We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yountville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Yountville to your Saves list
Hotel Yountville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6462 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
South Dakota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently enjoyed a few nights at the Hotel Yountville on a trip to Napa Valley. We truly enjoyed our stay. I'm not sure about the comments regarding the pretentious front desk because we received nothing but friendly excellent service from those people. At check in they were very welcoming and helped with dinner reservations and had good recommendations for wine tastings. We already had ours set up but the places the recommended we've been to before and enjoyed them so it was nice to know that they were recommending good places. The bell service was great and whisked our bags away to our room with no issues.
One of the benefits of staying here is the absolutely wonderful breakfast option of eating at the Hopper Creek Kitchen. It was just fantastic. Once again our staff was always friendly and efficient. The food was excellent. They have a breakfast risotto that I would highly recommend!
We didn't have time to enjoy the pool but did have some drinks outdoors and by their fireplace just off the main bar. Nice areas to just sit and relax for a little bit while killing time between activities.
We also tried out their spa which was actually a little better than I expected. They don't offer all services (my wife wanted a pedicure but they didn't have that service) but the massage I had was excellent and once again the staff was great. We truly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again and recommend to anyone coming to the area.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor. The vaulted ceilings really makes the room open up and feel more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding the friendly efficient staff at the hotel. It is important to our staff that they meet the high guest service expectations of each and every one of our guests.

Also glad you were able to take advantage of Spa AcQua and get a relaxing massage. As noted we do not currently offer manicures and pedicures. Hopefully someday in the future we can add this to our list of extensive services.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    119
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
359
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The newly remodeled Hotel Yountville is one of my favorite getaways. That is why we've stayed here three times, and we will continue to return at least once a year. The rooms and bathrooms are exceptionally spacious, beautifully appointed, luxurious, and comfortable. While I will agree with reviews characterizing the front desk staff as somewhat pretentious, our brief interaction with them upon check-in and check-out does not deter from our experience. The staff will answer questions, direct you to wineries, etc. Don't be put-off by their demeanor. You won't regret your stay at this beautiful property complete with outdoor lounging areas, gorgeous pool, gourmet restaurant exclusive to guests, pampering spa, and more. Their driver will even chauffeur you within five miles of the property.

Sitting steps away from many of the finest dining experiences in Napa Valley and throughout the world, the Hotel Yountville is an exceptional hotel with an exceptional location!

Choose the Hotel Yountville if you'd like to be welcomed to your room with a bottle of wine, bask in the California sun on a two-person lounger at the pool, dine on outstanding breakfast, snack, and lunch selections, sink into a luxurious four-poster bed, curl up next to your fireplace in a luxurious robe, relax on your private patio/balcony, and walk to fine dining and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
So glad to have you as a guest three times already. We look forward to your upcoming 4th visit!

Also thank you for your comments regarding our front desk staff. They work very hard to provide the best guest experience to each and every guest while providing great insight to the abundant activities available throughout the Napa Valley.

Best regards,


Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Yountville as the second stage of a five-hotel tour from San Fransisco to Los Angeles and it was a fantastic experience.

The staff were welcoming and the rooms are extemely comfortable with lots of toiletries, huge beds and a lovely gas-fuelled log fire (we put that on just because it was there, not because we really needed it!). The bathroom was spectacular and the Koller chocolates at turndown service provided a perfect end to the day.

The hotel has working partnerships with many of the wineries in the area, so we were able to take the Robert Mondavi tour at no charge. Rutherford Hills staged a wine-tasting on the second night.

The outdoor seating areas are really beautifully designed, for privacy (the hotel is just off the main road, but is well hidden from passing traffic) and real aesthetic appeal. We used the very lovely heated pool every morning which was just big enough for two of us to lane swim.

The stated capacity on the pool safety notice says it holds 37, but we think that'd be if everyone stood next to each other.

A really lovely hotel - thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay. We do have over 30 Winery Partners which provide member benefits to each guest at the hotel. Glad you were able to take advantage of this hotel guest benefit.

While our pool is not the largest in the valley it tends to meet the needs of all of our guests whose varying interests keep them out visiting the wineries, shops and restaurants during different parts of the day.

We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the Napa Valley.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was simply the most outstanding hotel experience we have ever had. We are very well travelled across the world but Hotel Yountville was a class above everything else. From the moment we arrived the experience was magical. Understated elegance sums it up. The rooms are truly amazing ranging from the quality of the sheets to the space and balcony. The touch of having a quality bottle of Pinot noir and cheese on arrival was fab. The pool and surroundings are such a relaxed atmosphere but not pretentious, simply quality. The staff are fantastic and the provision of a limo to take you to and from local restaurants was a bonus. Our two teenage daughters were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the free bikes and cycled into Yountville every day. I would not however recommend this hotel to families with young children under 10 only because they may feel uncomfortable. Yountville itself is the most beautiful and picturesque town in the valley. The restaurants are amazing and in particular La Bottega and Boucheron are fab. Finally the wine tasting cellars in the town are also a great way to find out about Napa wine. I would have no hesitation in returning. Sandy and Lesley

Room Tip: Reserve a room in the small lodges up the stairs near the hotel. Rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
So glad we were able to meet all of your family's travel needs on your recent trip to the Napa Valley. Thanks for the kind words about the hotel and all of our services. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Yountville for 2 nights on the 2nd stop of a California Road Trip. Over 8 hotels/places we visited this was by far and away the highlight of the road trip. From the friendliness and reception we received at check in - we got a map of the town, restaurant and winery recommendations. The room was beautiful, we stayed in a deluxe king on the ground floor. French Doors opening onto the large terrace which was private, had 2 chairs and 2 loungers. Large luxury bathroom, with beautiful large bathtub. Free coffee maker in room. Lovely fireplace in room, but weather was so good we had no need to use. Only downside of the room was that it was ground floor, and the terrace was surrounded by trees so it was very gloomy and needed lights on at all times. Pool was amazing, lovely big day beds for lounging, pool bar service, nice comfy seating area, perfect for sundowner drinks by the large firepit. Nice wines and cocktails available. The service from the girls in the pool bar was fantastic, always friendly and smiling. Had breakfast in the Hopper Creek kitchen noth mornings - was very good food, esp the banana french toast. To be honest, the portions were fairly small for the price - certainly not living up to the American reputation for large portions. That suited me. Didn't use the main bar in the evening as jet lag was getting to me so struggled to stay up most evenings. Yountville itself was beautiful with lovely restuarants, all withing walking distance from the hotel - was very impressed. All in all, I would 100% recommend Hotel Yountville to anyone - I just hope one day I can come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the friendly service you receive from our hotel staff. We are delighted we were able to make your stay in the Napa Valley so enjoyable. We do look forward to having you back at the hotel upon your next visit to the U.S. and the Napa Valley.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

How can I describe this hotel without sounding gushy? Whomever designed this Hotel has certainly stayed in great hotels and knows what counts to be one of the top hotels in Napa and elsewhere! I booked a one bedroom suite and stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed much longer here. The room was absolutely beautiful with high ceilings, two fireplaces (one in bedroom and livingroom), very large bathroom, nice size livingroom and the bedroom was so romantic. Coffee maker, large porch with two lounge chairs plus two regular padded chairs,large tv's in livingroom and bedroom. The bath was enormous with big shower, big soaking tub, two vanities, separate toilet area, plenty of towels and decor was beautiful. It was a home away from home; cozy and romantic. The diningroom only serves breakfast and lunch and doesn't compete with the other zillion restaurants in Napa. The breakfast is unconventional if you like that but the room service was good delivered in a big basket. It's just a really nice upscale hotel that should win awards. Congratulation to the owner and designer of this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Any room you pick is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for all the great compliments on the design of the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed all of the nice touches in both the guest room and in the public spaces. We look forward to having you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great hotel, lovely big and tastefully designed room, with fireplace and a great bed. Bathroom is awesome, huge but intImate at the same time, fantastic large shower and bath. Pool is very well done, and service is good. Agree with the comments re breakfast though - nice, but very expensive for what it is. Hotel is in a great location, and Yountville is wonderful small town. Would definitely recommend as a base for Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2002, General Manager at Hotel Yountville, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We look forward to having you back as our guest as well as your recommendation to your friends and family.

Best regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Yountville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yountville

Address: 6462 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#2 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Yountville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yountville has carefully curated the best of Tuscany, Provence and the Napa Valley, by capturing the essence of what it is to experience a truly memorable, romantic and exciting destination resort and spa. Surrounded by miles of vineyards, breathtaking scenery, and the most brilliant stars in the wine and food universe, there is little doubt that your stay at Hotel Yountville will exceed your expectations in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Yountville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yountville Hotel
Yountville Inn
Hotel Yountville Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yountville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.