We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel without quite mastering service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Save Saved
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Spa Package
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Metuchen, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel without quite mastering service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a beautiful property that does many things right. Breakfast is excellent. The fireplace in the room doesn't pretend to be wood-burning. The hotel doesn't nickel and dime its guests. Our package came with an amount per person for breakfast; one day we were a bit over, another day a bit over. The hotel considered it a wash, and we weren't charged for the overage the first day. Some of the food in the mini-bar is actually retail priced.

But they need to get the personalization a bit better. The hotel had both my name and my wife's name at registration. We do not share a common surname. But my wife was called by my last name by staff. They want to address guests by name, and that's fine. They had the information to get it right, but they didn't. It would be better not to use names at all than to get them wrong. Wireless internet access requires guest name and room number. My name worked. My wife's didn't. We might not have noticed any of this had we not just stayed at Les Mars in Healdsburg, but the contrast was stark.

Green Features: The interesting aspect to me was that these don't get in the way. It's a great thing to be able to be environmentally sound without deprivation.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear PaulFromMetuchen,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this detailed review.

I am so sorry we got your names wrong. No excuses. We should always get and use our guests' correct names. In this day and age, married couples with different surnames is commonplace. We know better, yet still failed you miserably.

We have a spectacular hotel, but it's our service of which we are most proud. And that means always calling our guests by name, and never defaulting to "sir" or "ma'am". Some employees can be a bit timid about using guests' names, for fear of getting them wrong or mispronouncing them. I always urge them to try. And where you and I disagree is that, in my view, using a guest name, even if wrong, is better than using no name at all.

We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay here and will consider returning. If and when you do, I promise we'll get your names right.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    61
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
523
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Unionville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My hat is tipped to Jim Treadway and the staff at Bardessono. Every employee you meet at this hotel work as a team to focus on the customer. The property is lovely, very quiet and relaxing throughout the property. Great pool area and bar with nice views! The rooms are well appointed. I had a room with outdoor shower and bathtub. (spa steam suite) The food is fantastic and the hotel is within walking to other great venues. I stopped at this hotel only to take a look and ended up canceling other reservations after staff generously toured me around the property. Highly recommend. Toronto, Canada

Green Features: This hotel is one a only a few to be recognized for leadership in environmentally friendly practice, but also for incorporating materials into the construction of the hotel.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Allan O,

We really appreciate your business and this glowing review. So pleased that you came in to look around and ended up staying with us.

Your kind recognition of our staff is so rewarding to us. Giving great service and delighting our guests is what we work for, and it's in our DNA. Thank you for appreciating us.

Happy belated Canada Day (July 1, for us non-Canadians.... ). We're celebrating our independence today in the U.S.

Warmest regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is really lovely. Design is modern and clean. The staff very friendly and attentive. The room is pretty spacious and well laid out. The use of "green" materials are somehow calming. Cannot give the hotel 5 stars for a couple of reasons:

-On a Sunday after a day of wine tasting we were in room with the do not disturb light on trying to take a rest. Someone from hotel came and rapped on the door and started to come in. Was awkward. Since the "dnd" light was on was irritating. Staff member was very apologetic. Feels like there should be a slightly higher level of attentiveness.

-Price of room exceeds competitors. At these rates there should be more generous amenities. Is slightly irritating to see a large selection of products sitting in bathroom and realize that there will be a charge if used. Feels a little bit like the "up charge" game is moving into new areas!

Otherwise a great stay! Would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Freak77,

Thank you for this thoughtful and detailed review.

I'm so sorry about us knocking on your door while your room was in do not disturb (DND) status, and the red ring around your doorbell was a clear indicator of that. As you know, you hit the "shssh button in your room and it communicate to all of us via pager that you want to be left alone. It also puts all calls to the room directly into voicemail. There is absolutely no excuse for us disturbing you....except....confusion on our part about your departure date. Some people do depart without checking out, as they have paid in advance. And they forget to deactivate the DND button. In those instances, we have to go to the room and knock. But clearly this was our error. Deepest apologies.

About our prices...they are not higher than our direct luxury hotel competitors - Auberge du Soleil, Meadowood, and Calistoga Ranch. In order for us to keep them as low as we can, we do not bundle into the room rate a full complimentary breakfast and other similar amenities.

You and I have corresponded already on this issue, and your constructive input has prompted us to do a thorough review of our value proposition.

We really appreciate your business and hope you'll return.

Warm regards.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My fiancé and I have stayed at Bardessono twice so far, last July and this March, and we can't wait to go back. We love the relaxing feel of this hotel - the minimalist, Japanese-inspired design...the impeccable service. During our March stay, the hotel remembered us with a personalized welcome back note and a bottle of wine. How lovely and thoughtful! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by name by the valet, and handed a glass of wine in the lobby. The gentleman who checked us in (with a Euro accent) was incredibly kind and hospitable, and even refilled our glasses of wine at the end of the property tour. It started off our stay on such a great note. There was an alarm that went off briefly late at night, but without asking, the hotel took off a courtesy amount from our stay in compensation. The GM Jim also came during our check-out to personally apologize for the alarm. Little touches like these did not go unnoticed, and made us feel like this is a very special place we want to return to for years to come!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Nina P,

You're so nice to post this review. Thank you. We're so glad you've enjoyed your stays here and that you'll be coming back.

Kind and appreciative people are delightful to serve. You both have been a pleasure to know and take care of here.

Hope it won't be too long before we see you again, now that you've moved closer to us.

Warmest regards from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

For our 23rd wedding anniversary we enjoyed this beautiful, Zen inspired property. The grounds and property are incredibly luxurious, giving it a vibe of upscale and high-end without being pretentious. We stayed in a Spa Steam Suite and from the moment we arrived, we were pampered to the max! It's a very peaceful place that offers healthy and delicious food. Our room was beautiful large and modern with a spacious balcony area and completely quiet. We felt like we were the only people there. The public areas and artwork were fabulous. The concierge staff was outstanding and really makes the Bardessono a must stay while in Napa. From making the reservations to helping us with our itinerary once we arrived they went above and beyond. We had dinner one night at Lucy's and Redd the next. We LOVED both restaurants. I can go on and on about the Bardessono and all they have to offer but do yourself a favor and GO THERE and enjoy!!!. The only other place we have stayed that is in the same league would be Post Ranch Inn, in Big Sur. We look forward to returning and this time taking the time for some SPA treatments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Marla57,

What a nice review. Thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed yourselves here and dined in our Lucy Restaurant. There are so many world-class restaurants in Yountville to choose from. You picked two of my favorites - Redd and our very own Lucy.

We hope it won't be too long before we see you again here.

Thank you for your support, friendship, and wonderful recommendations to Trip Advisor readers.

All best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This should be your first and only consideration when staying in the area. From the moment we drove in and were welcomed by Arran to the moment we checked out we were treated like royalty. The majority of the staff were excellent and the standard of the rooms and amenities are first class. Attention to detail and extras surprise and delight throughout your stay. The restaurant is excellent as is the food and wine. We ate at the French Laundry (they drive you there and back as part of the service!) but we preferred the hotels food! The pool area is amazing and Robbie couldn't have been more attentive. WiFi was superb as was room service, housekeeping and all areas of service. The General Manager should be very proud of his team and hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear TigerMoth 1969,

This is high praise, indeed. For our food to be compared favorably to the venerable and outstanding French Laundry's food is a wonderful compliment. And your kind words about Aaron and Robbie are deeply appreciated. They are wonderful employees.

Hotels can't be great without fanatical attention to detail. We're no exception. It's in our DNA.

Thank you for staying with us and posting this great review.

We look forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Loved, loved, loved our stay at Bardessono. The hotel has a soft spoken elegance about it that draws you in from the moment you arrive. It's a very peaceful place... loved star gazing at night from the hammock! It is extremely well situated to all the mouth-watering eateries in town... we walked to all the restaurants in town, even though the hotel would graciously retrieve you at any time. Used their bikes to go for a spin to some wineries.... lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear passportcarrier,

Your review above is wonderful. Thank you so much. Our... "soft spoken elegance that draws you in from the moment you arrive" ....looks like advertising copy, but it's not. It's who we are and what we do, which you so graciously pointed out.

We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and the convenience of our location. And we all look forward to your return. Our hammock awaits.

Warm regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.