We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in the Napa area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yountville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Yountville to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Yountville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6462 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Relaxing Spa Package
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Yountville
Boca Raton, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in the Napa area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Yountville for 4 nights. The entire hotel, including the grounds, were in perfect condition. The architecture and interior design were among the best I've seen in a property like this, creating a relaxed and casual, yet upscale, environment.

From the minute we arrived, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. It was unusually rainy while we were there, so we got to know Cory and Shannon, the hotel's bartenders at the small lobby bar, quite well! Their insight into the Napa region and their warm hospitality made us feel like we were with old friends.

This hotel was so good, I won't even look for another the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YountVille_MNGT, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about both Shannon and Cory. Delighted they were able to entertain you as well as provide you insight into all the things to do in the Napa Valley. Our staff takes great pride in providing the highest level of customer service.

We do look forward to your next visit back to the Hotel Yountville and the Napa Valley.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    116
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
45
312
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If I were rating the beauty of the property/rooms/spa this would be 5 stars, but there were just too many problems. The worst was when I was checking out (with a bill of over $2000+) I was asked about my stay and when I gave an honest answer the man behind the desk started to argue with me! I told him that I thought it was awful to hear the leaf blower outside for 40 minutes everyday, and after 2 days of tolerating it we asked the guy to stop using it, he did and as soon as we shut our door he went right back to it. It's fall and people often talk about the beautiful colors in Napa, they expect leaves!
The website room size is misleading (they are not as big as they look in the photos) and I can't help but wonder if I paid for a bigger room than I got. I was told when I booked that the roll-away bed would be against the wall and we'd barely notice it (there weren't any queen doubles left). The bed was smack in the middle of the room and we had to constantly walk around it.
I used to read reviews about people complaining about the beds and I'd think, come on... but all of us had back pain by the time we left and I now know what it is to sleep in a cheap bed.
We could hear the people above and next to us loudly. Showering, walking, talking..
And the bikes, OH my gosh! They were kid size frames (I'm 5'5) and eventually we just had to laugh because somebody always ended up with the clown bike. This is not a 'kid' hotel, so why the hokey bikes? We tried to work with the hotel about getting the bigger frames but no luck. We had planned on sightseeing by bike but they were barely functional enough to get to town and back.
Room service... I think we paid $15 for what was supposed to be a cheese/mushroom sandwich but it was 3 tiny finger sandwiches. They add gratuity and a $3.50 delivery charge. Total rip off.
Nothing comes with the overpriced rooms. No breakfast, nothing special to make you feel like paying $500+ a room is worth it.
And the bath products were cheap and awful. Over perfumed crap. (Which makes no sense based on the price of the room and the nice products sold at the spa.) Upscale hotels these days stock L'occitane etc... for $500+ a night.
So my advice would be spa at Hotel Yountville and stay elsewhere.
I expect a lame response (if any) from management, seeing as they chose to argue rather than apologize for the things I mention when checking out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay. We take all reviews seriously and have met with our management team to address your comments. As a result, we have made some changes to our operation. Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at Hotel Yountville....From the moment we were greeted by Ephran, the bell captain and the warm welcome at the front desk, we knew this was a very special place. The room was absolutely beautiful down to the last detail... We had a room facing the creek and it was peaceful and quiet... very comfy bed! We had a delicious breakfast and appetizers at Hoppers Creek Kitchen on site... fantastic food and beautiful atmosphere. There are several restaurants in Yountville that are wonderful... highly recommend Bistro Jeanty and Bouchon for french food.... best french onion soup ever! I only have one complaint... that my husband and I had to leave! We can't wait to come back and enjoy this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the creek are private and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
So glad you chose to stay at the Hotel Yountville on your recent visit to the wine country. Delighted to learn our staff was able to meet your needs and to provide you a memorable experience.

We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. The service is absolutely amazing. All the staff was lovely, specially Crystal. She gave us the best advice on wine tastings and restaurants. She made sure that everything worked out as we requested.
The rooms are very spacious as well as perfectly decorated.
We will not hesitate to come back. It was a great experience and would encourage anybody who goes to Yountville to stay there.
In short, we left very pleased and very happy about our experience at Hotel Yountville.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback on both the hotel and our dedicated staff. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C. Suburbs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

3 couples traveling together stayed 3 nights in Hotel Yountville in November. We loved the rooms. Very cozy, comfortable and (the wives thought) romantic (always a good thing!). Walking distance into the town plus they have comp bicycles if you care to explore that way. Great service all around and the food in the on-site restaurant was excellent for breakfast. Nice outdoor seating area off lobby and very quaint in general. The only slight disappointment was the spa. Don't come here if you are coming for the spa. The Acqua Spa is a serviceable spot. While the pool area is very nice, the spa treatments were just okay. Overall that didn't matter much to us because the rest of the experience was spot-on. PS: No on-site exercise facility didn't know until stay was over they have a coop with a facility down the street.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms may have a bit more road noise than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback on your experience at Spa AcQua and with your feedback will continue to improve our service and treatments.

While we do not have a fitness center on property we do in fact provide our guest with access complimentary to a fitness center walking distance to the hotel in downtown Yountville.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a lovely place. However there is something wrong with a hotel management that thinks that Rm #502 is suitable for guests. One window faces directly on to a public lounge area with a fireplace, where people gather day and night. The second window faces the path where all guests must walk to get to their rooms and to the pool, spa and restaurant. I stayed with my curtains fully closed at all times. Any reasonable management, especially at a luxury resort, would realize that #502 can only be used as an administrative office. The whole place seems to be run only by youngsters. To escape my fish-bowl room I decided to relax by the pool. There were two unsupervised boys in the pool who were playing by trying to drown each other, for several hours. No one asked them to stop. There were two wine-soaked couples who were having political debates, yelling across the pool. I asked a staff member for ear plugs; he didnt seem to understand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We do apologize that you did not have the stay you were hoping for when you selected Hotel Yountville for your Napa Valley getaway.

We take note of all of our guest comments both positive and negative and meet with our staff to review them to make sure we provide the level of service our guests are seeking as well as the accommodations they desire.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Yountville over Columbus Day weekend - and have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place. We were warmly greeted by the bellman and well taken care of at the front desk. The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout with an elegant but casual style. We enjoyed a second floor room in what I believe may be the original part of the inn - room was spacious with a vaulted ceiling. Bathroom was large and very updated. The best part of this hotel is that it has a central location within walking distance of everything - yet when you're within the confines of the property, there is plenty of lovely space - both outside and within the hotel and its courtyards - to sit and relax and enjoy the gorgeous weather. ALL, and I mean, ALL staff members were excellent - awesome bellman, very friendly bartender, helpful front desk, great waitstaff in the restaurant (breakfast was excellent) - a very great vibe. Hotel offered some interesting and complimentary wine tours as well as bicycles to use to get around town. The pool facility was gorgeous - both by day and by night. Despite an extremely busy weekend and a full house, we never felt crowded or impinged upon in any way. Some may criticize the hotel for lack of fitness facilities, but you do get access to an excellent facility up the street in Yountville - an easy and lovely early morning walk. I actually liked having the facility offsite as it afforded the opportunity to meet more local people and provided a more interesting insight into the local community. Hotel Yountville didn't come cheap - particularly on a peak holiday weekend - but I have to say I felt that it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for all the positive feedback on our great staff and your breakfast at the Hopper Creek Kitchen. The staff truly enjoys providing our guests what they are seeking in regard to service and amenities. As noted while we do not have a fitness center on site we do provide a great pool for swimming and complimentary bikes to tour town and the vineyards.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Napa Valley.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Yountville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yountville

Address: 6462 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Yountville 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yountville has carefully curated the best of Tuscany, Provence and the Napa Valley, by capturing the essence of what it is to experience a truly memorable, romantic and exciting destination resort and spa. Surrounded by miles of vineyards, breathtaking scenery, and the most brilliant stars in the wine and food universe, there is little doubt that your stay at Hotel Yountville will exceed your expectations in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Yountville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yountville Hotel
Yountville Inn
Hotel Yountville Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yountville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;