We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it was a mixed feeling . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Miner Street, Yreka, CA 96097   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well, it was a mixed feeling . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family of 3 kids and 2 adults stayed here for one night as a waystop on a road trip. We were able to get a two bedroom suite which was well worth the money. It was huge, apartment sized with a full living room/dining area, hallway, two bedrooms and a bathroom. Not sure if all the family suites were like that, but this one was the most impressive of all the Best Western's we've stayed at. Room was a nice quality with good décor and seemed clean and well taken care of. If it were just the room, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat. However, people were smoking outside rooms, large group of construction workers were staying and smoking/drinking, breakfast was basic hotel breakfast with eggs/sausage/continental stuff but the breakfast room was very small for the size of the hotel and you almost had to take your food back to the room. So we would probably look at another hotel, just because the atmosphere wasn't very pleasing. However, they can't do much about who stays there so if you are looking for lots of space and you are going to be in the area a few days, it is worth giving it a try. The employees were great!

Room Tip: Two room suites are much larger than at other Best Westerns . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    164
    49
    10
    7
See reviews for
163
135
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Right off I-5. Well-maintained, clean rooms and facility and friendly front desk staff. Complimentary breakfast is a nice touch, especially self-serve waffle maker. Downtown area has historic charm, although we did nothing more than drive through it--did not eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Have family in Oregon and this hotel is about half way so we have stayed here many times over the years. With and without children. Always great service, clean rooms and now serving breakfast. We prefer to stay here if at all possible when we travel to Oregon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I arrived at the Miners inn to a friendly front desk employee. The room was what I requested, ground level that I could park in front of and unload my stuff without a long walk. The room was the largest of the 3 Best Westerns that I had visited in a week. The room was nice. The front desk person "Kyle" was very helpful and provided restaurant info and gave us directions for the 4th of July firework show.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped here on our road trip from Oregon down to California based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We were mightily disappointed. While the staff were friendly and helpful and the location very good in relation to the freeway, the room assigned to us was awful. The smell (a combination of musty, moldy, and heavy disinfectant) was overpowering. Lighting was dim and the décor depressing (almost black carpets and very dark grey bedspreads) The AC was very noisy but it was necessary as the room was very stuffy. The toilet did not flush properly. We called at 8:30 pm when it refused to flush at all and, to their credit, the hotel did send someone immediately. But the next morning, it was not flushing well again. I reported it to the front desk when we checked out and one of the two ladies at the desk remarked to the other "oh, we've been having trouble with that toilet."
The breakfast was good and the breakfast room bright and cheerful. I wonder if our horrible room was due to the fact we were traveling with our dog. But that shouldn't be the case...the other hotels we stayed at on our trip were lovely...no smell, light and airy. But not Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Hill, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall this is a good value. The TV would not display a whole screen picture. The picture was scaled down to about 1/2 the screen. Clean room, good food, good staff. This is a historic town and offers many side trips and the hotel/motel should not be your main consideration. Based on that I rate it as a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is great. Just off the freeway and within walking distance to the downtown area and restaurants. Lots of parking. It is an old hotel but has been taken care of very well. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Nice and quiet. Bathroom sink would not drain and the Ice machine did not work but other than that all went well. Check in was crowded and there was only one person in the office so it was a bit slow. Breakfast was O.K. Access to the freeway going South was real quick and easy.

Room Tip: All rooms are O.K.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn

Address: 122 East Miner Street, Yreka, CA 96097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yreka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Yreka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yes we do have Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Miner`s Hotel Yreka
Best Western Miners Hotel
Best Western Yreka
Yreka Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Miner's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.