We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a great time in Napa valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Escape Package
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Yountville
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a great time in Napa valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

NOrth Block hotel was a great spot for our day in Napa valley. We had not visited before and found ourselves really enjoying the whole area! When we reached the hotel we were tired and needed a rest before a late dinner - the hotel wildly exceeded my expectations! very comfortable, roomy, and modern, a=with a beautiful courtyard - outdoor fireplace and all, and lovely sitting areas both private and public at the hotel. I wish we had more time to really enjoy the hotel, and I do not say that often.

I highly recommend this as a base camp for Napa valley or for a spot to just get away form it all for a few days. Walking distance for many wonderful restaurants too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    30
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
143
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm pregnant with just a month to go. Limited by this, we decided on a quick 2 night "babymoon" close to home. Our preference for modern decor lead us to either North Block Hotel or Bardesonno. We regrettably opted for North Block Hotel because of the Sip and Savor deal advertised on the tripadvisor website. What I didn't know at the time but would have readily accepted if someone clearly explained to me from the beginning was that the deal was only redeemable if reservations were booked directly through the hotel (since they charge you more per night to cover the cost of the deal). The advertisement notes to call in to redeem but it doesn't clarify who to call. We booked our reservations through hotels.com the week before arrival and immediately called the hotel directly to inquire about how to redeem the deal. The person I spoke with didn't know anything about the deal even though I named it specifically and said I saw it on tripadvisor. She told me I had to call tripadvisor and I expressed hesitation since there isn't a number for them and it seemed to me that the appropriate step was to call the hotel. I ended up calling hotels.com but they also were unfamiliar with the deal and advised me to call the hotel. Wanting to minimize my stress level, I decided to inquire about it in person at the front desk when we arrived. Upon arrival I did ask again and was told I had to call Expedia (apparently hotels.com booked though Expedia). I spent half an hour in my room calling hotels.com again who was of no help but claimed they would email the hotel on my behalf. I advised the front desk of this but they never received an email. I made one more attempt at asking the front desk for assistance and mentioned that I didn't even care for the entire package deal but hoped that we could work something out to get the spa gift certificate or something comparable so that I could get a maternity massage. The girl this time was familiar with the deal and understanding of our frustration but her hands were tied so she brought out her supervisor. The supervisor was no help at all. Rather than acknowledge her staff's contribution to our confusion she asked how much we paid through hotels.com and ultimately resolved that the best thing we could do was reserve a treatment a la carte and pay full price. Sure, of course we could pay that if we really wanted the massage but more important to us was the principal that we were misguided and therefore missed the opportunity to redeem the deal. We travel a lot and have never met a manager who failed to make some sort of attempt at accommodating for an inconvenience. Especially when you are paying almost $500 a night, you would expect more. Even if she could not honor the full $200 gift certificate, she didn't try to offer a minimal discount of any sort during our stay. I have no desire to return later as she suggested because I will no longer be pregnant and will have missed that window. It's a good thing we live in the bay area. We would have been sourly disappointed if we had flown in from somewhere further. Fine dining and excellent service at the restaurants within walking distance were our only saving grace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Gardelyn,
Since we always strive to provide exceptional service, I was disappointed to hear your babymoon was not as enjoyable as you had hoped.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the confusion in booking the package.
We always suggest booking directly through the hotel and selecting the package at that time.
With that said, I strongly agree that our entire team should always be aware of all of the offers we have available, and we will certainly make sure everyone is informed so that this situation is avoided in the future. Again, please accept my sincerest apologies.
Please contact me directly if you get a chance to return - if not overnight, perhaps a day trip with a mom's massage?
My best,
Ty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The best location if you are interested in Fine Dining. Walking distance to all the best restaurants, Bottega, Bouchon, Ad Hoc, Redd, French Laundry... Go to the wine store in the Marketplace next to Bottega. Great outdoor area for a glass of wine and friendly service. They even will open your bottle of champagne with a machiti! Fun video op!

Overall the hotel was beautiful. The courtyard area was a perfect spot to sit and have a glass of wine at night in front of the fireplace. The Redd Wood restaurant is literally in the hotel and they have great food.

Only reason for taking a star away is because we felt they were a bit snobby... We are in our late 20's and felt the average age was a bit older and because we were young we got a little attitude from the restaurant & hotel for being loud. It was pretty early too and the boys we were with got kicked out of the courtyard a few times... Of course they were being loud but for the price we paid they could have been a bit nicer & more understanding. I mean hello it's Napa and people drink wine all day. You kind of have to expect some rowdy hotel guests in your courtyard...

but besides that the hotel and hotel room were very nice. It is a place I would take my Mom, not my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the North block Hotel for 3 nights in late March. I had tried to book online and it came up fully booked, I gave them a call and they were able to move things around and accommodate us. We got a premium king with fireplace on the 2nd floor. My recommendation is the upper floor as the ground level patios are right in the common hotel areas with limited privacy. The room was a good size, nice flat screen, gas fireplace that gives out some decent heat. The bathroom is great, good size, double sinks, separate shower and bath tub. I loved the heated bathroom floors that other reviewers have mentioned, not sure if it was just our room, but the heating was a little patchy, there was no heat right under the sinks or the toilet. Not a big deal. They do need to switch toilet paper providers, ouch that tp was way too rough, better stuff in public bathrooms. Other than that no other complaints at all. The front desk was super helpful with wine tasting reservations, she also tried to move one of our dinner reservations. I highly recommend you make all dinner reservations ahead of time, super hard to get into some of these places (we went to Bouchon, Bottega, Jeanty's Bistro and Redd for lunch). Amazing restaurants, we walked down to Bouchon Bakery in the morning and got pastries etc. very fresh, good stuff, longish lines. Another morning we went across the street to Pacific Blues, great sit down breakfast spot. We walked around a few other hotels, had some drinks at Lucy's at the Bardessona (sp?), great place right behind Bouchon, would love to try that next time. I think its a little more expensive but has more rooms than North Block (which has about 20 I think). We did get some food from Redd Wood the pizza place attached to the hotel, and took it back to our room. We got the meat balls and barratta, amazing, would have loved to eat there too, just ran out of nights!

The pool was perfect too, we lucked out and had upper 60's weather and to to lay out both days, its nice as it's protected by high walls, they were playing music on the weekend. I went downstairs to check out the spa and it looked a little like a dungeon and was pretty smallish, so I passed on any treatments. Although I did check them out online and they had a great selection. The hotel is only about a 10 min walk max into town, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this quaint little hotel any time!

Room Tip: Upper rooms have the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I go to Napa once or twice a year and we always stay at the North Block Hotel. We do so for several reasons : Perfect Location, Wonderful staff, food at the attached restaurant , Redd Wood, is very good. Plus I can take my small dog with me. We never consider staying anywhere else. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!!
Charles and Gail Boswell

Room Tip: I have found all rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

In the heart of Napa Valley. Great location with first class amentities. Walk to Bouchon for breakfast and bring it back to your own patio in the beautiful courtyard. You can also walk to several tasting rooms and its only mins from Rt 29 and all that Napa has to offer.

Room Tip: As for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nortre Califonkneeonee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We got the PREMIUM KING with FIREPLACE. Nice gas fireplace, large double doors that open to private patio, luxury bathroom bigger than some cruise ship rooms and bed was great.

From other posts we thought the North Block Hotel was next to Redd but actually next to Redd Wood a Pizzeria of upper class. This Redd Wood only serves breakfast on weekends- so on week days 10 minutes stroll to Pacific Blues Cafe - good breakfast food reasonably priced in an area that makes Switzerland seem inexpensive . The North Bank only had coffee with a buttered biscuit with jam in lobby.

The very private entry is in the Tuscan Italy style. Wood burning fireplace in outside seating area. Nice pool and spa. It is about a 10 minute walk max to shops and such, but you get to pass the French Laundry and a large garden, Highway is nearby (but not next to hotel) as it is for most Washington Street hotels so some traffic noise, but when we shut the double doors it was very quiet. We actually left them open and enjoyed the fresh air.

We used the Redd Wood twice for snacks as we had late dinner reservations both nights, The Calamari with veggies is good and so is the pizza.

Long and short- may go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley’s idyllic town of Yountville; wine country’s most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood, the latest restaurant from acclaimed chef Richard Reddington (of Michelin starred Redd). A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The well-appointed guest rooms are simple and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than a stay at North Block Hotel and a dining experience at Redd Wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Block Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.