We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Egg Rolls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Cuisine Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mandarin Cuisine Restaurant
57069 29 Palms Hwy, Yucca Valley, CA 92284-2933
760-365-5225
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 53 Restaurants in Yucca Valley
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Egg Rolls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Love there egg rolls and there sweet and sour sauce!!! I always get there Beef Low main and sometimes it could use a little more flavor but I guess thats what soy sauce is for

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Chicken with syrup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Mandarin Cuisine is just a little spot in a strip mall. The decor is a hilarious melange of Chinese lanterns and calendars and low-grade oil "paintings" of U.S western scenes, sailing ships, etc. Tattered lace butterfly curtains over the windows, low-grade formica tables, and vinyl-covered chairs, and no effort to make it any better. Nice people running the place, at least.

So how's the food? I had some very good egg rolls, even if they were served on a saucer. The orange peel chicken, however, was a disappointment. Overcooked chicken, drowning in a sauce that was so sweet, it was actually gooey. When I dribbled some on the table, and later tried to wipe it with my napkin, my napkin stuck to the table. I've had pancake syrup that was less sugary than this sauce.

No liquor license, so if you'd like a Tsing Tao, you're out of luck.

This is why these small towns come to be completely dominated by the fast food joints. All the other restaurants fall flat on their faces.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California, United States
1 review
“Best Chinese in Yucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Decor is not fancy, but the service is humble and great and the food is excellent. Be sure and try their won/tons stuffed with cream cheese....Great little appetizer and great to get to go.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best orange chicken I ever tasted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The restaurant is not a fancy placed but there food are excellent and there prices are reasonable. I crave there orange chicken all the time. It's crispy. I never had this orange chicken any where else. Go try it..Madonna L.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Quality and value await you at Mandarin Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Located just west of Old Woman Springs Road(CA 247) on CA 62 in a little strip mall at the intersection of Barberry and Twentynine Palms.

Food quality is first rate--hot and fresh. Also, lunch specials(under $6 each) run until 5p, so take advantage. We had ss pork, chick chow mein and a beef dish. All portions were large. All came with entre, egg roll, a fried wonton and lots of rice(good fiber).

For those staying at the Super 8, located just across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 
Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 

Been to Mandarin Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Cuisine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.