We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
6528 Washington Street, Yountville, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 restaurants in Yountville
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Located in Yountville next to, but separate from Bouchon in Yountville.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but not to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to grab some breakfast because we heard it was the place to go in yountville. The pastries are very good but nothing I would rant and rave about, and of course expensive. Cute place though with several choices to bring home like macaroons and toffee. Easy to come and go, though we did have to wait a bit in line.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    299
    111
    41
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwestern US
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What's the Buzz About?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We went with friends because there was always a line out the door. We fell into the spirit and ordered a large variety of baked goods with various coffees. Huh...huh? Why did we wait in line and wait for a table for mediocre baked goods? Please explain the lines? Is it the only reasonable cafe' in Yountville? Clearly not, we've been to at least 2 that were certainly more costly than a bakery but at least provide fresh good food. Overall, it may have been better quality than a chain grocery store (didn't have that plastic after-taste) but no better than a specialty foods grocery store and quite a bit more costly. For the 4 of us, it was about $60. The pastries were rather dry and there were flies inside the cabinets. The service was ok considering it was cramped on both sides of the counter (for customers and workers). I just don't get the buzz, line or other. Maybe the restaurant by the same name

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“expensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The pastry is very good but you have to pay double the price but it is only 120% better. so Business wise is not worth it, if you count the $ .

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you are in the Napa area this place is a go! I am in love with french pastries and this place doesn't disappoint. The macaroons are to die for and literally are just as good as the macaroons in Paris (try the espresso or the peanut butter and jelly)! We went during the 2013 harvest season and there were no lines and very quick and friendly staff. Grab a macaroon and a cappuccino... I'm jealous already!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go for the macarons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

oh, my gosh, this bakery is so good! The macarons are amazing and the main reason we went. It's just a little bakery, order and go. There is some outside seating that also connects to the restaurant next door. Everything in that bakery looks amazing, but we got mostly the macarons. Also got some doggy treats (yep, they make biscuits!) and a few other treats. A must-go if you're in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchon Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.