We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate "go-to" retreat in Yountville...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Block Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Block Hotel to your Saves list
North Block Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599 (Formerly Hotel Luca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop the Block Package
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate "go-to" retreat in Yountville...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at North Block Hotel to celebrate our anniversary and we absolutely fell in love with it. The hotel is inspiring, and what we consider a true retreat. The rooms were inviting, complete with a private balcony, large bathroom, signature bath amenities and one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. We relaxed on the comfy couches in front of the large, wood-burning fireplace in the courtyard every evening - and we did not want to leave. North Block's location is killer and its ambience is welcoming. We’ve stayed in a lot of different hotels around the region but I can sincerely say that North Block has officially become our “go-to”.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    32
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
153
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Didn't believe we'd ever be able to be away from home for a month, but I've found a new home. Everything was great at North Block Hotel. Ty, the manager and staff were excellent as they treated my husband & I as family. They were so attentive to our every needs. Sitting at the fireplace every night and enjoying the fellowship of new friends was also a treat. The food was excellent at Redd Wood restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel. We would highly recommend your stay at this Tuscan Style Hotel. The Nelson's from Texas

Room Tip: The most comfortable bed you'll ever want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the privilege of staying (in most of the rooms) at the North Block Hotel many many times over this past year, and must say that the hotel is a gem in Yountville. Super comfortable beds, luxurious deep bathtubs, many rooms with private balconies, and a top notch restaurant (Redd Wood) next door. The location feels very European, with an open courtyard, fireplace, olive and lemon trees, and a nice pool area. I recommend this hotel to everyone I know who is traveling to napa Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and i were here for three nights, we had one of the larger rooms, spacious, clean and confortable. the hotel is small which is nice, service is great. the restaurant on property Red wood is excellent, has both dinner and lunch at the restaurant. the location is great, close to tons of wineries and restaurants. we like to stay in nicer hotels so if that is your style this is a nice higher end boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

North Block is a great boutique hotel conveniently located on restaurant row in Yountville. The rooms are elegantly appointed. The grounds include a lovely pool & whirlpool as well as a huge outdoor fireplace with comfortable seating just right to enjoy a nightcap. They have a full service spa where we got a massage at the end of a busy day. Their staff is fabulous and seemed to know just how to please. The Redd Wood Restaurant is steps away and FABULOUS. Congratulations to The General Manager Ty on his excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and overall it was very enjoyable. The front desk staff were super nice. The glass of sparkling wine upon arrival was a nice touch. We stayed in an upstairs room which was large and had a nice balcony. Decor was pleasant. We should have asked for a room at the rear of the hotel however, because our room was near the outdoor fireplace and restaurant and it was really noisy both nights (especially Saturday night). The noise (some woman with a really loud, annoying laugh) kept me up tossing and turning. That really bummed me out. The lighting in the room and the bathroom (bathroom especially) wasn't that great. I had to keep switching mirrors with my husband to apply my makeup evenly because it was so dark in the bathroom. And the bathroom sink faucets were messy - they look cool but they splashed water all over the counter. We also ate dinner at Reddwood one night and the food was great. Again, overall it was a nice place with a few annoying things (but I'm really, really picky).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the North Block Hotel in September when I was pregnant. This stylish and sophisticated hotel is such a gem! The staff are extremely accommodating and welcoming. The rooms are so posh and clean. Their outdoor fireplace and seating area is great for hanging out with people over wine and food. I've stayed at several other hotels in the area and this one is definitely by far was the one I liked the most. Everytime I come up to Napa, I will be staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Block Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Block Hotel

Address: 6757 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599 (Formerly Hotel Luca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Block Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Block is a modern boutique hotel located in Napa Valley's idyllic town of Yountville; wine country's most coveted epicurean locale. Situated at the north end of this culinary mecca, North Block is a perfect destination for food and wine connoisseurs: a short stroll to top Michelin starred restaurants and small production wine tasting rooms and home to Redd Wood restaurant. A mix of old world charm and modernity, North Block Hotel is designed for an unpretentious wine country escape. The stone facade and welcoming entrance are lined with citrus trees, hand-painted tiles and softly lit lanterns. The guest rooms are well-appointed and sophisticated with modern touches like luxurious linens, flat screen televisions, wi-fi and iPod entertainment docking stations. For a truly unique and unforgettable sojourn in wine country that seamlessly blends casual comfort and sophistication, look no further than North Block Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your North Block Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Block Hotel Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Block Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.