We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We definately would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oleander House and Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oleander House and Garden to your Saves list
Oleander House and Garden
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7433 St Helena Way, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
“We definately would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights. The home was cleaner and nicer than it looks in the pictures. In fact, it was immaculate!! No one is lying when they boast about Kathleens good cooking. She makes everything from scratch! The chocolate Croissants were amazing! The bed linens are so soft and comfortable that we looked at the tag and are going to purchase them for our own bedding. The location is nice- close to downtown Napa, the center of Yountville and all the amazing wineries. It is located on a busy road but there is nothing they can do about that. Her husband is a hot air balloon pilot and we went on a flight with him one morning. He is very personable and we enjoyed a nice flight over the valley. Max, the dog was also very friendly and sweet! Definately a nice place to stay! Thank you JP and Kathleen!. Bill and Lynn

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite!! It was very large! :) Worth the extra money. I felt it was the nicest one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
89
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were 3 couples there for the Weekend wine passport for the Rutherford vintners. This was the perfect location for the event. The rooms are very well appointed, spacious and super comfortable. The breakfasts were complete and scrumptious. We visited with the other guests for an hour after breakfast each day. Kathleen was very gracious and helpful. She recommended a great loop next to the Napa River for walking/running..The only caution is that the two rooms that face the highway are noisy, but earplugs are provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had 4 nights at Oleander House with friends. Our room was the Summer room on the second floor and away from the front of the house. There is a lovely lounge area on the second floor landing with tv, games, refrigerator and wet bar. The room was spacious with a back deck, comfortable bed with nice linens and towels. Especially wecome was the magnifying mirror and good lighting in the bathroom! Yes, it is located on a busy highway, and we did hear some traffic noise, but not enough to really disturb our sleep, especially since it occurred when we were up and ready to start touring. Kathleen is a gracious host, offers wonderful directions, and creates delicious breakfasts in a bright family style dining room. She also very generously supplied us with hot croissants and to-go coffee for our early morning departure well before the normal 9 am breakfast. Oleander House has a good central location, next door to Cosentino winery, and two doors from Mustard's restaurant (a great advantage after a day of tasting to not have to drive to get a great dinner). Thank you, Kathleen and we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at Oleander House. Warm welcomes from Kathleen, delicious and nutritious breakfasts, comfy rooms with beds to match. All of that combined with the fall beauty of the Napa Valley had us returning home feeling relaxed and ready for the week. We've already booked again for next year!! Thanks, Kathleen, for help with reservations, too!
Steve and Betty

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Oleander House for 2 nights on a recent visit to Napa. This was by far the best accommodation we stayed at on our entire 3 week trip to the USA. Kathleen really went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable and was fantastic in giving us some great recommendations on which wineries to visit, restaurants, etc. The breakfasts were home-made and unlike anything you would be server anywhere else. Really memorable. Kathleen really goes the extra mile to make her guests feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Napa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Catching up on places visited on our recent trip to California and realised I hadn't posted review of our stay at Oleander. Was delightful and a great contrast to our first 5 days in San Fransisco hotel. Kathleen was a mine of local knowledge and helped us plan wine tour etc. Breakfasts were superb. The chicken sausage mentioned in many reviews were worth the travel from Scotland, the pastries, the baking.....lovely all round. Also, made good us of the hot tub after long days out. 1 month on and reminisce fondly and miss the laid back feeling we had and the relaxation enjoyed on this leg of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Oleander House when visiting Napa and had such a relaxing, comfortable stay. Kathleen prepares a delicious home made breakfast every morning that is hearty enough to carry you through the long day of wine tasting. She is a fantastic cook and baker and you will be in for a treat.
We stayed in the Fall room which had a very comfortable bed. The location of the B&B is off 29 and located close to restaurants, wineries and anything you will want to explore while in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oleander House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleander House and Garden

Address: 7433 St Helena Way, Yountville, CA 94599
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oleander House and Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A French Country Inn located just outside of Yountville in the Napa Valley. Features (5) spacious guest rooms; all with private bath, private balconies or patios. Rates include a full breakfast, use of the outdoor hot tub, complimentary beverages, high speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Oleander House and Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oleander House And Garden Hotel Yountville
Oleander House And Garden Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleander House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.