We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Indian food, pure and simple!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Star of India
1538 Poole Blvd Suite W, Yuba City, CA 95993
(530) 673-1999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 141 Restaurants in Yuba City
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honest Indian food, pure and simple!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

One of the best Indian restaurants in the area. Wonderful menu for dinner. Great lunch buffet that changes daily. Hard to find the location for first-timers.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
at sea
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Good food and service; reasonably extensive menu and prices; Coupon available "Buy 1 entree/Get 1 free" was a good persuader to have us try Star of India. We'd go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The service was great; the menu was included all hoped for; the food was healthy and delicious.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in a city which has lots of Indian food to choose from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Yuba City has a high concentration of Punjabis, so we have lots of Indian restaurants in town. The Star of India is simply the best of them all. If you come at lunchtime, the reasonably-priced buffet provides a variety of tasty foods. I usually like the tandoori chicken and butter chicken. The dinner menu is excellent, too. My new favorite is Chicken Vindaloo, steeped in a wonderfully spiced sauce (you can choose mild, medium, or spicy; I chose medium). The Star of India offers about 8 or 9 different varieties of naan. I like them all, although the butter naan is my favorite. My daughter loves the mango lassi beverage -- definitely a distinctive change from soda or tea. Many Punjabis I know also consider this to be the best Indian restaurant in town. I used to dislike Indian food; I'm happy to return again and again to the Star of India.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

After seeing Trip Advisor reviews ranking Waffle Barn as #5 and Applebee's as #9 in Yuba City (!), I though it was high time to pay tribute to one of the best Indian restaurants in the area. As many people know, Yuba City has a large Indian community and many good restaurants. Many of my friends ask where I go for Indian food, and Star of India is what I always recommend.
This is a very consistent, locally owned and operated restaurant; in fact, the owner is usually on the premises, which anyone knows is extremely important for running a restaurant. It is located near the civic center, close to the DMV and Police Station, tucked into a small strip mall. Usually the owners park their delivery trucks at the entrance, so it's fairly easy to spot. The restaurant itself is modest in size, and decorations are pretty drab. The lunchtime music is mostly Indian pop (bangara, film, etc), but unobtrusive. There is also a banquet room next door for large events. But don't let appearances fool you. The place is clean, and the staff is excellent, with lots of smiles and efficient service. Star also has a substantial desserts business, and many clients come in just for a pound or two of impossibly pink sweets in a diffraction-grating box.
The most important thing, of course, is the food. Star of India has a lunch buffet, but you can always order off the regular menu. Lunch buffet is relatively extensive and costs $7.99, which is an excellent value (compare prices in Sacramento or SF). The buffet menu varies, but usually features at least the following: papadum, veggie pakora, veggie samosa, aloo tikka (a bit spicy), 3 varieties of chicken (tandoori, butter, curry), a dhal, fish tikka, rice pulao or biryani, saag paneer, paneer korma, a couple of veggies (e.g. aloo gobhi, eggplant, peas with paneer, okra), salad, raita, dessert (halwa or gulab jamun), pickle & sauces. Sometimes they also serve goat curry, and I've probably missed a couple of dishes. One of the great things about this buffet is that fresh naan is made to order, either plain or garlic. Those who have experienced warming-tray naan know how important this is. You also get plain rice if you want. The buffet is very flavorful, but not overly spicy (except the aloo tikka, as mentioned above), so you can always get chili on the side.
A la carte is also available for lunch and is usually the only dinner option. The menu is quite extensive, featuring many of the standard north Indian veg and non-veg choices. As a (mostly) vegetarian, I can highly recommend the aloo gobhi, veggie biryani (with paneer), chana masala, and the veggie jafrezi (it rocks!). Naturally, because it is made to order, the a la carte menu is superior to the buffet and is highly recommended. Even if you order "mild," as I always do, your dinner will be very flavorful and satisfying.
So in sum, if you are in the Yuba C./Marysville area and are yearning for really good Indian food, you should definitely try Star of India. The food is very consistent...I've eaten there dozens of times and the buffet is usually very good to excellent. A la carte is excellent. I should mention that the Star of India in Chico is owned by the same person, but has a different cook, which makes a BIG difference. But that's the topic of another review.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of India also viewed

 

Been to Star of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.