We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - TOO MUCH FOOD!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Laundry

The French Laundry
6640 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
707 944-2380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Laundry is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $50 - $240
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Creek Street
Alamo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG - TOO MUCH FOOD!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

I can always eat dessert. ALWAYS. But after about 12 courses (allegedly 9, but we got a special lobster) and 4 or 5 dessert "tastes" I was done. It was sooooo very good! Most memorable was an appetizer "cornets of smoked salmon" that was served like a little ice cream cone in a folded napkin in a little stand and the pastry surrounding the creme fraiche which had a little smoked salmon in it was sublime. I could have eaten a dozen (of course, then I would have tanked capacity earlier!).

Any, for those Monty Python fans...The Meaning of Life....room for just one little mint wafer....NOOOOOOOO!!!! Folks on the 2nd floor got the reference and we all joked that we were FULL!!! I won't need to eat for a week while I try to digest all those rich "bites".

Really worth the wait for a reservation and the expense!

Dinner took almost 4 hours to complete. We were seated right in front of a wood burning fireplace on a raining night which was very nice and cozy. Service is fabulous! They give you a bag of cookies to go (who could eat them????).

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    113
    75
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riviera Maya, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

We enjoyed a truly lavish meal In this Yountville restaurant. Food, excellently conceived and prepared, artistically presented and paired with fantastic wine. Our server was himself a former chef who left his position to work at this Thomas Keller landmark, and his love of the culinary arts was reflected in the informed grace with which he performed his duties.
I was particularly impressed with the wine pairing recommended by the chef, ranging from affordable to extravagant, our selections went remarkably well with our courses. We thoroughly enjoyed our three hour experience of exquisite food and wine and would jump at the chance to do it again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Worth the ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

Great experience, worth making a trip to Napa for alone. Expectations were indeed high however they were exceeded.

7 courses of complex flavor combinations, culinary wizardry and gorgeous vino.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“3 Hours of Perfectionv (for those that enjoy fine dining)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 NEW

We really enjoyed this dress-up experience. I got a special suit to wear just for this night and it was worth it! The wine pairing, which made our dinner the most expensive I've ever paid, was essential. Without it, I think the food would have missed it's "significant other." Though I wasn't a fan of the duck dish, everything was wonderful. If you're not used to fine dining, expect many courses (I think we had 11 courses including dessert) with small portions. My friend was expecting larger hearty portions and as a result he was disappointed. Also, it's probably not worth paying the extra $175 for white truffle risotto since you can get delicious white truffle pizza for $20 somewhere else). My wife enjoyed the vegetarian menu, which honestly looked better than my menu. Either way, get ready to let your palate go for a wonderful ride. Enjoy (and be ready to spend both your arm and your leg) if you can get a reservation 2 months out!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Taken to the Cleaners”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

On 29 September 2014 five of us were looking forward to what we'd regarded as THE dining experience in Napa Valley. We'd finally secured a booking at this mecca of dining after having heard how difficult it had been for many to even secure a table.We approached the restaurant with bated breath.
We were ushered upstairs into what was a surprisingly cramped space in a section of their dining.We were all to experience the Chef's Tasting Menu,which was presented and explained to us by the person attending to us.Before we even launched into the meal proper there were small, prettily presented bites,compliments of the Chef.Portions of the items were understandably small as we'd wade through 10 dishes,excluding desserts & all the little in-betweens.It all seemed plain sailing till we came to the sautéed fish fillet.One among us found her piece undercooked-her knife had to saw through the tiny piece of fillet;yet it could not flake off. She called for the lady server who attended to her complaint. Guess how she handled the complaint?She told my friend that all fish are not overcooked.She just wasn't interested in listening.My friend showed her how the knife would not slice through the fish nicely-& parts of it was still a raw pink. Instead that lady chose to be dismissive & instead of apologizing or whisking the fish away,she was argumentative!Such behaviour is unacceptable in such an establishment.Now that was an attitude that is certainly a huge failure for a restaurant of such star rating!
The rest of the dishes were alright, but nothing outstanding.There were lots of little treats of sweets.Service was perfunctory -polite enough but not warm.The lady who oversaw some of the dishes could do with more training.
All in all our experience here was disappointing. The ambience,the food, the decor, the flatware and cutlery that accompanied the meal fell short of all the hype about The French Laundry.Earlier in the day we had had a lovely lunch at Auberge du Soleil,where service was impeccable,and the ambience so inviting.At the end of the meal at this French Laundry which came to USD 295 per pax excluding tips,we all felt we'd been shortchanged.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Laundry also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to The French Laundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Laundry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.