We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay. We will keep coming back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Save Saved
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Romance
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second stay. We will keep coming back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

When we need an adult getaway we take the 55 minute flight from Burbank to Oakland, then drive one hour to Bardessono. Stepping out of the car in the valet area we get that "aah" feeling, and we tend to stay on the property for most of our time. The property is completely immersive. Architecturally stunning with a great bar and restaurant (Lucy) on-site. What we really love are the rooms, especially the lower level "steam spa" rooms. These luxury rooms are almost too relaxing and enjoyable, as we find ourselves not wanting to leave them. The bathrooms are almost as large as the living area, and they are their own experience. Our last bathroom featured a steam shower, a giant spa bathtub and an outdoor shower just off our secluded patio, so we spend a lot of time exploring those amenities. If you decide to stay on-site like we do, Lucy is just steps from your front door, as is the spa, and the super cool upper deck pool with an expansive view of the valley, so it's all right there. If you want to venture out just a little, Yountville and all it's great restaurants are within a few blocks of the hotel, so you never need to drive unless you want to. One thing the hotel can do better is check-in. A complimentary pour and a tour of the grounds is supposed to be part of the check in experience, which would set a welcoming tone for the stay. For some reason both times we checked in this was blown-off. A minor gripe, overall a stellar hotel which we will return to soon!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have private patios and outdoor showers which the upper floors lack. Upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear RWandPW,

Thank you so much for staying with us twice and posting this thoughtful and detailed review.

I'm so sorry about your 'check in' on both stays. On your first visit, you should have been offered your choice of complimentary red or white wine, and then given a thorough tour of and orientation to the property. This is something I thought we did really well for ALL. Apparently not.

On your most recent visit, you should have been offered wine, of course, and then given the option of the tour and orientation or just being taken to your room.

We do hope you enjoyed all the other elements of your stay, and will keep returning....soon and often.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    55
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
496
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It is a gorgeous property that is very serene. The details of the construction and design are impeccable. We loved being able to walk to restaurants at night. For the one night we went somewhere a couple miles away, we were treated to a car service from the hotel to get to/from (at no charge). While the rooms were very nice, they weren't what we were expecting from such a high end hotel. We actually liked our room at the Andaz Napa a little better (if you have a terrace and stand alone bathtub as we loved those features at Bardessono). The bathroom was as large (if not larger) than the bedroom. We didn't do any spa treatment in room so this was wasted space for us which we wished was used on the bedroom space. I would absolutely stay here again as that was the only minor complaint.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear tipperella,

We so appreciate you staying with us, and taking the time to post this nice review.

I'm so sorry, though, that you did not like your room as much as most of our guests do. Frankly, our huge bathrooms and ample bedrooms are quite popular here (and reminiscent of the Amangani in Jackson Hole, Wyoming....)

So glad you'll consider returning.

All best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

hello there, this is my one of the best hotel in my life I saw. This hotel is good for family to go or new coupe for honeymoon or also single.This hotel is good because its has swimming pool and very very comfortable bed and very good room service.

Room Tip: " the room on the top is the best"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rahul D,

Thanks you so much for staying with us and posting this nice review. You came a long way from Antwerp.

We're so glad you particularly appreciated our beds, pool, and room service.

Hope we'll see you back here one day soon.

Warm regards,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a place that all others should model themselves after. A LEED certified property that is still first class and lacks for nothing. A real example of how to be low impact on the environment, have locally sourced food (and wine!), native plants and a gorgeous vegetable garden on site, and still be 5 stars all around. We have stayed for our anniversary trip 3 years in a row. We love Napa Valley, and we love Bardessono. Worth every penny, comfortable, elegant, super luxe, excellent staff, fun loaner car (one year we used a hybrid Lexus for free!), bike rentals on site, great public and private spaces. LOVE THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Stephanie H,

We so appreciate your loyal patronage, support, and friendship, and are delighted to have become your venue for recent anniversary celebrations. We're so glad you've taken advantage of our free bikes and fleet of four Lexus hybrids.

We'll look forward to seeing you next March, if not sooner.

All best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Cannot say a single bad word about my experience at Bardesseno.

The facilities are obviously beautiful, and are maintained meticulously. Location is perfect. Not that Yountville is a large place, but Bardessono is ideally located in the centre of where you want to be and equally within walking distance of anywhere you might wish to go.

From the initial greeting at the door when you arrive to when you leave the hotel, staff go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. From having staff escort you to your room when you arrive, to offering to drive guests places etc, Bardessono is first class.

Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear HRP06,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We're so glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the service ethic of our staff.

Please return...soon and often. It was our pleasure to have served you.

Warm regards.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good staff. Great concierge. Wish they had hidden the parking lot on the side of the hotel, but other than that it was awesome. Would stay here again. As far as location, probably the best in Yountville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear William M,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We hope you enjoyed your stay as much as your review might indicate, but you didn't give us the highest rating for service, which is concerning.

If you have time, please take a moment and e-mail me directly with how we may have served you better. jim.treadway@bardessono.com.

Many thanks and best regards.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Couldn't have asked for more. The hotel is located in the heart of Yountville, walking distance to fabulous food and wine but our room was quiet and private. The property itself, the common areas and our room were all lovely and thoughtfully designed and executed. Anything they didn't have (for example we requested a dvd player) was immediately brought to the room. All the staff is friendly without being overly familiar. Very professional. Loved Lucy's, the free yoga, the chocolate croissants at the complimentary coffee bar in the morning and the rooftop pool/hot tub. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this spot and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Diane S,

What a nice review. Thank you so much. I'm so glad you appeared to have enjoyed all aspects of your stay and appreciate our attention to detail and friendly, unobtrusive, service.

We do hope you'll be back soon. It was our pleasure to have served you.

Warm regards.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.