We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Centre of Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary
1 review
“An Oasis in the Centre of Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautifully appointed Bardessona for 3 nights, while celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary in the Napa valley. We couldn't possibly have chosen a more spectacular and luxurious accommodation. My husband and I wanted to have a very special experience for our anniversary and so we figured we would be treating ourselves to a nice accommodation with a nice price tag. Little did we know that we would be treating ourselves not only to the best hotel in the Yountville area but also to some of the nicest hotel staff I have ever experienced. I was expecting to be greeted by a bunch of stuffy personnel, but nothing could have been farther from the truth. We were greeted by a group of young, happy and enthusiastic people who were sincerely happy that you were visiting them. Upon checking in, we were offered a glass of local wine while we were personally escorted and introduced to the property and our room. The hotel has modern architecture made with natural materials, water features and sculptures, exuding a zen-like quality while still having a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Our room was very comfortable with a nice foyer, sitting area and fireplace, a large screen tv, a patio with umbrella and comfortable furniture, a large bathroom with his and hers sinks and dressing area, and a large walk-in shower/steam room, double bathtub and outdoor shower. The king bed was very comfortable with soft Egyptian cotton bedding. A complimentary bottle of red wine as well as chocolates and finely roasted almonds were awaiting our arrival which we enjoyed on our private and sunny patio. Our anniversary was certainly not forgotten by staff as they prepared a bubble bath on our return from our celebratory dinner, along with a bottle of champagne, chocolates and massage oil, whilst setting the mood with small votive candles aglow on the perimeter of the bath. What a royal treat! Pure luxury. We felt a real sense of relaxation in our oasis, truly enjoying the accommodations. Just lovely. The staff however was truly amazing. They were always happy to help us and we were able to joke and have fun with them while they researched a request or question about the local area we had for them. They always had a wonderful recommendation for dinner, or insight into where to go and with their light-hearted spirit that they approached their job, it made you realize how proud they were of not only Bardessona but also of the Napa region. What a wonderful group of people. They were all just so nice. The valet and bike assistants were also very helpful and were so happy and prompt with any request for our car or use of the bikes. They even taxied us to a local restaurant so we could enjoy our meal (and wine!) without having to worry about the trip back to the hotel. A nice touch and service to utilize.But despite the fabulous accommodations, one must not forget that Bardessona is right in the centre of Yountville, and right in the centre of all the wineries on Highway 29 and Silverado Trail. Just short car and bike rides to the most prominent wineries in the Napa region. All in all, the Bardessona staff anticipated our every need and then some. It was just such a special location to celebrate a special occasion, but not only that, it is a perfect location for touring the Napa winery region. It is second to none.

Green Features: Complimentary filtered water, sensors close blinds/lights when room unoccuppied.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear BJSCalgary,

We can't thank you enough for the time you spent on this very detailed and thoughtful review. You described us to a "T". Our employees are selected for their spirit, personality, and desire to please. And it shows. You can train the particulars of doing one's job, but you can't train enthusiasm and sincere caring. Thank you for acknowledging that so nicely and thoroughly.

We do hope you'll return....soon and often.

We really enjoy serving all of our guests, but those as appreciative as you inspire us to new heights of service excellence.

Warm regards from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    69
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
610
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Look, Bardessona is a wonderful place...great rooms, excellent food at restaurant Lucy, peaceful environment...but the one thing that Bardessona has that puts it over the top is LOCATION!

It cannot be beat.

It's immediately off the highway...very near everything in Yountville. The restaurants that are adjacent to Bardessona include four owned and operated by restaurant legend Thomas Keller. You will be more than pleased with any of them--although you better start now if you intend on getting into French Laundry.

There's also a little coffee place nearby call the coffee caboose---it's wonderful. Try the crepes.

Also, the Yountville cut through is very near---this takes you to the Silverado Trail and a traffic-light road to a large number of excellent wineries.

4 star hotel in a 5 star location....Next time we travel to Napa....I'm staying at Bardessona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Eric M,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and will return to us, if your travels bring you back this way.

And next time, we'll do a better job demonstrating to you why most of our guests rate us 5 star. I promise.

All the best from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first stay at Bardessono late last night (third trip to Napa, previously stayed at the Avia in downtown) and I was compelled to write a review first thing this morning.

Our stay was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. The grounds and property are incredibly luxurious, but done so in a way that feels almost rustic and tranquil, giving it a vibe of upscale and high-end without pretentiousness. The room is delightfully arranged and appointed - huge bathroom with plenty of room to move around, even with two people getting ready. Great sleeping and living area - fireplace adds a romantic, cozy touch (and warmth that was needed in the evening...even in May!). Lovely balcony out back where we enjoyed nibbling some cheese with our wine a couple of afternoons. The only tiny negative was that there are lots of trees on the property, which attract a lot of birds, and they are keen to wake you up with their joyful chirping at 5AM! If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs!

While the ground and property impress, what truly blew me away was the service. I am an avid and loyal Four Seasons guest and honestly never believed that any other hotel could compete with them on service, but Bardessono is every bit as wonderful. The difference for me is that the staff does not just meet your needs...they anticipate them. They are heading over to retrieve your car as they see you walking toward the front door with bags (remembering which one is yours...and your name too!). You're met with a lovely glass of wine at check in, which is a great welcome to the region, especially after a long day of travel. The tour of the property upon arrival is done in a way that is not only effective, but efficient. The concierge service was excellent too, recommending some great, boutique/family-owned wineries to visit. This was particularly appreciated because we stayed Memorial Day weekend and it was very busy at the well-known locations.

The location simply can't be beat. There's a market a couple blocks away for any food or personal items you may need. And, we walked to dinner every night of our stay - the surrounding area is a mecca of amazing restaurants, all within an easy walk. My husband and I are also runners and we found a great route along Yountville Cross Street that took us running past vineyards every morning. Incredibly scenic.

We had breakfast at Lucy one morning during our stay and had a similar experience as we did with the hotel - wonderful quality that was upscale, but very comfortable, and best in class service.

Of course none of this comes with a cheap price tag, but I do believe in this case you're getting what you pay for. And that's the best. I wouldn't even consider staying any place else on our future visits to the wine country!

Room Tip: We preferred second floor - better views and maybe a bit quieter - more sunshine too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear GinaK1981,

Wow. What a detailed, thoughtful, and articulate review. You really captured the essence of this place and how we attempt to serve our guests. Thank you so much, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

I know Four Seasons well having competed against them in a number of locations over too many years I'd care to admit...... They are a great company, running wonderful hotels and resorts worldwide - perhaps the best branded hotel management company in the world.

We are advantaged though, by only having 62 rooms and suites, enabling us to deliver more personalized and anticipatory service.

Your words of praise are deeply appreciated by all of us. Taking wonderful care of our guests is what we "live" for.

All the best from all of us.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Awesome landscape...restaurant Lucy is fabulous...
Hostess is a real cutie and very knowledgeable..
She greeted us with a glass of wine....
Showed us around the property...
Gave us the interesting history of the property...
The pool rooftop was fun....
The complimentory bicycles were put to good use!!
A bit overpriced if i may say so.....
600.00 amrrican is way too much
350.00 is realistic

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear TanakaWootay,

We really appreciate your staying with us and writing this review. And we're glad you seemed to have enjoyed your visit.

Yes, we are expensive, as are all four or five of the great luxury hotels in Napa Valley. Our development and operating costs were/are high. And we believe our value proposition is high compared to our competitors, several of which charge more than we do.

We do hope you'll return. And thank you again for your thoughtfulness in posting this review.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Bardessono doesn't have a big spa - most of their appointments are in-room, but they do have a few treatment rooms. I was doing a spa break (we're local) with some of my friends. It wasn't our first choice: we were a little worried it would be too small with too few amenities, but they could accommodate all of us at the same time, and our first 2 choices were booked up. It turned out to be great, because we had the place to ourselves. You can also pay extra to use the pool. It's a gorgeous property, and all 4 of us had fantastic treatments (I highly recommend Jeremy!).

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear g do,

We're so glad you enjoyed our spa. About 80% of the spa treatments we do are in our guestrooms, where each bathroom is designed as a spa treatment room. So, as you point out, our spa is only four treatment rooms, but very comfortable and nicely appointed. All of our therapists are world class, and Jeremy is right up there among the best. Thank you for recognizing him so positively. He'll be delighted, as am I.

Do come back. Benicia is only 30 minutes away. You'll love our restaurant, Lucy.

Warm regards from all of us at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Choose the Bardessono for the setting, service, room, restaurant, pool, spa, and location. It is on the pricier side, but well worth the splurge. We have stayed a number of places in Napa and Bardessono is by far the best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear MaryStanford,

Thank you for staying with us and for this short, to-the-point review posted above.

While we are indeed expensive, we believe our value proposition is high.

We are certainly not perfect, but we try very hard to be so,

We hope to see you back here soon.

All the best from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

There is no better place to stay near Napa. The staff and facilities are amazing. The staff gets to know you by name. By the end of your stay you become family not guests. I highly recommend this place there is no where else to stay if you are in Wine Country. If you want to get away and just relax, this place is for you.

Room Tip: These rooms are luxury suites. There is no bad room. They are private, large and spacious.
See more room tips
Green Features: More hotels should follow their environmental practices. Everything was top notch, and nothing is wasted.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Josephine c,

What a nice review. Thank you. We do try to get to know our guests without being obtrusive, but in the spirit of being helpful and trying to facilitate a wonderful getaway in Napa Valley's Yountville.

Some of our guests want to be left alone. It's up to us to figure out who wants aloneness and who wants to be embraced as part of our family. We are a family of employees at Bardessono and view our guests as guests in our home. We love what we do, and it shows.

Thank you for recognizing so publicly, that of which we are most proud.

Please come back....soon and often.

Warm regards from the Bardessono family.

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.