We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Turndown
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved our stay at the North Block!! The property is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge put together a great day of wine tasting that our whole group really enjoyed. The restaurant on site was awesome!!! We loved everything about our stay and hope to return again very soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    31
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
147
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stopped into the North Block for one night on a brief wine buying road trip through Napa. The Rooms are large and luxurious with super comfortable beds. The coffee machine was great and the bathroom was one of the best bathrooms in a hotel I have come across. They used quality materials throughout with a large rectangular bath, two sinks and a huge shower with a lovely rain shower head. The bath products, especially the lavender shower gel, were heavenly. Location-wise it is in between two car parks... Not pretty when you arrive, but once inside the hotel you forget about the near surroundings. However, the wider location is stunning with rolling vineyards and glorious countryside for miles, not to mention the numerous excellent restaurants in the area. Unfortunately, the famous French Laundry was closed for a private event, but Press was superb and I can highly recommend it. Our favourite vineyard was Clos du Val, one of the largest and most well respected growers and producers in Napa. Lovely to spend an afternoon on their terrace soaking up the sun and sipping on some lovely wines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

beautiful boutique hotel in a beautiful location. the staff were very friendly, and accommodating as well. i had booked our stay on hotels.com, and had booked the more expensive "premium king" room over the "deluxe king" room because the premium was described as having a fireplace. when we checked in - no fireplace. after calling the front desk, found out that only ~some~ of the premium kings have fireplaces. however we were fortunate that there was still a deluxe king with a fireplace available, and they offered to let us look at it first and decide which to take (as those are a little smaller). we went with the deluxe (or "courtyard room", as they are called now) - though slightly smaller, it felt cozy not cramped, and we did really enjoy the fireplace! they were very gracious about us switching rooms (note that this is a small property, not a giant chain hotel, so it's not like there's a ton of extra rooms to choose from). they also apologized about the confusion, but i checked their website and their own description is accurate, just the hotels.com description was misleading. so be sure to also check the hotel's website if you are booking through a third-party.

the bathroom was great -deep tub, separate spacious shower with rainfall shower head, and even a heated floor! there were other thoughtful amenities as well, like two complimentary bottles of water in the fridge, in-room nespresso machine, and cookies with turndown service. very comfy spa-like robes too. the property also has a pool and jacuzzi, though we didn't get to use them on this trip.

if you do stay here, make sure to also stop by the maisonry tasting room which is next door. it's in a gorgeous, stone french-country style building (actually on the national register of historic places!) they do tastings of not only their own wines, but other small wineries, so you can sample a nice cross-section of many different styles. they have a beautiful garden to sit down and enjoy your wine in, and they're open later than most tasting rooms (until 7 PM). the garden has a fire pit and heat lamps to keep you toasty warm in the cooler months.

perfect location for a foodie's getaway - walking distance to all the yountville dining destination spots like french laundry, bouchon, bardessono, and redd. we had dinner in the attached restaurant (redd-wood) and lunch the following day at redd. both restaurants are owned by the same chef, but the food was different at each. redd-wood is more trendy/hip with upscale pizzas and amazing pastas. redd is more californian with a mediterranean and asian influence. both were fantastic, with really good service that was attentive, friendly and not at all pretentious - highly recommend!

Room Tip: courtyard room on the second floor - those on the first floor have patios that open directly to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great stay at the North Block Hotel. Gorgeous small hotel, great beds and a terrific soaker shower. Room were large and immaculate with high quality linens. Will stay here again especially with the convenient location in the heart if Napa wine county.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was looking forward to our one night stay here based on the reviews from other TA people. I have to say that my experience was quite different from other reviewers. When you charge $395 for a Sunday night stay in January I have fairly high expectations especially when I have stayed at most other Yountville hotel properties.

The king bed ground floor room was quite small (not NY hotel small - but small for this area). There was only one comfy chair so my husband had nowhere to sit but on the bed. If you don't like expresso, you have to get dressed to go to the lobby to get your coffee in a small paper cup. Really? Not enough space for a real coffee maker? No complimentary newspaper at my door? No, get dressed and walk to the lobby.

The hotel features and amenities are almost readable on the faded, single page found in your room if no other guest used the page to express their innermost thoughts as was found in my
room. Finally the ground floor rooms have a small table and 2 chairs outside the door if you are there in nice weather. Unfortunately, they are sitting almost directly on the central walkway so there is no privacy.

On the good side, the staff seems friendly and the beds are comfortable.
Am I being too critical? No. At this price point in this location you can do better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty A, General Manager at North Block Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Jill,
Thank you for sharing the feedback on your experience at North Block.
Based on your review, it sounds like you stayed in one of our more intimate Deluxe King guestrooms. On your next visit, you'll find our Deluxe King Fireplace and Premium King guestrooms are much more spacious.
Considering my staff and I are always ready and willing to assist with any request, I am sorry to hear you had to visit the lobby for your morning coffee and newspaper.
In the future, I will be sure we do a better job of communicating our willingness to help.
I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for assistance with room reservations and any special requests.
Best regards,
Ty Accornero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the North Block Hotel and had a wonderful time! Our experience was great from beginning to end. When I booked our room with Kelly I was impressed when asked upon arrival if I would like martini or wine? red or white? in our room. When checking in Megan was extremely helpful and had great attention to detail. Our room was fantastic with an extra large tub, fireplace and balcony, just to name a few. The hotel was gorgeous inside and out with patios for the first floor rooms and a romantic courtyard that looked perfect for a summer evening. During our stay we dined at the hotel's restaurant, Redd Wood, which was equally impressive. All in all our stay was fantastic and I would recommend North Block Hotel to anyone, even if they don't ask :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We live in Sonoma County but wanted a quick getaway to Napa. We couldn't have picked a better hotel! I was a tad concerned that the experience wouldn't live up to the room prices. Nothing to worry about there. The courtyard is beautiful, the rooms are gorgeous and comfortable, the staff is top notch and the restaurant has great food, service and atmosphere. We didn't use the beautiful pool or the workout room but plan to on our next stay. We did enjoy the heated bathroom floors, rainfall showe, comfy bed and in room fireplace. I was floored when we walked in with our service dog in training to find that they had a bed, 2 bowls and even a bag of treats all laid out for him. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lower rooms work well for dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley’s idyllic town of Yountville; wine country’s most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood, the latest restaurant from acclaimed chef Richard Reddington (of Michelin starred Redd). A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The well-appointed guest rooms are simple and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than a stay at North Block Hotel and a dining experience at Redd Wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Block Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.