We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, location and hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleander House and Garden

Save Saved
You added Oleander House and Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oleander House and Garden
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7433 St Helena Way, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Poway, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place, location and hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were 3 couples there for the Weekend wine passport for the Rutherford vintners. This was the perfect location for the event. The rooms are very well appointed, spacious and super comfortable. The breakfasts were complete and scrumptious. We visited with the other guests for an hour after breakfast each day. Kathleen was very gracious and helpful. She recommended a great loop next to the Napa River for walking/running..The only caution is that the two rooms that face the highway are noisy, but earplugs are provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
73
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had 4 nights at Oleander House with friends. Our room was the Summer room on the second floor and away from the front of the house. There is a lovely lounge area on the second floor landing with tv, games, refrigerator and wet bar. The room was spacious with a back deck, comfortable bed with nice linens and towels. Especially wecome was the magnifying mirror and good lighting in the bathroom! Yes, it is located on a busy highway, and we did hear some traffic noise, but not enough to really disturb our sleep, especially since it occurred when we were up and ready to start touring. Kathleen is a gracious host, offers wonderful directions, and creates delicious breakfasts in a bright family style dining room. She also very generously supplied us with hot croissants and to-go coffee for our early morning departure well before the normal 9 am breakfast. Oleander House has a good central location, next door to Cosentino winery, and two doors from Mustard's restaurant (a great advantage after a day of tasting to not have to drive to get a great dinner). Thank you, Kathleen and we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at Oleander House. Warm welcomes from Kathleen, delicious and nutritious breakfasts, comfy rooms with beds to match. All of that combined with the fall beauty of the Napa Valley had us returning home feeling relaxed and ready for the week. We've already booked again for next year!! Thanks, Kathleen, for help with reservations, too!
Steve and Betty

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Oleander House for 2 nights on a recent visit to Napa. This was by far the best accommodation we stayed at on our entire 3 week trip to the USA. Kathleen really went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable and was fantastic in giving us some great recommendations on which wineries to visit, restaurants, etc. The breakfasts were home-made and unlike anything you would be server anywhere else. Really memorable. Kathleen really goes the extra mile to make her guests feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Napa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Catching up on places visited on our recent trip to California and realised I hadn't posted review of our stay at Oleander. Was delightful and a great contrast to our first 5 days in San Fransisco hotel. Kathleen was a mine of local knowledge and helped us plan wine tour etc. Breakfasts were superb. The chicken sausage mentioned in many reviews were worth the travel from Scotland, the pastries, the baking.....lovely all round. Also, made good us of the hot tub after long days out. 1 month on and reminisce fondly and miss the laid back feeling we had and the relaxation enjoyed on this leg of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Oleander House when visiting Napa and had such a relaxing, comfortable stay. Kathleen prepares a delicious home made breakfast every morning that is hearty enough to carry you through the long day of wine tasting. She is a fantastic cook and baker and you will be in for a treat.
We stayed in the Fall room which had a very comfortable bed. The location of the B&B is off 29 and located close to restaurants, wineries and anything you will want to explore while in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here once before and loved it so much that I rented the entire B & B for my wife's birthday celebration with our closest friends. The breakfast is fresh and delicious and Kathleen makes you feel like family, love her! The rooms are very spacious and the beds are great. We loved the layout and the TV area on the second floor that allowed us to gather and have great conversation. The Oleander is an exceptional B & B in Napa, guaranteed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The Queen is my personal favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleander House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleander House and Garden

Also Known As:
Oleander House And Garden Hotel
Oleander House And Garden Hotel Yountville
Oleander House And Garden Yountville, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 7433 St Helena Way, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oleander House and Garden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A French Country Inn located just outside of Yountville in the Napa Valley. Features (5) spacious guest rooms; all with private bath, private balconies or patios. Rates include a full breakfast, use of the outdoor hot tub, complimentary beverages, high speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Oleander House and Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleander House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.