We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etoile

Etoile
1 California Drive Yountville, Domaine Chandon, Yountville, CA 94599
1+ 888 242 6366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Etoile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Cuisines: French, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: As the only fine dining restaurant within a winery in Napa Valley, etoile Restaurant at Domaine Chandon epitomizes the very best that wine country dining has to offer. Innovative cuisine paired with award-winning wines and sophisticated surroundings set the stage for the ultimate wine and food experience. Etoile's unique position within a winery allows daily collaboration between the culinary team and Domaine Chandon's winemakers, resulting in innovative, wine-inspired cuisine. We invite you to join us for an epicurean discovery.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to this restaurant. I originally went to this restaurant when it was Domaine Chandon. This is my 2nd trip to the restaurant as Etoile. The menu is reasonably priced for restaurants of this caliber. Customer has the choice between prix fixe and a la carte. Quality of food and attentive service have been consistent through out my 3 visits over the last 5+ years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    74
    20
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Champagne Tasting And Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place was a breath of fresh air to us and not hard to find. We rode bikes here from Yountville's Bardessono. Enjoyed every bit of it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“A great lunch. Pricey, but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by here for a quick lunch, didn't expect the formal dining room but had a look at the menu and went along with it anyway. It was actually extremely good. The lamb I had was ten out of ten washed down by a superb Pinot noir. As I said not the cheapest but not too crazy either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Spectacular food - Dissapointing everything else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When one goes to what is reputedly one of the top 3 Restaurants in the Napa Valley - it had better deliver as you know that cost wise it will be very steep. This Restaurant is a hit/miss which overall harms it. Its a huge hit with food that can only be described as inspired, skilful and avant garde. However this is where it ends as while the restaurant is attractive, its tables are small, the seating cheap plastic, the silverware not appropriate for the many courses (ie no fish knives, serviettes not replaced during meal despite many competing flavors, decanters small and not adequate for the expensive wine being served etc.). Also the pretentiousness of having the first thing the customer is asked as one sits down whether they want a 1oz of caviar at an additional $100-$300 is really off target, Also they offer a glass of their Champagne but at no time do they they tell you it will cost you $18 per glass. The wine list is good however no Sommelier comes to your table, rather they give you an Ipad...wrong!! They bring very nice bread out with simple basic butter coated with a few sprinkles of salt and make a big deal of it...again dissapointing. My advice - let the Chef run the kitchen as he does a great job and bring in a professional manager to run the Restaurant and set-it up properly. There are many examples around of leading edge Restaurants so should not be hard to correct.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The restaurant is contiguous with this excellent sparkling wine vineyard. It is a beautiful setting---beautiful foliage, pools and bridges with water fowl swimming in the pools. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner. However, it is nicer to have lunch since one can appreciate all of the beauty surrounding the restaurant. The food is very good but can be somewhat variable. Would stick with their fish. Salmon was great for our lunch meal. Pleasant waitstaff. We enjoy going there every two to three times we visit the Valley.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.