We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc
6476 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1294
707-944-2487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ad Hoc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
North Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

One the greatest eating experiences we have had in all of our travels. Casual, low key atmosphere. Sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed the pre fix menu of the day. We had the most gorgeous looking salad that combined the freshest fruits with arugula and a very light dressing. Every morsel of every course was delectable. The waiter was delightful as well as all of the staff we encountered. HIGHLY recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    143
    108
    41
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
2 reviews
“How does it survive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are visiting from Africa, and staying in Yountville to see and taste the Napa Valley experience. Ad Hoc was the first of 5 restaurants we dined at throughout the week. Overall, horrible experience. To start, you are packed in their small restaurant so close to other patrons that it detracts from any sort of private/intimate dinner you would strive for. For the food...we ate on their famous fried chicken night. All i can say is, next time, KFC please. It was undercooked, tremendously too much batter, and paired with items as if my 6 yr old son was creating the the menu. With the amazing Redd next door, I do not know how Ad Hoc survives. I would be curious to see how many guests dine there a second time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing, inventive and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We'd booked a deal with the local Cottages of Napa Valley that reserved a table at this renowned restaurant. There is no choice at Ad Hoc, it's a set menu that changes daily. A five course meal with the option to accompany your meal with four different glasses of wine chosen by the chief sommelier (which we did of course!).

We had a Caesar salad for two to start which came on a large plate with a lovely Parmesan dressing. We then had Mar i Muntanya, a paella type dish with chorizo, chicken and seafood which was excellent. We chose to add an accompanying dish of Albondigas, meatballs in a green garlic broth which worked well with the main. For the cheese course we had Crispy Manchego before making our own Ice cream Sundaes from a selection of ingredients provided.

The food was excellent along with all the staff, from our waiter, sommelier and at the bar.

Two things to note... Californian's don't dress for dinner and even in the exclusive and foodie Yountville you can look forward to a very relaxed atmosphere. Also, if you go later I'm the evening be aware that Yountville shuts at 10pm, and very few taxis are available. The taxi organised by the restaurant charged us $20 for a $5 ride.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You eat what I cook!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just like Momma said! The food here was awesome! We were hoping for their famous fried chicken but enjoyed a perfect steak instead! Oh well, our waiter suggested lunch (fried chicken) out back at Addendum. This place rocked!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went to Ad Hoc for lunch because we read in so many reviews...even from other restaurants.... About the fried chicken. They only serve it on certain days of the week so we had the flat iron steak and lamb which was very good. But the next two days we went to their co-restaurant Addendum for the fried chicken!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ad Hoc also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Ad Hoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ad Hoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.