We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
6528 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 944-2253
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bouchon Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ordered the coconut and pistachio macaron. Both were rather sweet for us, but very large....more like a whoopie pie size so worth the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    482
    267
    91
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“French Bistro at its Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I took my husband here for his birthday dinner on the 1st April after reading that it was a Thomas Keller restaurant and had received good reviews. We were not disappointed. The service was outstanding with great advice and guidance towards what would suit us from the menu.
Every dish was delicious and we were able to take home what we could not finish. Our chocolate desert with the salted caramel centre was fantastic and was presented with the candle on the side of the plate!
We will also given some complimentary pastries to take home which was a lovely added touch.
If we are fortunate to come to Napa again, we would certainly come back from more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tourist attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I'd walked by this place the previous day and was amazed by the queue lined up outside in the street . So early the next morning I sallied forth to see what all the fuss was about. It's a big bakery with a small pastry shop area. Bread and breakfast pastries are available along with all the usual trappings that most high street coffee shops would have. Pastries and coffee were of very good quality and the to go packaging very nice indeed. The main attraction is the Thomas Keller mania for something affordable methinks!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Napa for an overnight stay on a detour from San Francisco. We had no idea where to go and read through the guides and brochures at the hotel before asking the concierge for recommendations. Bouchon was one of them and after a quick google search finding out it was the same ownership as French Laundry, we went there for a late lunch (roughly 2pm). There was no wait and it was a beautiful day so we sat outside. My boyfriend chose the daily special (I vaguely remember it as braised oxtail), and after some Indecisiveness and chats with our server, I chose the french gnocchi... the server actually advised to choose the gnocchi over a more expensive option- something you don't normally see! My boyfriend enjoyed his meal very very much. Neither of us had ever tried french gnocchi, only being familiar with the Italian/potato gnocchi. The reason I can't quite remember what he ordered, though, is that we were both finishing off my plate. French gnocchi was described to us by the server as eclair dough in a sage butter sauce, and it absolutely is. They also have their own garden where they grow their vegetables used in the dishes and when I asked about the mushrooms, they were so happy to give me an explanation of the uncommon type and where they were found (they were called hen of the woods). We still think of that meal and know we'd go back anytime we found ourselves in the area. To top off the amazing food and service we had already received, the server asked us where we were heading next- and we pushed the question back on him. He brought out a paper map and gave us tips on where to go, etc. It was a really nice visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Don't get discouraged by the long line. Take the time and wait. Trust me you will not be disappointed! The chocolate tart cake is a must have. Plus our group ate an entire loaf of bread without butter! If that isn't a good enough indicator of how great it is I don't know what else to tell you...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchon Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.