We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girls' Lunch Outing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redd

Redd
6480 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
707 944 2222
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 22 restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Girls' Lunch Outing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Today, four of us had a Girls' Day out in the wine country. Our first stop was lunch at Redd. Redd is a trendy, upscale, modern restaurant in Yountville. We had called ahead for reservations which is an absolute must on a weekend. Linen table clothes and crystal clear goblets and sparkling cutlery. Our waiter, Collin, was simply charming and personable. The menu had fabulous choices - either appetizers or main dishes. Ironically, all of us chose the same entree for lunch - pork buns with hoisin. As we waited, the chef sent out a mini appetizer - hot wings - to enjoy. Our entree was fabulous - pieces of crispy pork cubes in a delicious hoisin sauces, sprinkled with perfectly sliced green onions and toasted sesame seeds, sitting atop an incredible Asian salad. For dessert, we split the steamed chocolate cake with caramelized bananas! A delicious lunch, fabulous wait staff, and great atmosphere. We did not order wines or drinks. Our bill was $72 not including tip. Not cheap but worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    514
    168
    72
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy, well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Even though your tour guide tells you it's expensive and it would take too long, please don't believe him or her and go anyways. The cost was not even higher than a regular burger place (15$)and even if the place was getting crowded, my plate came in no time. Great place, I recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Because of a last minute planned trip to Yountville, we could only get lunch reservations here on the weekend. Definitely go for the 6 course tasting menu- best thing about this is that they give 12 different dishes between my husband and myself so you really get to experience a wide selection of dishes they offered. We couldn't even decide on what was our favorite dish -- loved all of them. And because it was a lunch menu, very affordable for the quality. Waitstaff very helpful with wine choices. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Still not up to par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I think it's very misleading that Redd is currently rated 3rd best restaurant in Yountville (behind French Laundry -- which I've never been to -- and Bouchon, which I found very disappointing.)

This was my 2nd time visiting. Why? To give it another try.
Here's how it goes:

Decor and Ambiance -- Minimalist modern artistic. That's fine, if it's what you want, but it feels a bit cold and sterile (I have nothing against this style, it just has to be done well -- the way it is done at Redd is mediocre. Lighting is very low to hide the stark reality, but some corners are so underlit that diners pull out flashlights and cell phones to read the menu -- I'm not kidding! And they seat tables way too close to the front door to be comfortable when the cold drafts repeatedly hit you after dark, every time the door opens.)

Service -- Standard, generally proficient, but not friendly (kind of matches the decor.)

Food -- Hit or miss. I really like some of their small dishes. They do have a special touch to the balance of flavors being used, sometimes in quirky or unconventional (but not so weird as to be off-putting) ways. My favorites are the warm duck confit salad, and the lobster risotto. The beet salad with gulf shrimp and pomegranate was also very good, as was a chestnut soup.

Main dishes, however, seem to be less inspired and more heavy-handed. The "sauteed" skate is not so much "sauteed" as it is "pan-fried", cooked nicely (tender yet barely-crisp on the lighly crusted edges), but with a more-than-acceptable dose of salt. I'm not sure why so many fine dining establishments lean so heavy on the salt (Bouchon was guilty of this as well), I guess because it "enhances flavor"?

Wines: Great selection, horrible pricing. We're talking a 100% markup on several bottles I looked at (when you can literally drive -- or maybe even walk -- down the street and buy some of them straight from the winery) an their corkage fee is prohibitive ($25/bottle, last I checked)

Price: Expensive. About $30 for most dishes (about $15 for small plates, and they are indeed small) $10 for desserts. This wouldn't be so bad if you get what you pay for, but in my opinion, you don't. In my opinion, 20% lower prices across the board would be more reasonable for the quality/quantity.

I'm a local and don't think this will be very high on my list in the future for myself or for guests. I would sooner give Ad Hoc another try, or visit one of my other local favorites (Bottega, Brix, Mustards, Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, Market... and Bistro Jeanty wasn't bad, either)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had heard many good things about Redd so decided to try it. The food was very good but the service was a little spotty. Our server seemed a little standoffish to our party of eight. Maybe he was stretched too thin since it was very busy and we were a large group. We did enjoy the food though and would try this place again to see if maybe we caught it on an off night.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redd also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Redd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.