We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable rooms with the best hotel staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Save Saved
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Renewal Package
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Yountville
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super comfortable rooms with the best hotel staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel with the friendliest, most professional staff. We were personally greeted by the manager Ty to make sure that our stay was the best it could be. The room was very comfortable with the perfect amenities. House blend of bathroom products that are delightful and available for purchase in the lobby. Wonderful soaking tub and awesome shower with heated floors in the bathroom make for a spa like experience. Felt very pampered without feeling doted upon which is unique. Super comfy bed with wonderful sheets and pillows. Great location close to some of the best restaurants. The concierge arranged reservations for us at some delicious restaurants and arranged an itinerary of wineries to visit that were some of the best I have been to. The hotel restaurant Redd Wood is beautifully decorated with the perfect amount of chic. The food was amazing as was our server Charlie who described every dish perfectly. It was raining the whole weekend so we were not able to take advantage of our private patio, or the pool. I cannot wait to go back on a warm and sunny weekend to experience all that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
134
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just spent two nights at North Block Hotel playing with friends in the valley. Ty and his staff are perfection! Set up everything for us. Dinner at Reddwood and Bouchon (delicious) and lunch at Cook in St. Helena (casual and yummy). Tastings at Cliff Lede and Cosentino and a private tour and tasting at Keever with the "cutest" ever Mrs. Keever walking us around and telling us the secrets of the family's winemaking. Would not have had this type of "special" experience without the guest services team at the hotel and attention to what we really wanted out of the weekend. . Room was big and comfy. Great night sleep on a super comfy mattress. Yummy, and I mean yummy specially blended aromatherapy bath products a plenty and big soak tub made things even more relaxing. Cool lobby and restaurant design. We will definitely come back, even on the rainiest of weekends as there is much to do and then nothing to do but unwind. Really appreciate the "down to earth" feeling of the staff and manager Ty. Very warm and friendly. As many know some people up in wine country think there just a "little too cool for school." Not the case at North Block and Reddwood and the destinations that they helped us pick out. Thanks again for a great weekend!

Room Tip: small hotels and think all rooms would be good. Only 20 rooms all looking into a courtyard or over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room rate was a little high, but the hotel was very good. The room is quite big, the bathroom is great, the staff was very helpful, helping us booking tasting and restaurants reservations. A couple of friends stay at Yountville Hotel and it seems being at the same level, maybe North Block a little inferior, but nothing to complain! Great location. Breakfast included in our rate was no so great,I think specialy for those americans who enjoy eggs, bacon, buffet breakfast, for us, was good and enough: bread/toast, yogurt, coffe or tea and some fruits. Last but not least, the amenities were a great surprise. If I return to Yountville, North Block should be my choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at North Block Hotel to celebrate our anniversary and we absolutely fell in love with it. The hotel is inspiring, and what we consider a true retreat. The rooms were inviting, complete with a private balcony, large bathroom, signature bath amenities and one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. We relaxed on the comfy couches in front of the large, wood-burning fireplace in the courtyard every evening - and we did not want to leave. North Block's location is killer and its ambience is welcoming. We’ve stayed in a lot of different hotels around the region but I can sincerely say that North Block has officially become our “go-to”.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Didn't believe we'd ever be able to be away from home for a month, but I've found a new home. Everything was great at North Block Hotel. Ty, the manager and staff were excellent as they treated my husband & I as family. They were so attentive to our every needs. Sitting at the fireplace every night and enjoying the fellowship of new friends was also a treat. The food was excellent at Redd Wood restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel. We would highly recommend your stay at this Tuscan Style Hotel. The Nelson's from Texas

Room Tip: The most comfortable bed you'll ever want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the privilege of staying (in most of the rooms) at the North Block Hotel many many times over this past year, and must say that the hotel is a gem in Yountville. Super comfortable beds, luxurious deep bathtubs, many rooms with private balconies, and a top notch restaurant (Redd Wood) next door. The location feels very European, with an open courtyard, fireplace, olive and lemon trees, and a nice pool area. I recommend this hotel to everyone I know who is traveling to napa Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and i were here for three nights, we had one of the larger rooms, spacious, clean and confortable. the hotel is small which is nice, service is great. the restaurant on property Red wood is excellent, has both dinner and lunch at the restaurant. the location is great, close to tons of wineries and restaurants. we like to stay in nicer hotels so if that is your style this is a nice higher end boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94559 (Formerly Hotel Luca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley’s idyllic town of Yountville; wine country’s most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood, the latest restaurant from acclaimed chef Richard Reddington (of Michelin starred Redd). A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The well-appointed guest rooms are simple and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than a stay at North Block Hotel and a dining experience at Redd Wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Block Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.