We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, Slow, Slow!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
6528 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 944-2253
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bouchon Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Sandwiches, Bakeries, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slow, Slow, Slow!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just wanted a couple coffees and a pastry, took forever!! Beautiful day and only two other people in the store but wait was endless. Pastry looked delicious but it's just a tease! Finally got up to register and ordered the coffees to learn the decanters were empty and they were just about to refill them! I would hate to see this place in the busy season! Not worth the wait!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    493
    269
    91
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were very much anticipating our dinner at bouchon. Unfortunately, our evening began with a slightly unfriendly hostess, after which we were seated in a tiny table crammed next to a wall and inches from an adjacent table to the point the tables have to be physically moved to be seated. The couple next to us seemed part of our table. The waiter was kind and attentive. The food in general was fresh and of excellent quality, but lacked finesse in its execution. The chicken liver pâté was tasty but served in a vessel resembling a Yankee candle jar which seemed out of place and large and confusing. The mussels were nice but came with a gigantic portion of fries which was slightly incongruous. The seared scallops were fresh and well seared, but presented with a strange and bumbling concoction of hunks of pancetta, sliced almonds, and mushrooms. Overall, it was an ok meal, but lacked identity and precision.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very yummy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I decided to go to Bouchon because it was recommended by the travel channel and boy I was not disappointed.

The good:
- Food was amazing. Everything we had was cooked perfectly and was amazing. I had the roasted bone marrow and the pork belly, my boyfriend had the blood sausage... it all was decadent and perfect. The bread is cooked fresh at the Bouchon bakery next door
- Wine list was exception. Which shouldn't have been a huge surprise being in wine country. Everyone was well informed and paired wine with each dish wonderfully

The not great:
- It's a small space and they pack a lot of people in there, so it can get pretty loud. We ended up making good friends with our neighbors... sitting maybe 6 inches from us
- Be ready for a high price tag. Things add up quick!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great French Food in Yountville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were in Yountville for four nights and went to Bouchon for dinner on one of those nights. We were greeted warmly by the maitre d' who made us feel very welcome. The restaurant had a great vibe and the food was very french bistro in style - we felt we were back in France!
We had a great night and would recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almond Croissants - the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had heard about the bakery so decided to have breakfast there one morning. My favourite croissant is almond and I have to say their almond croissant was the best I have ever tasted.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchon Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.