We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNEQUIVOCALLY "SURPASSES THE HYPE" WORTH THE INVESTMENT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Laundry

The French Laundry
6640 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
707 944-2380
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 22 restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $50 - $240
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Creek Street
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“UNEQUIVOCALLY "SURPASSES THE HYPE" WORTH THE INVESTMENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food was outstanding! The service was flawless! The hostess was very friendly and extremely accommodating. The waitstaff & Sommelier were perfectly in sync with one another. We never felt rushed nor did the evening feel contribed, quite the contrary, the waitstaff took pic's for us, were humourous at the appropriate times and we never felt like a number.

The service in itself was 'stellar" (I was skeptical about how that would play out during the evening) it could not have been better! We most certainly plan on returning.

The food, I am honestly at a loss for words, simply "undescribable" ....words do not do it justice, as far as i am concerned it surpasses anything I had imagined. I knew it would obviously be great, had no idea it would be that "amazing"...it was that & more. It exposed me to a new world of caviar, their caviar was to die for!!! The quail was incredibly tasty & moist (wish i had more) the beef was outstanding.

As the evening went on....it only got better & better...what a night!

I recommend the wine pairing ....their are "so many" great wines to choose from, adding the wine truly enhanced our dinning experince.

Benjamin took care of our table, he was top notch! He handled our kitchen tour as well as having chef keller sign our books. Chef keller was very accommodating as he allowed our party to take pic's with him.

The kitchen has a very peaceful zen feel, it was not what I expected. It was incredibly calming not to mention you can barely hear them talk amongst each other. Very tranquil back kitchen that's for sure. It's remarkable how Chef Keller & Chef Hollingsworth work under such serenity.

This is one business that is "NOT" overrated ....it nails the restaurant business model for great nothing short of pure success. By the way ad hoc is a must!

Kudo's to Chef Keller, Chef Hollingsworth & ALL of their waitstaff ....they truly have their hands on true greatness!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    478
    97
    64
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Given the reputation and the price, I arrived ready to be underwhelmed. I'm pleased to say it was more than I could have expected. The service was top drawer and every mouthful of every course savoured. I wouldn't do this every day, but it was definitely worth it this onces.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unimpressive. EXPENSIVE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Despite the fact that the restaurant is in small cute stone house, instead of being very cosy, the place is crowded and with no atmosphere! Avoid the upper floor.

There are 2 menus, 1 is vegetarian so we had the regular menu of 9 courses at US$270@. We asked for wine-pairing which they said they don’t offer, but instead will tailor-make according to each person’s preference and budget…. so we just ended up picking 5 wines (all by-the-glass US$20-40@). Keep in mind that the 9-course dinner is a TASTING menu so the portions are all bite sizes. We very much LIKE: the poach lobster, the beef sirloin, bread from Bouchon.

When it comes to serving a dish with aged balsamic, it was a very serious and formal “presentation” of the balsamic….. a waiter with white gloves presented the bottle of 100-year old balsamic vinegar to us and very carefully dotted ONE tiny drop (size of a small green pea) on our plate!!! We had no idea how this tiny drop can be mixed well with our plate of vegetables, and we had to scrape it off the plate to get a taste! Wish they had served the 50-year old and given us 2+ drops instead!

The service is professional but not particularly warm and attentive. We unfortunately were seated next to a couple who know the Restaurant Manager and so were treated especially well and were also offered at least 3 extra complimentary dishes which are not in the menu (which makes us feel even less special). They even get to visit the Chef, Thomas Keller, in the kitchen! Towards the end of dinner, when we and another table asked to meet the Chef, we were sadly told he is gone! Big disappointment once again especially since we just forked out almost US$800 for dinner for 2 (including wine for one).

Our dinner started at 9pm and lasted 3 hours which was shorter than what we have expected. I can see that other guests who came in much later than us are all finishing at about the same time – I guess the kitchen is rushing out food so they can close on time.

Overall….. A disappointment. It was a good meal, though not particularly amazing, and certainly not worth the price. Nice to have gone once, but unlikely will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houst
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unbelievable and reputation is spot-on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We did not know how tough it was to get reservations and i called in 10 days before and they said we could put you on the wait list, we got THE CALL while just sitting down at Bottega and they said if you don't go, we will.

Our experience started with the hostess meeting us outside and making us feel special. And at the end, the manager personally thanked us for dining on short notice. They were gracious and made us feel warmly welcomed.

The entire experience was outstanding across the board, the service was awesome, everyone was friendly and extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of each of the 9 courses. We asked a lot of questions on each course and they patiently answered each that we understood the artistry. We asked one of the servers about the different ingredients in one course and she gave us a detailed explanation of the three types of radishes and how each complimented the other ingredients - simply incredible.

The meal was worth every penny, the wine - not sure it was worth the price - especially after enjoying tastings in the area of wonderful wines at a third of the price. (there aren't enough dollar signs below)

Based on our lucky stars, we should have played the lottery that day. Don't be afraid to put yourself on the wait list - best surprise we had on our trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A Diners Destiny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It took 3 years of calling 60 days before my arrivals in St Helena to visit family (several times a year) and being put on a "wait list", before I was finally called back last week with 72 hours notice. The experience is extraordinary once you get by the reservations roadblock.

Our waiter was highly professional, friendly and very helpful with wine suggestions. The champagne (Gaston Cliquet) and red (Cobb Pinot Noir) are new favorites, not so much for the (nameless) Italian white that was too oaky.

The 9-course chefs tasting menu was full of delights and a few disappointments - due more to personal preference vs. skills in the kitchen. I must call out the care in providing comfortable chairs which are so important when one is going to be seated for nearly 3 hours of palate pleasing entertainment.

Several writers have mentioned kitchen tours, and take home chocolates - we were offered neither, but we did not ask. Once outside we did peer through the kitchen windows watching the show go on, not wanting the evening to end.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Laundry also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to The French Laundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Laundry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.