We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicioso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery
6528 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 944-2253
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bouchon Bakery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Highly acclaimed chef Thomas Keller (of The French Laundry) is behind this beautiful Yountville restaurant. Enjoy excellent French bistro cuisine in a dining room offering wonderful Parisian ambiance. We invite you to visit Bouchon Bakery, an authentic, country-style boulangerie located next door Bouchon Bistro. The Bakery serves traditional French breads and pastries and is open from 7am - 7pm daily.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place to get a cup of coffee, baked pastries and sit outdoors. We enjoyed our quick stop at Bouchon Bakery!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    482
    267
    91
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine without over doing it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent New Years Eve dinner here with my wife & am very happy to say that it truly lived up to its expectations. Prices were a steal, considering the freshness & total perfection that each meal brought to the table. We started with the bone marrow which topped all bone marrow dishes that we have had in the past at some other top Michelin star restaurants in California.

Next, we had 1/2 dozen oysters. They were on the small side, but the meat was very tender and soft. Overall very tasty, fresh & enjoyable.

3rd appetizer was highly recommended by our waitress, warm potato salad. This was presented with a poached egg, celery peels, amazing little potatoes, creme fraiche, topped off with prosciutto. These flavors came together so very well, it ultimately was one of my favorite things of the evening.

As for mains, my wife decided on 2 appetizers (the duck leg & the truffle risotto). Both were very good, the duck was most memorable as it was perfectly moist and had an excellent crisp on the skin. The risotto was mouth watering too, we had black truffles shaved over the top too.

My main was the 14oz New York steak, which came with about 6 servings of frites and a very tasty blended shallot jelly. The steak was good, not amazing and the overload on frites was absurd. The saving grace was the shallot topping, which was the first time I'd had anything of the sort. Will definitely try this one at home!

The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and fun to be around. Had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back. As for Thomas Keller's restaurants in Yountville, we have officially been to all three, we would rank them as following:

1) French Laundry
2) ad hoc (but this really depends on the daily menu)
3) Bouchon

This ranking simply refers to which ones I'd like to experience again. They are all so different that its not possible to technically rank them against each other.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing great...over-rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I enjoyed all the other restaurants I ate at in the Napa Valley much more than this one. I had the lamb shank and I've had the same flavors at many other restaurants for a lot less money. Not worth the coin. Many other restaurants to choose before this one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely bakery with outdoor tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's a long queue outside the doors of Bouchon Bakery, but it moves fairly quickly! Needless to say their baked pastries, goodies and coffees are all expensive but delicious! We enjoyed our morning pan au chocolate and lattes!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Felt like France.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have always loved Bouchon an been to the one in Vegas quite a few times but the one in Yountville is my new favorite. The atmosphere feels like a bistro in France.

The service was quick, helpful and friendly. I had the pork belly salad and scallops with lobster. We also tried the chicken. All dishes were flavorful and perfectly cooked. Couldn't ask for a better meal!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon Bakery also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bouchon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchon Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.