We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service - Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Renewal Package
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Yountville
Nortre Califonkneeonee
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Service - Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We got the PREMIUM KING with FIREPLACE. Nice gas fireplace, large double doors that open to private patio, luxury bathroom bigger than some cruise ship rooms and bed was great.

From other posts we thought the North Block Hotel was next to Redd but actually next to Redd Wood a Pizzeria of upper class. This Redd Wood only serves breakfast on weekends- so on week days 10 minutes stroll to Pacific Blues Cafe - good breakfast food reasonably priced in an area that makes Switzerland seem inexpensive . The North Bank only had coffee with a buttered biscuit with jam in lobby.

The very private entry is in the Tuscan Italy style. Wood burning fireplace in outside seating area. Nice pool and spa. It is about a 10 minute walk max to shops and such, but you get to pass the French Laundry and a large garden, Highway is nearby (but not next to hotel) as it is for most Washington Street hotels so some traffic noise, but when we shut the double doors it was very quiet. We actually left them open and enjoyed the fresh air.

We used the Redd Wood twice for snacks as we had late dinner reservations both nights, The Calamari with veggies is good and so is the pizza.

Long and short- may go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
140
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - a group of 7 girls celebrating a stagette trip. We found the rooms clean, modern and well-appointed. The courtyard was incredible both in the day to enjoy some sunshine while drinking a coffee from Bouchon up the street and in the evening with a glass of wine by the fireplace. Excellent location, just a short walk from to all the restaurants. I'm not sure I'd consider staying any where else in Yauntville.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Running away from a massive snowstorm in the NEast I was vulnerable, I admit, but the warmth of the staff at North Block was unexpected and consistent throughout my stay.

As this was my first visit to the area I relied on the direction of everyone at North Block for help; from the best taco truck to the most convenient hikes to a tasting at Ma(i)sonry, all perfect! They never tired of my questions and as I read the NYTimes in front of the fire in the lobby, with Pizmo the hotel's black lab at my side, I knew I was in heaven.

Our room was exceptional; heated bathroom floors, amazing shower and private balcony were the only things that made me want to leave the dreamy bed. I even purchased the North Block soap, shampoo and conditioner (created and produced locally) so I could recall my four days in paradise.

Of all the great hotel options I was very happy to have found North Block and will soon return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved our stay at the North Block!! The property is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge put together a great day of wine tasting that our whole group really enjoyed. The restaurant on site was awesome!!! We loved everything about our stay and hope to return again very soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stopped into the North Block for one night on a brief wine buying road trip through Napa. The Rooms are large and luxurious with super comfortable beds. The coffee machine was great and the bathroom was one of the best bathrooms in a hotel I have come across. They used quality materials throughout with a large rectangular bath, two sinks and a huge shower with a lovely rain shower head. The bath products, especially the lavender shower gel, were heavenly. Location-wise it is in between two car parks... Not pretty when you arrive, but once inside the hotel you forget about the near surroundings. However, the wider location is stunning with rolling vineyards and glorious countryside for miles, not to mention the numerous excellent restaurants in the area. Unfortunately, the famous French Laundry was closed for a private event, but Press was superb and I can highly recommend it. Our favourite vineyard was Clos du Val, one of the largest and most well respected growers and producers in Napa. Lovely to spend an afternoon on their terrace soaking up the sun and sipping on some lovely wines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

beautiful boutique hotel in a beautiful location. the staff were very friendly, and accommodating as well. i had booked our stay on hotels.com, and had booked the more expensive "premium king" room over the "deluxe king" room because the premium was described as having a fireplace. when we checked in - no fireplace. after calling the front desk, found out that only ~some~ of the premium kings have fireplaces. however we were fortunate that there was still a deluxe king with a fireplace available, and they offered to let us look at it first and decide which to take (as those are a little smaller). we went with the deluxe (or "courtyard room", as they are called now) - though slightly smaller, it felt cozy not cramped, and we did really enjoy the fireplace! they were very gracious about us switching rooms (note that this is a small property, not a giant chain hotel, so it's not like there's a ton of extra rooms to choose from). they also apologized about the confusion, but i checked their website and their own description is accurate, just the hotels.com description was misleading. so be sure to also check the hotel's website if you are booking through a third-party.

the bathroom was great -deep tub, separate spacious shower with rainfall shower head, and even a heated floor! there were other thoughtful amenities as well, like two complimentary bottles of water in the fridge, in-room nespresso machine, and cookies with turndown service. very comfy spa-like robes too. the property also has a pool and jacuzzi, though we didn't get to use them on this trip.

if you do stay here, make sure to also stop by the maisonry tasting room which is next door. it's in a gorgeous, stone french-country style building (actually on the national register of historic places!) they do tastings of not only their own wines, but other small wineries, so you can sample a nice cross-section of many different styles. they have a beautiful garden to sit down and enjoy your wine in, and they're open later than most tasting rooms (until 7 PM). the garden has a fire pit and heat lamps to keep you toasty warm in the cooler months.

perfect location for a foodie's getaway - walking distance to all the yountville dining destination spots like french laundry, bouchon, bardessono, and redd. we had dinner in the attached restaurant (redd-wood) and lunch the following day at redd. both restaurants are owned by the same chef, but the food was different at each. redd-wood is more trendy/hip with upscale pizzas and amazing pastas. redd is more californian with a mediterranean and asian influence. both were fantastic, with really good service that was attentive, friendly and not at all pretentious - highly recommend!

Room Tip: courtyard room on the second floor - those on the first floor have patios that open directly to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great stay at the North Block Hotel. Gorgeous small hotel, great beds and a terrific soaker shower. Room were large and immaculate with high quality linens. Will stay here again especially with the convenient location in the heart if Napa wine county.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#5 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley’s idyllic town of Yountville; wine country’s most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood, the latest restaurant from acclaimed chef Richard Reddington (of Michelin starred Redd). A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The well-appointed guest rooms are simple and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than a stay at North Block Hotel and a dining experience at Redd Wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Block Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.