We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Honey moon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oleander House and Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oleander House and Garden to your Saves list
Oleander House and Garden
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7433 St Helena Way, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Yountville B&B and Inns
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2nd Honey moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 12th anniversary at Oleander house 5/29-6/4/2013. It is fairly centrally located in the Napa Valley so we were able to explore easily ... day trips included a pretty drive to Bodega beach, a day in Sonoma, a day in Calistoga as well as trips into St. Helena, Oakville, Napa etc. Our room was #2 on the second floor at the back of the house. It had it's own little deck with a pretty view of the back yard garden. It was quiet and peaceful and the bed was comfortable. The room was layed out nicely with a dressing table and a few comfortable chairs. The only draw back (and it's a small drawback) was the size/ layout of the bathroom. The tub / shower was on a platform and so it was a big step into/out of the tub. The sink area was small. Breakfast was included each day and the food was phenominal and varied each day. The conversations were nice and Kathleen kept everyone engaged. She made good recommendations and was great with directions and advice. I recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the house. I understand rooms in the front get road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
84
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Oleander house is a nice bed and breakfast - the rooms are comfortable, clean and nice, and the breakfasts were delicious. However, I don't think I would spend the money to stay there again. When you walk in, it smells like smoke. I don't know if the whole house smells like smoke and you just get used to it, but initially walking into the B&B you definitely smell it. Another thing that really bothered all the people in my party - at breakfast, the owner was making some homophobic comments. They weren't blatantly homophobic, but she was jokingly calling her dog a "sissy" and "gay." I thought it was incredibly inappropriate to do in front of guests, especially when you don't know your guests' sexual orientations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place is quite small and you feel truly like you are staying in someone's home (only 4 total guest rooms). The owner was quite gracious and the breakfast was among the best I've had for a B&B. Tip: Ask for one of the 2 back rooms facing the garden if you don't want road noise. We stayed in room #1 with the fireplace and had to use earplugs but the bed was super comfortable to make up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Oleander House proved to be a great place to overnight on our recent visit to Yountville. It is very conveniently located near the various Yountville restaurants and incredibly comfortable. The bed was great and the room very attractively decorated. Our room had a balcony overlooking the rear garden and would have been a great place to sit had the weather been a bit warmer. The owner is very gracious and provides a very sumptuous and hearty breakfast as well as soft drinks and water throughout the day and brandy in the evening. We will definitely be back on our next visit to the Napa area. An added plus was that it was more reasonably priced than some of the outrageously expensive "boutique" hotels nearby.

Room Tip: One of the rooms faces the front of the house and busy St. Helena Highway. I would opt to pay a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Oleander House served us well for the two days we explored the Napa Valley and Yountville eateries. The owner is charming and very friendly as she hosts breakfast. Each morning, she produced delicious ,freshly cooked goodies...prepare to be tempted by the chocolate croissants if you are trying to recover from the previous night's feast at one of the wonderful restaurants nearby. Our room was large and comfortable, and we liked sitting out on our terrace in between outings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have been going to Napa for several years and just found this little diamond in the rough. This is a great place to relax and be in the middle of everything at the same time. The highlight of our stay were the breakfasts -- home made by a great cook. Great sausages and great pastries. She enjoys what she does. And she knows her way around wine country. It is a great place to relax. The rooms are clean and the daily service keeps everything shining.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage stay in the room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great owner--she knows everything about Napa and offers many helpful hints. Spacious and very clean rooms. Tasty breakfasts. Plenty of parking. Quiet. Close to restaurants and wineries.

We read many TripAdvisor reviews before booking our reservation and had high expectations for our stay---and we were not disappointed. Will likely return on a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oleander House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleander House and Garden

Address: 7433 St Helena Way, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oleander House and Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A French Country Inn located just outside of Yountville in the Napa Valley. Features (5) spacious guest rooms; all with private bath, private balconies or patios. Rates include a full breakfast, use of the outdoor hot tub, complimentary beverages, high speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oleander House and Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oleander House And Garden Hotel Yountville
Oleander House And Garden Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleander House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.