We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, friendly and upscale at the same time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redd Wood

Redd Wood
6755 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 299-5030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Redd Wood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Madison
California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Casual, friendly and upscale at the same time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had an early dinner here and could see why this place is popular. The menu has imaginative choices and goes beyond the usual items. It has a couple of outdoor areas which would be lovely when the weather is warmer. Give it a try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    150
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Evening Out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our reserved table was waiting when we arrived....recommendations for wine were great. Server helpful but clearly stretched between to many tables. Restaurant very busy. Spring salad tasty, light and very fresh...pizza light and yet full of fresh flavors...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pure taste with good raw material”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A rich menue with well done food.
Excellent selection on wine. Nice ambiance.
All 6 guests were happy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OMG! Great Burger.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I originally tried to eat here back in March. Unfortunately, I was forgotten. I had heard such good things about it and when next door with clients at Beau Vigne and Oscar. I would be driven crazy by the Yummy Smells, coming out of Redd Wood.

I waited for another opportunity. My 56th birthday. Today! I am glad I gave them another shot.

I was 1st or 2nd table maybe seated inside for lunch time today. All others were outside eating.

All the wait staff were at the ready. Greeted by 2 loving young ladies upon entering. Given a choice to pick where to sit and sat in the corner on the wooden bench. I like watching people. lol

Was told of the Specials after I had made my choice of Minestrone Soup and Spinach Spaghettini Carbonara. Sounded yummy to me.

Opps. One Special was: A Hamburger with Fontina Cheese and Caramelized Onions, on a fresh made Potato Bun with Garlic Fries and Salad Greens.

Minestrone was very fresh and was most delicious, nicely seasoned.

The Burger done almost perfect. I wanted a tad more pink meat. It was an Elbows Up Burger.

OMG. Quite possible the best burger I have ever had in my life. As well it should be at $15.

I have paid more for burgers trapped at a hotel restaurant. Gone away wishing there was a fast food joint next door instead. Not with this burger. I will come back and have it again. As I do not mind paying for things I find worthy of the payment wanted.

Now Redd Wood's Staff was a bit hard to get to come back after the food was served. I did choose to sit in the corner out of direct view. We are human and no one or anything we do is ever perfect. But this was close and a very birthday good lunch, after a great morning at Hill Family Estate's Tasting Salon.

Thank You,
The Napa Sonoma Wine Tasting Driver

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Dessert Fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Northblock hotel so Redd Wood was literally in the courtyard. We ended up there after the wine tours both nights. Dessert was really good! I would reco the cannolis & the ice cream, yum!

Breakfast was good too. The sandwiches are big and were tasty. The yogurt was a great healthy start to a full day of drinking. :)

Service, ugh a bit snobby. Again just like the North Block. But the food was good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redd Wood also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Redd Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redd Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.