We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy Restaurant and Bar

Lucy Restaurant and Bar
6528 Yount Street, Yountville, CA
707-204-6030
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Located at Bardessono in Yountville, CA
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top notch service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The place seems a little quiet but a beautiful outdoor courtyard setting. Atmosphere started to pick up and maître di and sommelier were great fun and helpful. We had half portions of halibut, lobster risotto, land and beef. All were incredible and the prices I thought were very reasonable. Sommelier talked us out of a cab to recommend a Pinot at half the price and it blew me away. Great recommendation. Deserts were the out of this world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W, Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Paul Hunt68,

We here at Lucy wanted to send you a quick email thanking you for your kind and warm words about on your recent dinner experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, service and and our team was able to recommend a great bottle of wine.

It was our pleasure in taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Lucy.

Regards,

Ross
Director of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    49
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Food BUT....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Came here for my Birthday lunch. First off, someone was painting the trim over the windows ruling out several attractive tables. This was at 1PM, couldn't they paint at 3?

I ordered the weekly special lunch box consisting of a 2" diameter crab cake sandwich with a few strands of cabbage slaw on it, about 2 teaspoons of corn and tomato salad and about a tablespoon of rhubarb jam with a few grains of granola on top (menu called it a cobbler). The food was presented nicely on a multi-section plate and it was good. However, there was a big greasy thumbprint on the rim of the plate, a definite turnoff. My wife got a salad trio: a nice portion each of curried carrots, greens and beet salad and she loved it. I would say if you have a decent appetite then either have a snack before you go, or better yet head to Bouchon Bakery a block away after.

When the bill came another unpleasant surprise: another big greasy smear on the credit card folder. As we got up we noticed potato chips on the floor of the next table that had been overlooked. I will say they looked delicious!

I'm giving this a 3 out of respect for the chef. The front of the house has a lot of work to do.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W, Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Michael L,

Thank you kindly first and foremost to you and your wife for both providing detailed and insightful feedback and allowing myself to personally apologize. For celebrating such a special occasion the experience should have matched our usual high standards and all here at Lucy are very disappointed at the flaws you encountered; simply unacceptable and they will be addressed accordingly.
The painting was ill timed and we should have stopped as soon as we were seating guests for lunch. We picked a traditionally slower day of the week and in future we will look more carefully at scheduling this work.
Thank you again for your understanding in our conversation yesterday and allowing us the opportunity to invite you and your wife back to lunch on us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Ross
Director of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Well, Not Perfect But Quite Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went for my husband's birthday lunch. He got the special lunchbox which sounded outstanding. Tasted fine but the portion sizes were really, really small! I got the amazing trio of salads. They were awesome with the carrot salad done with a curry flavoring simply divine! Service was fine, and yes, the bathroom is unique:). But, some slip-ups...people behind us had spilled potato chips which remained on the floor...they looked great...just shouldn't have remained on the floor and under their table. Also, the holder for the check was all greasy. Yuck. Again, my salads and the bread were great! We did then go to Bouchon Bakery for dessert for my hungry husband:).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W, Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Joan88,

Thank you for your candid and honest feedback regarding your recent lunch here at Lucy. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food selections but naturally disappointed to see our short comings in your experience. Dirty plates and check presenters are inexcusable as is dirty floors; we pride out selves on "every square inch" and we performed poorly in this respect; an excellent chance for us to reassess and coach our team accordingly.
The Lucy Lunch Box is designed on purpose to be a smaller, lighter style lunch using 4 dishes combined in bento style presentation to provide a quick and affordable dining option and is thus portioned accordingly; our apologies if this was not suitably explained enough.
We do hope you return again with your husband and allow us to redeem ourselves; please contact myself personally so I may arrange the details.

Regards,

Ross
Director of F&B
Direct tel: 707 204 6037
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brunch with my family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have reservation today for brunch we came in 30mins early and got to pick where to sit down. Great ambiance, pleasant services and great food/menu. Love it... out side sitting is awesome.... I ordered half shells oyters and chicken tasty and delicious with a glass of mimosa. Definitely coming back with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W, Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Julylovepm

We here at Lucy wanted to send you a quick email thanking you for your kind and warm words about on your recent brunch experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. It was great to hear you particularly enjoyed the oysters and chicken dishes.

It was our pleasure in taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Lucy.

Regards,

Ross
Director of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“excellent restaurant , and priced surprisingly reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

great service and great food. My wife and i stopped in after 9:30 pm and were treated as if we were the first guest to arrive. we highly recommend !!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W, Manager at Lucy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear mg212121

We really appreciate your nice comments about your recent dinner experience here at Lucy. It was great to hear.

We're glad you had a great time and enjoyed the food, service and ambiance.

Warmest regards from all of us at Lucy.

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Lucy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.