We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service - Tiny bathroom - Cleaning problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 Moonlit Oaks Avenue, Yreka, CA 96097   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Yreka
Weaverville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Poor service - Tiny bathroom - Cleaning problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here hoping for great customer service. No smile or welcome upon check-in. No "Good morning" while passing through the lobby in the morning. Too busy to be nice? The two queen room is small and the bathroom is miniature. Heat works well. Don't look behind the door in the bathroom. Since the bathroom is so small, the cleaners must leave the door open while working in there. This leaves an area behind the door to catch grime and worse

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrPERSON15, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback and I will use your comments to train my staff better to make the eye contact and spark a conversation with our guest. I agree that our staff should never be too busy to smile at our guest. We have made some positive changes in our staffing in a past few days to improve our product and services. I hope you try us again to experience the change.

Again I appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    84
    42
    24
    10
See reviews for
93
36
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here twice while on our recent trip. The first time we were forced to stay because I-5 was closed down because of a blizzard. On our way back we stayed because we enjoyed the hotel so much the first time. Yreka, CA is about half way between the mountain pass so it makes a good place to stay if the snow and ice seem to be too much. It is close to food, gas and a retail store as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrPERSON15, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your time to review our hotel and offer positive feedback. I am glad to hear that you chose to stay with again, even though the circumstances were not ideal with road closure. We hope to serve you next time you are in the area.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Reasonable price but don't expect a whole lot.

We have stayed at this hotel for 3-4 years in a row. We first stayed here because we had booked at the Holiday Inn Express and the pool was broken. The owners of that hotel own the Baymont Inn so after some lengthy conversation and calls to the owner by the front desk, they finally agreed to let us move hotels over at "no extra charge". Sounded fine since we got the pool but breakfast was lesser quality, rooms lesser quality & pool & jacuzzi was a little colder.

As anyone with school age and small children knows, booking at hotels with pools is almost a necessity on long car rides. Indoor pools are also a necessity during the winter since most outdoor pools are closed if the weather drops below a certain temperature.

Every year we have come back to this inn on our way back from the Bay Area to Portland and this is the last time. Every year it goes downhill and it gets worse every year. The Holiday Inn has better accommodations but the pool is cold every year and no jacuzzi (they say it's heated but just because it's not the same temp as the snow covered outside, it's not heated).

This year the Baymont Inn has outdone themselves on letting the accommodations run downhill. Not only was the pool cold, the jacuzzi was only a degree or 2 warmer. This year I couldn't even work out while the family attempted to get in the pool because every single machine was broken in the fitness room. In addition, the door to the pool was broken and we got stuck in the pool. The only way out was to go outside walk around in the snow then come back in the building. Breakfast ran out of hard boiled eggs and was minimal.

Staff was good. Room was clean. The only pros. No elevator so we had to schlep our bags for 2 adults & 2 kids up a flight of stairs.

These are the only 2 hotels in Yreka with indoor pools. If you have kids and really want that pool, do yourself a favor and going south stay at a town before Yreka and going north stay in Weed or before that. We talked to the other guests that were here using the pool & it was all the same opinion: Last stop at this place.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you have elderly or someone who doesn't navigate stairs well, make sure to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrPERSON15, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites

Address: 148 Moonlit Oaks Avenue, Yreka, CA 96097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yreka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Yreka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites
Baymont Hotel Yreka
Baymont Inn Yreka
Yreka Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.