We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy place, authentic French bistro feel. Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Jeanty

Bistro Jeanty
6510 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1385
707-944-0103
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Jeanty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $80
Cuisines: French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mulberry
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Busy place, authentic French bistro feel. Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Bistro Jeanty was great! We booked well in advance, arrived on time and the place was jammed. It was too cold to wait outside so the entrance area and bar were rather overwhelmed. We did manage to get a drink at the bar and were eventually seated, at first outside in a covered, heated patio. This area does not have the ambiance of the inside and they did quickly find us a table inside when we asked to be moved.
The food was superb, we had excellent pate, steaks and veal and the service was excellent. The tables are packed in so don't plan to have private conversations during dinner.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    323
    86
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Better than many Paris restaurants and well worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

A foodie in Carmel recommended this bistro and we were very pleased. Everything was spot on as the Chef lived up to his reputation. Don't go without a reservation as they were very busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great atmosphere, wonderful & special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

There were four of us dining and we are so happy we did! We were seated right away in the center of the dining room which was great because we could see all the yummy food everyone else was ordering before we ordered! I started with a tomato bisque (excellent) with a puff pastry cap, my husband had the bone marrow appetizer - which is a lot like foie gras - if you like that.....our friends ordered escargot (and loved it)...... dinner was delicious too - I had the sole - which was lightly dust-breaded and crispy on the outside and so tasty and tender on the inside. My husband and one of our friends order the rack of lamb - which was roasted and savory......very good. Our fourth diner ordered cassoule - like a beefy bean stew - which was smokey and very flavorful. We would and will come back here for sure and highly recommend this place for dinner!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best veal in long while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Dined with 20ish aged children. Good service, delicious soup, salad & veal...seasoned to perfection. Even pickiest eater enjoyed steak.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold & Drawn Out - What a Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was a chilly evening (30 degrees) in Yountville. Upon entering, we waited just a few short mins. The Host indicted that he had a fine table for us. We were escorted through the main (and warm dining room to a outdoor side area with canvas tent walls and an exposed corrugated roof. We were seated 1 table away from the outside. Even with overhead heaters, the cold was pouring in around our legs. My Bride used her coat to wrap her legs, but we were both COLD. The 1st course of Lobster Bisque was OUTSTANDING - both quantity and quality. My Bride ordered a Quiche & Salad while I opted for the Coq au Vin. Then........ we waited ............. and it go colder.........then another glass of wine .........followed up with our waiter ............. until ........... 45 minutes later, our entrees arrived. The Quiche was very tasty, the Coq au Vin was, at best, average. We paid the bill and departed, both totally frozen. On the way back to the hotel, we stopped and Walgreen's for some ZYCAM to ward of the possibility of a Cold.

In summary, the restaurant was overbooked, using inappropriate outdoor seating areas given the weather, the kitchen was slammed and the bill was moderately high. Perhaps for a casual lunch in the Spring or Summer, but never again under these circumstances.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Jeanty also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bistro Jeanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Jeanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.