We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, romantic, charming...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599 (Formerly Hotel Luca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop the Block Package
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic, charming...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staying at the North Block is reminiscent to staying in a little village in Italy. The rooms here are beautiful, elegant, pristine, and charming. The beds are very, very comfortable. It won't be long before you feel as if you are visiting old friends.

The courtyard is quaint and landscaped beautifully to create a welcoming area. One of the nicest things about North Block Hotel is that you always feel welcomed and at 'home'. I love the staff that checks you in; they are welcoming, polite, knowledgeable, accommodating and delightful. The restaurant staff was also well trained. Housekeeping would also have our kudos, except that my husbands cufflinks 'disappeared'. We had 'fallen in love' with Napa, North Block and the staff and it was a moment of feeling too comfortable and safe. Fortunately, everything else of value was in the safe. We are seasoned travelers. We should know better. It wasn't as if it was left out on top of the dresser, but we failed to put it in the safe.

So go to Napa and really, we recommend that you stay at the North Block Hotel, but don't get so swept off your feet that you let your travel guard down.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a 'bad' room at the North Block Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us & so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
My staff was devastated when they heard about the missing cufflinks - hopefully they have turned up. Would you please call me at your convenience so I can get a bit more information?
My best,
Ty Accornero
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    32
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
153
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

If you're traveling to the Napa area, you will not find a better place to stay. We loved the feel of North Block as soon as we arrived. This small intimate boutique hotel comes with excellent customer service and lots of amenities. The staff was very helpful with bookings restaurants and wine tastings. Our room had a private fireplace, private balcony and large modern bathroom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

North Block's old world charm is comforting and creates a cozy feeling in the nicely appointed outdoor areas while offering modern amenities. They attend to every detail, the staff is knowledgeable and helpful. I loved the courtyard area with beautiful succulent gardens and enjoyed sipping wine by the pool. I certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just stayed there for 6 days and this place is amazing. They treat you like family. The front desk was very helpful with setting up tours and pickups from airport using Jarrar Tours while also making sure the trolley was waiting for us. The hotel is right in town. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The spa in the hotel was great. This botique hotel has all the ammenities of a large hotel chain but service is much better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This charming hotel is quite a find. Our room was lovely - gas fireplace, large modern bathroom with shower and great tub - comfy bed and a little balcony overlooking the pool. The staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful with suggestions of things to see and places to dine. The courtyard was well landscaped with small trees, flowers and a old world looking fountain. The best part was that if we didn't want to drive anywhere the in house restaurant was wonderful. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are much quieter. Our friends were downstairs from us and said they could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the North Block for 2 nights on early June. We were in an upstairs deluxe king room with a fireplace- unnecessary at that time of year. While the room was not huge it was very nice. Rooms are off of a central courtyard with fountain, trees and succulent gardens..very nice landscaping. Our room was on the second floor and was quite quiet. There was a small balcony with just enough room for two chairs and a small table. Bathroom was large enough and very nice. Staff was great- very accommodating. There us a lovely pool on site that did not seem to get much use as everyone heads out for wine tasting. Minimal room service available and no easy poolside service. Minor issues. The location in Yountville is excellent. Any number of restaurants and cafés are within easy walking distance. Free newspapers and excellent coffee available in lobby in the morning. Overall a very nice unpretentious smaller hotel. We were very pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First, as a bit of general advice, if planning a Napa trip, you cannot pick a better location than Yountville. Aside from the superb North Block, there are several great places to stay and they are all stumbling distance from some of the best restaurants in the valley and close to many can't miss wineries. Yountville Chamber of Commerce pitch aside, on to North Block...

A quick view of the web site shows the beatiful rooms and lay out of this intimate property. The property is small (30 units?), but has very nice amenities you'd find at a larger luxury property. There is an attractive, mellow pool area, which is great for post tasting rejuvination. There is a fitness room to help a bit with the big wine/food consumption guilt, but don't expect much beyond a few dumbells and treadmills. Aside from the lovely rooms, the unique feature of the property is the interior courtyard, containing a pleasant amount of activity, fountains, and the patio area for the connected Redd Wood bar/restaurant. Definitely make time to dine, snack, or just have a coctail at Redd Wood. There are separate reviews of the restaurant, so I'll simply say their pizzas are amazing and, for a perfect pre wine tasting base, you'll love their breakfast sandwich and ricotta pancakes.

The rooms at NB are very nice and befitting the price. We stayed in one of their more basic rooms, which was perfect for us. The furnishing are attractive, the bed is super comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious with a huge tub, dual sinks, rain shower, and excellent amenities. We had limited interaction with the service personnel, but it was all friendly and professional. The only mild drawback of our room was that it was somewhat smaller than other Youtville properties. The balcony was also too small for much use. It wasn't a problem for us and didn't detract from a making NB a great choice.

In truth, there are several great choices in Yountville, including Hotel Yountville, Bardessano, Villagio, Harvest Inn, and certainly North Block. They all have unique features, and none are inexpensive, but they all serve as superb, splurge worthy places to stay in the best food and winery launching spot in the valley. North Block is a great addition fo the scene and holds up well to the best of them. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a more quite room, ask for one further from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599 (Formerly Hotel Luca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Block Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.