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Meat was not fresh, dry and generally tasteless. When I got to the restaurant, I noticed one of the for prepares licking batter off her finger she used to dip into a bowl. I should have left then. One of the worst restaurants my family and I have experienced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bailey, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't even like bbq but this place is awesome. The pulled pork sandy with the hotter bbq sauce, sweet potato fries and a root beer, ahhh. The ribs, black eyed peas, collard greens - all yum! Been eating here for 14 years and have never been disappointed with the food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dry and tasteless.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I had different meats (pork and beef) and each was dry. The BBQ sauces on the condiment table were tasteless as ws the small amount of sauce that comes on the meat. The cornbread was so dry and crumbly that we didn't get past one small bite. The sweet potato fries tasted like old grease or oil. The lemonade came from one of those swirling machines with a spigot - it was disappointing. There was a view of the Colorado State Patrol's speed trap on the highway which took our mind off the terrible meal. On a positive note, the bathrooms were clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty and plentiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a craving for BBQ and happened on this place. Very basic dining, quick and pleasant service. We ordered the beef plate and the lady at the counter asked if we wanted dinner or lunch portions - we were hungry but decided to go with the lunch portion. It was PLENTY. The choice of sides were unique, we usually have slaw & stew - but this place offered other vegetables and a variety. My husband had the sweet potato fries and we both had fried okra, both were excellent! The dessert menu looked great - all homemade, however, we were stuffed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dry and not that great... Prime rib much better at Rustic station”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We go up the mountain a bunch and eat at everywhere along the way....in Bailey we like Rustic station even for burgers and prime rib the Hod Heaven Pit's BBQ is dry and doesn't do it for us...we are used to great BBQ the service was ok better than that crossroads place...kids like the train park at rustic station too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven Pit Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Hog Heaven Pit Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Heaven Pit Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.