We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Laundry

The French Laundry
6640 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
707 944-2380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Laundry is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 22 restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $50 - $240
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Creek Street
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beyond the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The French Laundry is everything that people say and more. Just put away how much it's costing you and settle down and enjoy! It's like eating in heaven! We were in the private room this past weekend as we had a group of eight. What fun! The service is superb as you would expect. The staff are friendly and unpretentious. Something other fine dining staff could emulate. The food is always amazing. We did have a few tastings that were not superb but really the overall experience was spot on. Let the very expert sommelier pick out wines for you he knows the food and how to pare it. We loved the wine choices every bit as much as the food. I have been before and will go again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    525
    102
    68
    32
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the French Laundry and he'll have a hard time topping that on our next one.

The food was absolutely gorgeous and delicious. Each dish was beautifully presented and no ingredient was repeated throughout the many courses. We were seated at a cozy table by the fireplace. The service was warm and hospitable, a nice change from similar restaurants with snooty and stuffy service.

Our menus had been customized for us, wishing us a happy anniversary. We forgot to take them with us when we left so my husband called to ask that they be mailed to us. Not only did they send them, they had them signed by Chef Keller who also wished us a happy anniversary. A very thoughtful and much appreciated touch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went here for lunch while visiting Napa. Given what we read and the dress code, we were prepared for pretentious waiters and food snobs. We were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed every minute of our meal.

Of course the food was amazing, but more so it was a culinary experience that should be on any foodies bucket list. Our waiter explained every course and how the Chef took even the simplest of local food and created something delicious. At the end, the waiter gave us a list of our meal, a laundry tag with the bottles of wines we drank and small souvenir boxes of shortbread cookies. Be prepared to spend 3 hours and a lot of money to eat here, but it is worth every minute and every penny!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary dinner at the French Laundry. The setting is very romantic, a little inn with small rooms, beams and fireplaces. The tasting menu options were limited (only two), but both had a wide variety of items and tailored one dish to our request.

I was dissapointed that there was no true wine pairing with the courses. We were guided by the somelier to order half bottles, which at the time seemed like a good idea, but given our cocktails & champagne, we had a hard time finishing our last bottle. However, it was a special night and we enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Definitely visit this place if you love food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just like the other reviewer, TFL has been on my restaurant bucket list. I finally got lucky with the reservation this month, we celebrate our husband's birthday. We are mid-level foodies, have been to quite a few really good restaurants in the bay area, such as Manresa, Coi,,,to name a few. The food was just as we expected, amazing! We especially enjoyed how they prepared the vegetables in every dish. Service was very attentive. The head waiter in the down-stair dinning room was very knowledgeable about every dish and about food in general. All other waiters were very friendly. I didn't find the service to be pretentious. My husband can't drink a lot of alcohol for medical reason and I am not a big wine drinker, I'd rather leave some room for the food. I told the head waiter we didn't want to order wine. Nobody came to border us about wine after that. I do think that you get more service if you order wine, but that's expected.
I was satisfied with the food and the service we get. We'll be back if we can get another reservation. If you love food, and you are in the area, this place is definitely worth a visit. That is, if you can get a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Laundry also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley

Been to The French Laundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Laundry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.