We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa valley at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Save Saved
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Spa Package
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Napa valley at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just want to say to everybody who is planning to visit napa valley California. First of all it is amazing place peaceful, beautiful and charming. If someone looking to complete and true joy from the say in Napa valley simply book with Bardessono Hotel it is true gem. place has incredible ambiance, great amenities, great food, settings is impeccable. Rooms are nice modern clean comfortable. The stuff of this hotel is just simply put one of the best I have ever seen. Concierge service is outstanding just ask and they arrange it no worries. They done every possible request from us from restaurant booking that was impossible to book otherwise to veranda sits at the restaurants that weren't available at that time, people truly great. Just example hotel has its own car crevice for driving guest to the local destination that are fairly close, it is free for guests, by the way the park of cars consists of brand new latest and fully loaded Lexus cars. Anyway we call for local car service and ask for the ride to the Napa downtown it was far and we suppose to use local car service cause hotel offers only as I have mentioned close proximity rides and down town Napa is around 25-30 minutes ride we called and request a van cause it were five of us so in fifteen minutes regular town car sedan arrived and offers us to ride so we refuse cause car has 4 people capacity. The next minute we asked front desk of the hotel to call car service again and send a van for us. Hotel concierge people said "Look we see that local car service giving you a problems with car., let us drive you to the napa down town" that was nice they offered us two lexuses and drove us there free of charge (we tipped guys) but that was a great move from their side. The people at the hotel were as our true friends that always helped us and guided us big thanks they done a great job i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be treated right who wants to stay at right place in perfect comfort .

Room Tip: I would recommend the room in which we stayed first floor with back yard perfect and comfortable but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Nikolas888,

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a glowing review. We're so glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed the services we offered.

We're fortunate to have been selected by Lexus to be one of their seven hotel partners worldwide. They were attracted to us by our quality and commitment to the environment.

The high-end Lexus hybrid SUVs and Sedans are a great way for us to shuttle our guests in and around Yountville. We also make them available for our guests to "test drive" for up to four hours at a time.

We do hope you'll return....soon and often.

All best wishes from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    61
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
532
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We came here as part of a few weeks delayed wedding anniversary and wanted to splurge on what was clearly the highest rated hotel in Napa Valley. I will say up front it did not disappoint. We were greeted with wine and a tour of the hotel and our room, and the room is one of the most spacious and beautiful spaces I have ever seen in a hotel, the zen like ambience makes everything feel even bigger too I think. The bathroom alone is the size of our apartment! The pool is amazing, we spent a lot of time just lounging in the cabana beds and the restaurant was phenomenal (better than the Keller ones we tried nearby), and very affordable given the cost of the room. I also need to go off about the bed. This was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, it was the perfect balance of softness and firmness. If I had one possession I could wish into life it would be this bed.

Everything about the place was classy and beautiful and if you want a splurge here, its definitely worth it. The one hesitation I have from giving 4 over 5 stars is not a reflection of any problems with the place, it was just tiny touches, which may seem irrelevant but when you are splurging (and this kind of thing isnt typical for you, like it isnt for us) I think that there should be nothing left. For example, when you come into the room there is probably the most gourmet food basket you have ever seen, but each thing in it is like 8-16$. We have splurged a few times around the world at top end places like this, and typically the additional frills you would see would be something like this phenomenal food basket, but it would be a complimentary gift for the room (even as a one time only per visit, and not replenished every day). Similarly, in Santorini and France, a wonderful breakfast usually comes included in a room like this and is served to you in room, while here there was just coffee (which was good quality for sure) and a few pastries out in the lounge area. We have stayed at a few estate wineries in the northwest and they would bring a breakfast platter to your room every morning with frittata and fresh baked muffins, things like this, so thats the frame of reference I am using, and all of those places were still cheaper than here (although I can respect that real estate in this area is astronomical). So, its not a criticism of the hotel or the grounds, just that these little tiny details shouldnt be noticed when you are dropping in the ballpark of 1500$ (with taxes) for two nights. That being said, I would still fully recommend it to anyone who wants to come and splurge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Orshatt,

What a detailed and thoughtful review. Thank you. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and recommend us to others.

You raise an interesting point. One that is a dilemma for us. How much should we "throw in" with our room rate? Luxury hotels that offer free breakfast and lots of in room goodies, build the cost of these amenities into their room rates. We opt to offer the lowest rates we can (although they are still pretty high) for those who shop hotels on the basis of rate alone.

Having said this, we are constantly evaluating our value proposition here. The last thing we want is for guests to leave us thinking they did not get their money's worth.

We take your comments to heart. Comments like yours guided us to first offering complimentary coffee in the morning, then adding muffins and pastries to that.

We hope you'll return soon.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bardessono for 2 nights on our recent trip to wine country and loved every second of it there! From the glass of wine at check in to the drive out of the property upon checkout, the small touches are everywhere. Service is second to none (as it should be at a property in this price range). We loved the large, modern room and spacious balcony area. While we did not eat dinner at Lucy, we did have breakfast on the property both mornings and it was superb. The concierge(s) are very helpful with dinner reservations and recommendations. We ate at Redd one night and Bottega the next evening and both were excellent (and a 5 minute walk to both).

We were in a rental car and valet parking (free) is your only option here. The valet guys are top notch and were on top of everything - they even placed water bottles in the drink holders every time we needed the car for something. The property is unbelievable in every way. I can't add much to the other reviews that are already here. We booked after we saw the reviews here and they are spot on. Next time we are in Yountville, we will be staying at the Bardessono for sure. One of the nicest places we have every stayed. Book with confidence!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear BagbosRichmond,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this very nice review. "Phenomenal" is high praise indeed, and the reaction we try very hard to elicit from every guest.

We're in the business of creating wonderful memories here, and we work hard and enthusiastically to understand our guests and the purpose of their visit, usually R&R and often a third R....Romance, and, of course, the entire Napa Valley experience.

You said a number of good things about us, but what stands out in my mind is "service second to none" followed by.....it should be at our price points. You are so right. And all of us have that firmly implanted in our pysches. Our guests are paying a lot. Let's be sure to give them their money's worth.....and more.

We hope to see you (as well as Elaine D, my previous response, whom I forgot to urge another visit....) back here soon.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow, where to begin?! This place is just simply amazing. My husband and I spent a long time researching where we wanted to stay in wine country for our 10th anniversary trip. We are so happy we chose the Bardessono. Katie helped us make our reservation by answering our many, many questions and we were so pleased with the room chosen for us. It was just spectacular - I'd go so far as to say it was the nicest hotel room in which we've ever stayed. From the customizable lighting & window treatments, to the comfortable bed & seating areas (indoors & on the private patio), to the amazing bathroom - it was all perfect. The Bardessono itself is an amazing property, perfectly situated in Yountville (by the way, we'd definitely recommend staying in Yountville vs. Napa) within walking distance to many awesome restaurants: ad hoc, Redd (best meal I've ever had...the new dining benchmark!), Bottega & Hurley's (which was an unexpected gem). Sadly, we did not get a chance to eat at Lucy, the Bardessono's restaurant; however, we spent every evening sitting outside Lucy on the the patio and can say that the Lucy wine list and bar food choices were top notch (as was the staff). In all, I really can honestly say we wouldn't change a thing about our stay at the Bardessono, other than staying longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Elaine D,

What a wonderful review you did of us above. Thank you. And thank you for staying with us. So glad you enjoyed our rooms. They're spacious and comfortable, with oversized bathrooms that double as treatment rooms for in-room spa services.

And we really do have a wonderfully convenient location in the heart of Yountville, as you pointed out.

Redd is a wonderful restaurant, a nice 5-10 minute walk from us. But,at the risk of sounding self serving, we believe our Lucy is every bit as good. Please give us a try next trip.

All the very best from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on our vacation at Napa Valley. It was the right choice we picked Bardessono. The staff are lovely and very help full. The room is spacious as well as the baht room. Our room has a large balcony but too bad there is no view here so we did use it. Yountville area is great. We can walked around with many good restaurants.

The hotel also has bike for us to borrow which we took out for an hour. It was very nice. We did not have a chance to try Lucy, the restaurant there. But I am not it is good as I saw many people are dine there.

It was a very nice hotel and we will love to come back again. This time is a little bit too short, 2 nights surely not enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Belle40,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We, too, are sorry you only spent two nights with us. Next trip, please stay longer.

We're also sorry you didn't try our restaurant Lucy for dinner. I think you would have been very pleased.

Thailand is a long way away, but we hope it won't be too long before you return.

All the best from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautifully appointed Bardessona for 3 nights, while celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary in the Napa valley. We couldn't possibly have chosen a more spectacular and luxurious accommodation. My husband and I wanted to have a very special experience for our anniversary and so we figured we would be treating ourselves to a nice accommodation with a nice price tag. Little did we know that we would be treating ourselves not only to the best hotel in the Yountville area but also to some of the nicest hotel staff I have ever experienced. I was expecting to be greeted by a bunch of stuffy personnel, but nothing could have been farther from the truth. We were greeted by a group of young, happy and enthusiastic people who were sincerely happy that you were visiting them. Upon checking in, we were offered a glass of local wine while we were personally escorted and introduced to the property and our room. The hotel has modern architecture made with natural materials, water features and sculptures, exuding a zen-like quality while still having a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Our room was very comfortable with a nice foyer, sitting area and fireplace, a large screen tv, a patio with umbrella and comfortable furniture, a large bathroom with his and hers sinks and dressing area, and a large walk-in shower/steam room, double bathtub and outdoor shower. The king bed was very comfortable with soft Egyptian cotton bedding. A complimentary bottle of red wine as well as chocolates and finely roasted almonds were awaiting our arrival which we enjoyed on our private and sunny patio. Our anniversary was certainly not forgotten by staff as they prepared a bubble bath on our return from our celebratory dinner, along with a bottle of champagne, chocolates and massage oil, whilst setting the mood with small votive candles aglow on the perimeter of the bath. What a royal treat! Pure luxury. We felt a real sense of relaxation in our oasis, truly enjoying the accommodations. Just lovely. The staff however was truly amazing. They were always happy to help us and we were able to joke and have fun with them while they researched a request or question about the local area we had for them. They always had a wonderful recommendation for dinner, or insight into where to go and with their light-hearted spirit that they approached their job, it made you realize how proud they were of not only Bardessona but also of the Napa region. What a wonderful group of people. They were all just so nice. The valet and bike assistants were also very helpful and were so happy and prompt with any request for our car or use of the bikes. They even taxied us to a local restaurant so we could enjoy our meal (and wine!) without having to worry about the trip back to the hotel. A nice touch and service to utilize.But despite the fabulous accommodations, one must not forget that Bardessona is right in the centre of Yountville, and right in the centre of all the wineries on Highway 29 and Silverado Trail. Just short car and bike rides to the most prominent wineries in the Napa region. All in all, the Bardessona staff anticipated our every need and then some. It was just such a special location to celebrate a special occasion, but not only that, it is a perfect location for touring the Napa winery region. It is second to none.

Green Features: Complimentary filtered water, sensors close blinds/lights when room unoccuppied.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear BJSCalgary,

We can't thank you enough for the time you spent on this very detailed and thoughtful review. You described us to a "T". Our employees are selected for their spirit, personality, and desire to please. And it shows. You can train the particulars of doing one's job, but you can't train enthusiasm and sincere caring. Thank you for acknowledging that so nicely and thoroughly.

We do hope you'll return....soon and often.

We really enjoy serving all of our guests, but those as appreciative as you inspire us to new heights of service excellence.

Warm regards from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Look, Bardessona is a wonderful place...great rooms, excellent food at restaurant Lucy, peaceful environment...but the one thing that Bardessona has that puts it over the top is LOCATION!

It cannot be beat.

It's immediately off the highway...very near everything in Yountville. The restaurants that are adjacent to Bardessona include four owned and operated by restaurant legend Thomas Keller. You will be more than pleased with any of them--although you better start now if you intend on getting into French Laundry.

There's also a little coffee place nearby call the coffee caboose---it's wonderful. Try the crepes.

Also, the Yountville cut through is very near---this takes you to the Silverado Trail and a traffic-light road to a large number of excellent wineries.

4 star hotel in a 5 star location....Next time we travel to Napa....I'm staying at Bardessona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Eric M,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and will return to us, if your travels bring you back this way.

And next time, we'll do a better job demonstrating to you why most of our guests rate us 5 star. I promise.

All the best from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.