We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility Base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Save Saved
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tranquility Base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the entrance we knew we were in for a special treat. My wife and I spent three totally relaxing days at Bardessono while experiencing the Napa Valley. The hotel is located in the heart of Yountville 1/2 block off of Washington Street (the main street). The property is stunning. Access to the rooms is a short walk through Japanese-style gardens full of trickling fountains, pools and swirling pathways. The entire staff was professional, genuinely friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The rooms were amazing. Our room was huge with an equally huge bath/dressing room and private patio. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The pool area was a great place for relaxation. The hotel also had great quality hybrid bikes available for use for free. Definitely take advantage of the restaurant, Lucy. We had dinner there on our first night and breakfast one morning. The food was the equal of any in Yountville. We would highly recommend Bardessono to friends and family and make it our tranquil base of operations on our next visit to Napa.

Room Tip: We had a large corner suite on the north side of the property. There was a road on the other side o...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel prides itself on its environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear LCos54,

What a detailed and thoughtful review. Thank you so much. And we really appreciate your staying with us.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here and were so positive about our rooms, beds, location, bikes, and Lucy, our restaurant. We also deeply appreciate your kind words about our staff and the service we deliver. Being professional, friendly, anticipatory and unobtrusive is our goal. We hire for heart, character, and personality here, and train for job performance. We don't "script" our staff, but rather just let them be who they are. And they are wonderful.

Forgive me, I got a little carried away here. Just very proud of our team.

We hope we'll see you back here soon. It was our pleasure to have served you.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    61
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
545
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The BF and I stayed here for two night for our anniversary, and it was the most relaxing experience. We were here from a Monday night thru Wednesday, so it was fairly quiet while we were here. They gave us each a glass of wine when we checked in, and they also brought us a small bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

I definitely recommend the steam spa suite. That is what we were upgraded to on the house since we only booked the cheapest room they had (spa suite). I didn't think the outdoor shower would make a difference when we booked the room, but that was the best feature! The BF and I both used that outdoor shower everyday! We loved it even more than the regular shower. You can adjust the temperature of the water and it has amazing pressure. The large soaking tub was also amazing. I brought my own bath bombs from Lush with me to use in the tub and I probably took a bath every day. The tub is self drying, so after it's drained, the jets from the bottom will blow air out. I did not even know that was what was happening until I looked at some Yelp reviews after my trip. I kept thinking the tub was malfunctioning!!

The pool is great, even though it didn't seem like it was heated. The BF and I went up there early in the morning and expected a warm pool since the staff told us it was heated. It was cold enough that you just had to jump in and squeal before your body adjust. When we went back later in the afternoon it was still fairly quiet.

The hotel is in a central location that allows you to walk every where. And if you need, the hotel can give you a ride to your restaurant reservations. The best part is that Bardessono is right across the street from Bouchon Bakery!

All the staff we came across were incredibly nice and I can not wait to return! BTW, if you have an electric car, they do have two charging stations for them.

Room Tip: Get the steam spa suite. They come with the outdoor showers!
See more room tips
Green Features: Bardessono is LEED green certified. The shades in your room actually automatically close when you leave the room. That way it keeps the room cool.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear jnsasf05,

What a detailed and thoughtful review. Thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed yourselves here.

The pool is heated, but I know we turned the pool heaters off during our heat wave with 100+ degree temperatures. Not sure if your stay coincided with that, though.

You only live less than an hour and a half away. Hope we'll see you here again soon.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was an amazing hotel. Staff was gracious and helpful. The rooms were very well appointed and the pool area was great. Also a great location. You can walk to many things and the hotel has bikes which we used to tour wineries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear GreggGNYC,

Thank you for staying with us and posting the positive and concise review. You hit on three key attributes here - our convenient location, our staff and the service we deliver, and our bikes.

Do come back....soon and often.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved this beautiful quiet relaxing hotel. We had a lovely 2 room suite. The service was great...the staff could not have been nicer. Great location in Yountville. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear beauoli,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. I know Boca Raton is not exactly around the corner, but we do hope you'll return....soon and often.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a beautiful property that does many things right. Breakfast is excellent. The fireplace in the room doesn't pretend to be wood-burning. The hotel doesn't nickel and dime its guests. Our package came with an amount per person for breakfast; one day we were a bit over, another day a bit over. The hotel considered it a wash, and we weren't charged for the overage the first day. Some of the food in the mini-bar is actually retail priced.

But they need to get the personalization a bit better. The hotel had both my name and my wife's name at registration. We do not share a common surname. But my wife was called by my last name by staff. They want to address guests by name, and that's fine. They had the information to get it right, but they didn't. It would be better not to use names at all than to get them wrong. Wireless internet access requires guest name and room number. My name worked. My wife's didn't. We might not have noticed any of this had we not just stayed at Les Mars in Healdsburg, but the contrast was stark.

Green Features: The interesting aspect to me was that these don't get in the way. It's a great thing to be able to be environmentally sound without deprivation.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear PaulFromMetuchen,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this detailed review.

I am so sorry we got your names wrong. No excuses. We should always get and use our guests' correct names. In this day and age, married couples with different surnames is commonplace. We know better, yet still failed you miserably.

We have a spectacular hotel, but it's our service of which we are most proud. And that means always calling our guests by name, and never defaulting to "sir" or "ma'am". Some employees can be a bit timid about using guests' names, for fear of getting them wrong or mispronouncing them. I always urge them to try. And where you and I disagree is that, in my view, using a guest name, even if wrong, is better than using no name at all.

We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay here and will consider returning. If and when you do, I promise we'll get your names right.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My hat is tipped to Jim Treadway and the staff at Bardessono. Every employee you meet at this hotel work as a team to focus on the customer. The property is lovely, very quiet and relaxing throughout the property. Great pool area and bar with nice views! The rooms are well appointed. I had a room with outdoor shower and bathtub. (spa steam suite) The food is fantastic and the hotel is within walking to other great venues. I stopped at this hotel only to take a look and ended up canceling other reservations after staff generously toured me around the property. Highly recommend. Toronto, Canada

Green Features: This hotel is one a only a few to be recognized for leadership in environmentally friendly practice, but also for incorporating materials into the construction of the hotel.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Allan O,

We really appreciate your business and this glowing review. So pleased that you came in to look around and ended up staying with us.

Your kind recognition of our staff is so rewarding to us. Giving great service and delighting our guests is what we work for, and it's in our DNA. Thank you for appreciating us.

Happy belated Canada Day (July 1, for us non-Canadians.... ). We're celebrating our independence today in the U.S.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is really lovely. Design is modern and clean. The staff very friendly and attentive. The room is pretty spacious and well laid out. The use of "green" materials are somehow calming. Cannot give the hotel 5 stars for a couple of reasons:

-On a Sunday after a day of wine tasting we were in room with the do not disturb light on trying to take a rest. Someone from hotel came and rapped on the door and started to come in. Was awkward. Since the "dnd" light was on was irritating. Staff member was very apologetic. Feels like there should be a slightly higher level of attentiveness.

-Price of room exceeds competitors. At these rates there should be more generous amenities. Is slightly irritating to see a large selection of products sitting in bathroom and realize that there will be a charge if used. Feels a little bit like the "up charge" game is moving into new areas!

Otherwise a great stay! Would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Freak77,

Thank you for this thoughtful and detailed review.

I'm so sorry about us knocking on your door while your room was in do not disturb (DND) status, and the red ring around your doorbell was a clear indicator of that. As you know, you hit the "shssh button in your room and it communicate to all of us via pager that you want to be left alone. It also puts all calls to the room directly into voicemail. There is absolutely no excuse for us disturbing you....except....confusion on our part about your departure date. Some people do depart without checking out, as they have paid in advance. And they forget to deactivate the DND button. In those instances, we have to go to the room and knock. But clearly this was our error. Deepest apologies.

About our prices...they are not higher than our direct luxury hotel competitors - Auberge du Soleil, Meadowood, and Calistoga Ranch. In order for us to keep them as low as we can, we do not bundle into the room rate a full complimentary breakfast and other similar amenities.

You and I have corresponded already on this issue, and your constructive input has prompted us to do a thorough review of our value proposition.

We really appreciate your business and hope you'll return.

Warm regards.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.