We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Spend the Day in Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goosecross Cellars

Goosecross Cellars
1119 State Lane, Yountville, CA 94599
707-944-1986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Activities in Yountville
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Leisure education, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1985, Goosecross is a winery and vineyard owned by Christi Coors Ficeli and her family. Located in Yountville, Goosecross is known for producing high quality wines and providing excellent customer service. They stay focused on the basics – sustainable farming with attention, care and diligence in the cellar. Their wines are only available through the winery, 100% direct to consumer. A visit to Goosecross’ wine tasting room in Yountville will delight you with its casual, friendly atmosphere and outstanding hospitality. The winery tasting room is the place to taste, experiment, and learn in a laid-back beautiful space, and in the company of knowledgeable hosts who are passionate about wine.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend the Day in Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've come to the Napa/Sonoma area a few times in the past year and travel to vineyards across the country a lot. Goosecross produces great wine in a boutique vineyard (8 acres or so?) and the owners are incredibly nice people. There's a small tasting room and plenty of seating outside (covered or in the shade) if the tasting room is too packed (it's a popular destination). Really enjoyed our visit and we brought home some delicious 2010 Orange Muscat, 2010 Napa Valley “Oak Knoll” Viognier, and Goosecross’s Napa Valley Pinot Noir.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks Brian for the terrific review! For someone who lives so far away in New York, you get to come visit Napa often and it sounds like you have visited a good number of wineries. We have 9.5 acres planted with 4 different red varietals on our property, so the white wines you bought were made from grapes that we purchased from other local growers. We produce 9,000 cases a year and all our wines are sold consumer-direct. Thank you for supporting our family winery, we all appreciate it very much. Enjoy the beautiful fall weather while sipping on Goosecross wines. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Napa Valley charm in a tasting room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This small, family owned winery, makes a good showing with a variety of tasty wines and a cozy tasting room.

Besides a few bottles to take home we also found some fun souvenirs and knick knacks.

A very nice stop not far from downtown Yountville.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Wonderful review, thanks so much! You're right about us being close to downtown Yountville, so close in fact that it's quick and easy to be able to see a real working winery and the natural beauty of the vines and mountains. Enjoy the wines and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely wine and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our second time at Goosecross and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time several years ago. We stopped here on our bike tour (Napa Valley Bike Tours) and had a great tasting. Lovely property and fantastic wine. One of our favorites in the valley.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
It's always good to get in some exercise while wine tasting and we like our Napa Valley Bike Tour fans! Thank you for your excellent review of Goosecross, I think your post pretty much says it all and makes us so proud. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun tasting, welcoming people, good wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We called at the last minute to come and they were so nice. It was fun, jessi took amazing care of us and we were there two hours lol

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We're glad you chose Goosecross to come visit out of all the other wineries in Napa. Jessy likes to make our wine tastings fun and educational, so it's great you were able to stay and enjoy the afternoon in our tasting room. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Best Chenin Blanc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were on a quest for sweet wines. This winery has a small tasting room packed with friendliness and a great semi-sweet Chenin Blanc. It was perhaps the best Chenin Blanc I found in both the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Whatever your tastes, I think you will like this stop.

This was also in a nice location as we drove up Silverado Trail, then stopped here on our way to over to get lunch in Yountville.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goosey2Yountville, Owner at Goosecross Cellars, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We're so happy you like our Chenin Blanc! Thank you for the super review, and it's especially meaningful since you are a seasoned Trip Advisor contributor and it looks like you travel a lot. ;-) Thanks again and we hope you'll visit again one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goosecross Cellars also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Goosecross Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goosecross Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.