We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goosecross Cellars

Goosecross Cellars
1119 State Lane, Yountville, CA 94599
707-944-1986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1985, Goosecross is a winery and vineyard owned by Christi Coors Ficeli and her family. Located in Yountville, Goosecross is known for producing high quality wines and providing excellent customer service. They stay focused on the basics – sustainable farming with attention, care and diligence in the cellar. Their wines are only available through the winery, 100% direct to consumer. A visit to Goosecross’ wine tasting room in Yountville will delight you with its casual, friendly atmosphere and outstanding hospitality. The winery tasting room is the place to taste, experiment, and learn in a laid-back beautiful space, and in the company of knowledgeable hosts who are passionate about wine.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Goosecross was the first stop on our first Napa trip. The staff was extremely friendly and fun to be around. We were able to sit outside and they brought our tastings to us. The wine was very good. It was a great start to the day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Guest Relations Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Goosecross and it sounds like we started you off on a good note. We hope your trip to Napa was fabulous! Thank you for your terrific review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    13
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit to Goosecross. It's a casual setting and the staff were very nice and pleasant. We enjoyed all of their wines, but loved their reds. They had some great cabs!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Guest Relations Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Goosecross, it makes our day to read such positive reviews, so thank you for posting on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Make Goosecross your #1 wine stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were in Napa for a culinary class but a friend noticed my FB postings and suggested we visit Goosecross. We had the most wonderful experience. The wines we tasted with Jose were incredible. But beyond the great tasting wines the warmth and friendliness that emanates from the entire staff will make your visit here a memorable highlight. This is a family winery a little off the beaten path of Hwy 29 but not at all difficult to find and so special. And once you're home - well maybe even before you visit you may want to check out their website. Proprietor, Colleen has put together a huge collection of very recipes and (naturally) the wine pairings. I consider myself a pretty good cook and I can't wait to try some of her dishes. The fact that she has actually tested them make me even more eager.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for all the fantastic things you said about your visit to Goosecross! We had a great time chatting with you in the tasting room that day. I very much appreciate you getting the word out about my recipes paired with Goosecross wines. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A terrific wine experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were on the Platypus Tour and they stopped at Goosecross. So glad they did! We learned so much from Jose in a great conversational way. He was extremely helpful, funny, and knowledgeable. We could have stayed all day! White wines were very good and their Cabs were exceptional! If you only have time for two or three wine tastings, this is a must. We will be back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Guest Relations Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Wow, a fantastic review - thank you! Come on back any time, you're always welcome at Goosecross. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A definite must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stumbled onto this place through a recommendation. Note: when it is busy season, they do require an appointment for tasting. They received us with open arms – the wine is very adventurous but the real star of goosecross are the employees. Ask for Jose, he knows his stuff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Guest Relations Manager at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We very much appreciate your terrific review about visit to Goosecross and Jose. We're happy to hear you had a great time. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goosecross Cellars also viewed

 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Goosecross Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goosecross Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.