We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great on the outside, great atmosphere, but below average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's House

Grandma's House
123 E Center St, Yreka, CA 96097-2927
530-842-5300
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 38 Restaurants in Yreka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Looks great on the outside, great atmosphere, but below average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped in because the outside looked like a place where you could get good home cooking. Service was good, but the food wasn't. The gravy lacked flavor, as did the mashed potatoes. Chicken fried steak was okay. One of the most disappointing restaurant meals I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“lots to look at”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Grandma's house was just like a grandma's house. Lots of trinkets and pictures etc. makes it an interesting place to eat. Service was good and food was decent for a good price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Premade food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My friend ordered a Monte Cristo and asked for no ham, the girl told us they can't take off the ham since it's "comes to them premade." I had a taco salad and it was ok but nothing major. After we had our food for about 10 minutes the girl comes by and asks if we would like boxes, we had over half of our food left. She did come by a few times and fill my drinks. We had to ask for our check. It does look nice on the inside but a little out dated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly Home Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a convenient and old fashioned eatery. The food and service were very nice and the environment is meant to remind you of a home. Good value and tasty food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Been stopping here for several years and never a problem. Food and service has always been top notch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's House also viewed

 

Been to Grandma's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.